LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 41
  1. #31
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Well does the drive say to remove the jumpers? The sticker on top of the drive should say how to set them. That is probably why its not working - you have to use jumpers to tell the drive its slave.
    Last edited by ciper; 07-03-2007 at 11:07 PM.

  2. #32
    WiiChat Member Shadowpunk's Avatar
    Member #
    3866
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    240
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by ciper
    Well does the drive say to remove the jumpers? The sticker on top of the drive should say how to set them. That is probably why its not working - you have to use jumpers to tell the drive its slave.
    no the drive doesnt say anything and no theres no sticker on top of the cd drive as i removed it from my other pc

  3. #33
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Well you are going to have to find a jumper because the drive is now either in Master mode or cable select mode which shouldnt work. Can you get the model number of the drive? are there any markings on the PCB?

    So what happened when you tried with only the CD attached? Did it detect in the bios as primary master or?

  4. #34
    WiiChat Member Shadowpunk's Avatar
    Member #
    3866
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    240
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by ciper
    Well you are going to have to find a jumper because the drive is now either in Master mode or cable select mode which shouldnt work. Can you get the model number of the drive? are there any markings on the PCB?

    So what happened when you tried with only the CD attached? Did it detect in the bios as primary master or?
    When i tried it with the cd attached it said boot from cd:
    and it said amd sumthing sumthing then it said boot failed enter system cd and press enter and i had the system cd

  5. #35
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I am 75% sure the issue is the jumpers on your drive.

    When booting up it should say "hit f1 to enter setup" or "hit del to enter cmos configuration" and if you do that you can find a section that lists the drives. See what the CD is detected as when its connected all on its own.

  6. #36
    WiiChat Member Shadowpunk's Avatar
    Member #
    3866
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    240
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by ciper
    I am 75% sure the issue is the jumpers on your drive.

    When booting up it should say "hit f1 to enter setup" or "hit del to enter cmos configuration" and if you do that you can find a section that lists the drives. See what the CD is detected as when its connected all on its own.
    Yea i did that and i went to my cd drive and it displayed my cd drive
    THis is the error i get when i try and run cds...
    Attached Images

  7. #37
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadowpunk
    Yea i did that and i went to my cd drive and it displayed my cd drive
    THis is the error i get when i try and run cds...
    Haha you missed the most important part of the question. Im not just asking if its detected Im asking what it was detected as! Master or slave.

    Separate question, is there a model number on the cd drive?

    I seriously think you need a jumper to set the CD as slave.

  8. #38
    WiiChat Member Shadowpunk's Avatar
    Member #
    3866
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    240
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Haha you missed the most important part of the question. Im not just asking if its detected Im asking what it was detected as! Master or slave.
    Idk how do you check that in the bios?

    Separate question, is there a model number on the cd drive?
    Yea its a HL DT ST GCE 8400B

    I seriously think you need a jumper to set the CD as slave.

  9. #39
    WiiChat Member Shadowpunk's Avatar
    Member #
    3866
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    240
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    OKAY I FIXED IT!!!!!!!!!!!! THNXZ FOR HELPING ME WELL IT WAS DOING EVERYTHING RIGHT IT WAS THE DRIVE THAT WAS BROKEN I SWITCHED IT WITH A DVD DRIVE AND IT WORKED WELL THNZ AGAIN FOR HELPING +REP

  10. #40
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Sorry I wasnt able to help you finally fix it. I had to leave and when I came back it was already very late.

    Good thing you figured it out. Have you considered getting a SATA drive?

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

disk drive not recognizing wii disc

,

wii cd not reading

,

wii drive not reading discs

,

wii not reading discs

Click on a term to search for related topics.