LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member Neuco's Avatar
    Member #
    38135
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Hello, first post, and first question

    Hi all.

    I don't have a Wii yet, but I know I'm getting one for Christmas. So to prepare, I plan on hooking it up to my PC monitor, since I don't have HDTV yet.

    I have a 20 inch widescreen LCD monitor. When I used to have my Xbox hooked up to it, I used the VD-Z3 Component-to-VGA Transcoder.

    http://hardware.teamxbox.com/xbox/22...GA-Transcoder/

    Now, I did a search here before posting, so I kindly ask members to please refrain from responses like "uze teh search, n00b!!1". All I would like to know is, if I hook up my Wii with this, will the transcoder automatically detect the Wii component cables and display a signal? Or will I have to make an adjustment on a regular TV first.

    Thanks in advance for any answers, and I look forward to posting more often as Christmas nears.

  2. #2
    ...no good titles oxhaker's Avatar
    Member #
    18212
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Life
    Posts
    347
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0376-6435-4668-9489
    its should automattically (u see we dont care about spelling---damn you frogger) detect...lets start from the beggining ...welcome to wiichat...*rep*

  3. #3
    Bounty Hunter Sylux's Avatar
    Member #
    36499
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under your bed
    Posts
    199
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3986-3356-9082-8504
    Quote Originally Posted by Neuco
    "uze teh search, n00b!!1".
    No one speaks like that here, Welcome to wiichat n00b, jk


    -=Join the Waluigi Fan Club (WFC)=-

  4. #4
    Bringer of meaty goodness DBloke's Avatar
    WiiChat Moderator
    Member #
    228
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Super Mancyland
    Posts
    19,062
    Friends
    33
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8041-7231-3447-6164

    You shouldn't really be botherd about geting a HD signal
    The wii dosnt do true HD


    You new? See this!
    W
    ii U FAQ

    Spoiler Alert!

    @D_Bloke - My inane prattle


  5. #5
    vote for me....Wario! wario2ooo's Avatar
    Member #
    24443
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Calfornia, USA
    Posts
    6,079
    Friends
    13
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0162-6929-7214-8876
    welcome to wiichat......im wario

    -eats a sandwich-
    SSBB= 2664-1935-2379
    Guitar hero 3= 283602180394
    Strikers FC= 236458-134911
    PBR CODE= 1678-1299-6385
    PKM FC=1847-8145-3579
    Guitar Hero WT: 000189824665
    TvsC: 4082-6902-6467

    need help with anything, pm me
    I'm back....and bored

  6. #6
    Junior Member Neuco's Avatar
    Member #
    38135
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Thank you for the responses everyone. Wii fans sure are different from Xbox fans, let me tell you.
    Quote Originally Posted by Darkprinny
    You shouldn't really be botherd about geting a HD signal
    The wii dosnt do true HD
    I know that, but I don't have anywhere else to put it, so I say why not.

  7. #7
    ミュージック Gikoku Harakami's Avatar
    Member #
    36386
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    どこかに日本でか。
    Posts
    1,180
    Friends
    29
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1234-1234-1234-1234
    Hi there Neuco, welcome to Wiichat.

    Gikoku ハラカミ
    --------------------------

    --------------------------
    Don't think. Feel...
    It's like a finger pointing to the moon.
    Don't concentrate on the finger or you'll miss all that heavenly glory.
    ~Bruce Lee, Wing Chun.


  8. #8
    Bringer of meaty goodness DBloke's Avatar
    WiiChat Moderator
    Member #
    228
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Super Mancyland
    Posts
    19,062
    Friends
    33
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    Quote Originally Posted by Neuco
    Thank you for the responses everyone. Wii fans sure are different from Xbox fans, let me tell you.

    I know that, but I don't have anywhere else to put it, so I say why not.
    Multi conection boxies ?


    You new? See this!
    W
    ii U FAQ

    Spoiler Alert!

    @D_Bloke - My inane prattle


  9. #9
    Junior Member Neuco's Avatar
    Member #
    38135
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Darkprinny
    Multi conection boxies ?
    Not sure what you mean.

    Anyway, I've been doing some more research, and it seems the transcoder will not automatically pick up the Wii signal at first. The transcoder only detects progressive scan signals. By default, the Wii outputs at 480i, and you have to go to a setting in the system options to set it to 480p. Since I won't even be able to see the screen to begin with, it looks like I'll have to do the 480p setup on another TV at first, then go back to the LCD monitor, and hopefully the Wii will remember to output in 480p and the transcoder will pick it up then.

    Anyone else have a similar experience?

  10. #10
    Bringer of meaty goodness DBloke's Avatar
    WiiChat Moderator
    Member #
    228
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Super Mancyland
    Posts
    19,062
    Friends
    33
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    I ment a box that gose into the TV and it gives you more connections


    You new? See this!
    W
    ii U FAQ

    Spoiler Alert!

    @D_Bloke - My inane prattle


Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts