LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member supercool's Avatar
    Member #
    8336
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Please help!!!!?!?!?

    I was wondering if there was anyway I could have both my xbox 360 online and also my Wii online at the sametime. I do not have a PC but have a cable modem and I just bought a wireless router. I am under the impression I need a PC to run the router now. Please could someone give me some information. PLEASEEEE

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Computer Nerd, not Geek codeking's Avatar
    Member #
    3101
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    61
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Yes, you can have both online. You do not need a PC to use the wireless router, but you might need one to configure it. (Possibly) I would just set the modem and the router up and you should be ready to go. If it doesn't work just post again on this thread.
    "There are two things that are infinite: human stupidity and the universe. I'm not sure about the latter."

    -Mark Twain


    "Sh1t burns well apparently so the PS3 should go up like petrol."

    - Silent-Sniper


  4. #3
    WiiChat Member flemo123's Avatar
    Member #
    10320
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    11
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Having a wireless router and no PC is a bit of a scary proposition. It probably means that your router has no security setup and anyone in your neighbourhood can see and use your broadband connection for their Wii, Xbox, or PC.

    You should at least try to borrow a PC and have some security settings created. The router can support numerous connections at the same time so that shouldn't be an issue.

  5. #4
    Hardcore Gamer Xanthan's Avatar
    Member #
    5481
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Augusta, GA
    Posts
    259
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6188-0435-3585-1038
    I believe most routers need a PC to log in and change the settings or else you would be running in default configuration. But if you know your IP the router sees you might be able to log into your router from any PC. (not exactly sure about this).

    Another solution would be.. if you don't have a PC bring the router to work or a friends house and connect it to a PC and make any changes required there. But most routers are ready to run out of the box if you don't care about wifi security.
    --Xbox 360
    --Wii
    --PS3
    --Game Whore

  6. #5
    You're kidding, right? Minto's Avatar
    Member #
    8233
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,233
    Friends
    2
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0505-6993-9515-7982
    yea u can have both at same time
    Steam ID: Mintoisking
    Xbox live GT: Sir Minto
    PSN ID: Mintoisgod

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member supercool's Avatar
    Member #
    8336
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Yes, I could access a couple of PC's to configure the router, also I bought a 50 ft usb cord but then find out the Wii usb slot is different. Is there a special usb cord for the Wii or just a regular one will do?

  8. #7
    UNACCEPTABLE The_Mitch's Avatar
    Member #
    648
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Milford Ohio
    Posts
    3,130
    Friends
    8
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2025-2025-2025-2025
    i think i might know your problem. did you get the cable modem from an ISP (Internet Service Provider) or did you just buy one at the store without signing up for internet?

    KARPMOD SUCKS
    Moderator @ Wii Chat
    [PM]
    No, I will NOT add you to my friends list.
    [/SIZE]
    Mitch2025 - Stays crunchy, even in milk.


    Thanks DBloke for the sig

    I miss my weighted companion cube

    Spoiler Alert!


  9. #8
    WiiChat Member supercool's Avatar
    Member #
    8336
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    No i have had internet access for awhile. I just need to know why 1st) where to get a usb that fits thew back of the Wii and goes to either a router or modem and 2nd) is using a wireless router and programming in with a pc then bring it back to my house and set it up between just two consoles. The 360 and the Wii without any PC

  10. #9
    UNACCEPTABLE The_Mitch's Avatar
    Member #
    648
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Milford Ohio
    Posts
    3,130
    Friends
    8
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2025-2025-2025-2025
    the wii right now only work with wireless. if you have a wire/wireless router then you should be able too hookup with both the wii and the xbox360 at the same time with no trouble. please, in detail, explain the setup

    KARPMOD SUCKS
    Moderator @ Wii Chat
    [PM]
    No, I will NOT add you to my friends list.
    [/SIZE]
    Mitch2025 - Stays crunchy, even in milk.


    Thanks DBloke for the sig

    I miss my weighted companion cube

    Spoiler Alert!


  11. #10
    WiiChat Member supercool's Avatar
    Member #
    8336
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    thanks guys

    ill go over my setup. What I want to do is have a xbox360 online and also a Wii online. I don't have enough cash to go buy the wireless things for each system so I wanted to hard wire both of them. I do not have a PC at my house but I can go to either work or a buds house to setup the router if that is needed. Essentially, what I want is both the 360 and the Wii to have internet access between the two without a PC.

    I have a cable modem with internet access and a new wireless modem with two usb cords(one is about 5 feet the other is 50 feet). Also I am curious if the Wii has a special usb wire you need to wire it to a router/modem. Thanks guys for your help and sorry for my computer retardation.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts