LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 24 of 24
  1. #21
    Gearhead Surf Coder [DT]'s Avatar
    Member #
    33107
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Vilano Beach, FL
    Posts
    1,329
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by sremick
    You're kidding, right? Please tell me you're kidding.
    Oh wait, right, Oracle is a database. My buddy said I could use it to keep track of our DVD/HD library and that it would be better than Access.
    "I want to be more like the ocean, no talking, all action"
    - Jane's Addiction

    "Ga-blaaaaagh!!"
    - Liliane Eva

    "The grammar corrections around here are officially old and tired."
    - Celeste

  2. #22
    The Man on Ice 261311's Avatar
    Member #
    44037
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    993
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    PC Status and Information: Samurize

    Security: Ad-Aware 2007, McAfee, Norton

    Utilities: RocketDock, WinRAR, Bricopack, Thunderbird, Sonic DVD, Sharaza/ Limewire, CuteFTP

    Browsers: Firefox

    Audio, Video, IM: MSN/ Windows Live, Winamp, Windows Media Centre, Windows Media Player, Teamspeak,

    Media Encoding: ImTOO, Wii Video 9.whateverthehellitisnow,

    Documentation and Inventory: Wha?
    With much love, 261311.

    Quote Originally Posted by JT.
    Maybe it's implying yoshi is an animal, and not just a mutated green prostitute mario likes to ride
    -=Join the Waluigi Fan Club=-


  3. #23
    Got lifeboat? sremick's Avatar
    Member #
    27061
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    1,130
    Friends
    25
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Quote Originally Posted by [DT]
    Oh wait, right, Oracle is a database. My buddy said I could use it to keep track of our DVD/HD library and that it would be better than Access.
    Yes, and Visual Studio has nothing to do with Flash, and is of no use to you unless you're a software developer. If you actually needed VS, you'd know it.

    Quote Originally Posted by 261311
    Security: Ad-Aware 2007, McAfee, Norton
    You run both? Are you nuts? Either one alone slows down your computer a ton compared to the competition while only detecting a fraction of the malware that they do. I would imagine running both would make a 3GHz machine feel like a 386.
    Quote Originally Posted by Napalmbrain (Moderator)
    Even if we can somehow keeps this place moderated, eventually the webhosting is going to lapse or something like that, and I doubt i0n's going to be around to fix it. So basically I'm encouraging everyone to migrate over to Link Removed
    Quote Originally Posted by FR. (Moderator)
    i0n just lost interest in this website. And, since no forum can run without an administrator, this forum is basically doomed. Everyone might as well join somewhere else, because if i0n doesn't pay vBulletin, the site will shut down.

  4. #24
    Gearhead Surf Coder [DT]'s Avatar
    Member #
    33107
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Vilano Beach, FL
    Posts
    1,329
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by sremick
    Yes, and Visual Studio has nothing to do with Flash, and is of no use to you unless you're a software developer. If you actually needed VS, you'd know it.


    I joke of course.

    I'm implementing projects on 10g for the DoD and Dept of State as we speak

    [edit]

    I thought I had mentioned this before. 3rd tech company, patents, large scale enterprise solutions, etc., etc. Yeah, I'm pretty familiar with Oracle and VS.

    [edit #2]

    Since some of the technically savvy folks are reading this thread. Anyone ever use a powerline network setup? I got the new[er] Netgear 200Mbps kit (two units) on Friday, took about 60 seconds to get it running. Router into the PL block, plug into the outlet - PL block on any other outlet, ethernet to machine, done. Auto sync/config - no drivers of course since it's just converting routed network packages in/out of the AC line.

    It looks like I'm hitting the limiter on the 100Mbps internal network (and course easily peaking the external ~6Mbps). I've heard some consistency issues from house-to-house depending on how it's wired, age, etc., but it's outstanding here. Looks like the latency is a tad slower than a direct cable to the router, but much better than wireless. I had the want/need to have some equipment connected via wire, some sketchy areas to run cable, and the need to do this quickly, so it really fit the bill.

    They also have units that have 4 ports (a mini switch w/ a filtered AC passthrough), and are WiFi access points (so you can get a solid wireless connection in a dead zone). Some people said they run super hot (not this brand specifically) - definitely very warm, about the same temp as my 1500VA UPS behind my desk.
    Last edited by [DT]; 01-28-2008 at 10:58 AM.
    "I want to be more like the ocean, no talking, all action"
    - Jane's Addiction

    "Ga-blaaaaagh!!"
    - Liliane Eva

    "The grammar corrections around here are officially old and tired."
    - Celeste

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts