LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41
  1. #11
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Alright. Is the hard drive PATA? If so can you swap the CD cable with the HD cable?

    Do a fresh boot, insert a cd, get the error and then check the system event log for any red or yellow signs.

  2. #12
    WiiChat Member Shadowpunk's Avatar
    Member #
    3866
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    240
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Alright. Is the hard drive PATA? If so can you swap the CD cable with the HD cable?
    It says ATA yea i can switch the cables though
    Do a fresh boot, insert a cd, get the error and then check the system event log for any red or yellow signs.
    k brb
    Last edited by Shadowpunk; 07-03-2007 at 10:41 PM.

  3. #13
    WiiChat Member Shadowpunk's Avatar
    Member #
    3866
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    240
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Srry for double post but no it didnt work i switched the cables and it just froze at bootup

  4. #14
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    So you had the hard drive attached to the same spot on the motherboard but using the CD cable and the CD drive attached to port 2 on the motherboard using the old hard drive cable and it couldnt boot the OS?

    If that is the case it sounds like you have a bad cable?

  5. #15
    WiiChat Member Shadowpunk's Avatar
    Member #
    3866
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    240
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by ciper
    So you had the hard drive attached to the same spot on the motherboard but using the CD cable and the CD drive attached to port 2 on the motherboard using the old hard drive cable and it couldnt boot the OS?

    If that is the case it sounds like you have a bad cable?
    Yea i switched the cables around slave with master
    the slave was connected to the cd drive but i switched it around and now the cd drive was connected to the master and hard drive with slave but it didnt boot i have like 3 different cables though ill try em out and get back

  6. #16
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    You are confusing me.

    Slave / Master is a function of the jumpers on the drive
    Although the master should be on the end of the cable its not required
    Channels on the motherboard are another separate thing

    Are you saying the HD and CD are on the same cable?
    Or are you saying the HD is on channel one of the motherboard and the CD is on channel two? (each on their own cable with nothing else attached)

  7. #17
    WiiChat Member Shadowpunk's Avatar
    Member #
    3866
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    240
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by ciper
    You are confusing me.

    Slave / Master is a function of the jumpers on the drive
    Although the master should be on the end of the cable its not required
    Channels on the motherboard are another separate thing

    Are you saying the HD and CD are on the same cable?
    Or are you saying the HD is on channel one of the motherboard and the CD is on channel two? (each on their own cable with nothing else attached)
    Yea theyre both on the same cable as i only have one input on my motherboard

  8. #18
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Only one? Are you sure? If you check device manager under IDE/ATAPI Controllers do you see primary and secondary? What model motherboard? Ive only ever seen single IDE ports on micro-ITX boards.

    If so I have a test. Connect ONLY the CD and set it as the master with the jumper and put it at the end of the IDE cable. Do not connect the HD. During startup make sure the CD is detected as primary master and if it is try to boot the CD.

  9. #19
    WiiChat Member Shadowpunk's Avatar
    Member #
    3866
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    240
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by ciper
    Only one? Are you sure? If you check device manager under IDE/ATAPI Controllers do you see primary and secondary? What model motherboard? Ive only ever seen single IDE ports on micro-ITX boards.

    If so I have a test. Connect ONLY the CD and set it as the master with the jumper and put it at the end of the IDE cable. Do not connect the HD. During startup make sure the CD is detected as primary master and if it is try to boot the CD.
    umm i have a screenshot of my pc info and yea i connected the cd drive to the master jumper (with the hard drive) and it said boot from cd but it didnt work
    Attached Images

  10. #20
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowpunk
    umm i have a screenshot of my pc info and yea i connected the cd drive to the master jumper (with the hard drive) and it said boot from cd but it didnt work
    You are supposed to do it with the hard drive removed. Did you verify it was detected in the bios?

    On the screenshot you sent do you see the link for device manager at the top? Look in there to see if the CD drive is listed and also if the secondary IDE is listed.

    Do you know the model number of your motherboard?

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

disk drive not recognizing wii disc

,

wii cd not reading

,

wii drive not reading discs

,

wii not reading discs

Click on a term to search for related topics.