LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member mich2315's Avatar
    Member #
    46536
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    will american wiii work in england

    hi everyone just a quick question if i bought a wii in america would it work in england some people have said it will others that it wont i am CONFUSED?

  2. #2
    WiiChat legend Abes16's Avatar
    Member #
    43458
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    385
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4859-7354-0985-6081
    well i dont live in any of the two but i think u need an electrical adapter and is america pal or nestc or however it's spelt


    Thanks to LinksDarkSide for the sig


  3. #3
    slightly amused captainff's Avatar
    Member #
    17836
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    807
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5537-0855-7535-2075
    Quote Originally Posted by mich2315
    hi everyone just a quick question if i bought a wii in america would it work in england some people have said it will others that it wont i am CONFUSED?
    All electrical goods made for the US market are designed to run on 110v power. The UK uses 240v power.. .. .. if you plug it in directly it WILL go bang. The solution is to buy an official UK specific wii power cable, or a 3rd party replacement one that is designed to run on 240v.

    Next issue is screen refresh rates. The UK uses the PAL tv system (50Hz) while the US uses NTSC (60Hz). A long time ago TV's for one region couldn't show the signal from the other. Now however that isn't the case, so if your TV is new enough then this is not an issue.

    Finally, games and updates. Like DVD's and DVD players the Wii is region locked. You cannot play UK games on a US Wii (and vice-versa) unless you modify the console. The forum rules prevent discussion of such things so I'll leave it at that. Also the firmware updates are region specific too. However, if you don't mind being able to play the premium releases earlier than your British Wii owning friends, and you can bear paying less money for your games, then you could just import all of your games from the US.

    ....................


  4. #4
    No.1 Smurf Wii_Smurf's Avatar
    Member #
    6200
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,952
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Quote Originally Posted by captainff
    All electrical goods made for the US market are designed to run on 110v power. The UK uses 240v power.. .. .. if you plug it in directly it WILL go bang. The solution is to buy an official UK specific wii power cable, or a 3rd party replacement one that is designed to run on 240v.

    Next issue is screen refresh rates. The UK uses the PAL tv system (50Hz) while the US uses NTSC (60Hz). A long time ago TV's for one region couldn't show the signal from the other. Now however that isn't the case, so if your TV is new enough then this is not an issue.

    Finally, games and updates. Like DVD's and DVD players the Wii is region locked. You cannot play UK games on a US Wii (and vice-versa) unless you modify the console. The forum rules prevent discussion of such things so I'll leave it at that. Also the firmware updates are region specific too. However, if you don't mind being able to play the premium releases earlier than your British Wii owning friends, and you can bear paying less money for your games, then you could just import all of your games from the US.
    Sounds like you should just buy your Wii from your own country



    No Longer Have A Wii


  5. #5
    WiiChat legend Abes16's Avatar
    Member #
    43458
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    385
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4859-7354-0985-6081
    lol


    Thanks to LinksDarkSide for the sig


  6. #6
    Junior Member smg_bunny's Avatar
    Member #
    60703
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hi,

    I bought a US Wii and I accidentally connected it to 230v. I just heard a sound. It wont start again. What should I do? Can I repair or I have to just buy new one?

  7. #7
    Senior Member Skippy's Avatar
    Member #
    10574
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,191
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by smg_bunny View Post
    Hi,

    I bought a US Wii and I accidentally connected it to 230v. I just heard a sound. It wont start again. What should I do? Can I repair or I have to just buy new one?

    You probably just need a new power supply for it (the brick thingy that plugs into the wall).

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts