LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Friends
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

I'm new to consoles, why no game backups?

I can't believe that I have this flimsy DVD as my only copy of an expensive game. Please catch me up on why we're being screwed or can I make a copy and play it without mod chipping the console? Will game companies send a free new copy of a game if you send them a broken disk say a year or so after purchase?

Member #
    Friends
    7223-3534-5566-9128
    you can save the files on SD card.
    Owner of PS3 and Wii. Playing Unreal Tournament 3 at the moment. Everything else is on hold.
    PSN - arcticreaver

Member #
    Friends
    He's talking about the original game media NOT saved games.

DVD's are reasonably robust - I've never had an original DVD (movie or game disc) go bad. They're not fragile (buy a blank and try to snap it in half), just prone to surface scratches if they're left out and tossed around (and even then, the error correction system in most readers can handle a fair amount of scuffs).

I agree that $50-60 isn't chump change - so I'd be diligent to return games to their cases after playing to keep them mint!

FWIW, Gamecube games has explicit notice in the package that "Backup or duplication even for archive was not permitted by law" (something to that effect). I believe they had a media replacement warranty for like 12 months.

~DT

Member #
    Friends
    Quote Originally Posted by [DT]
    He's talking about the original game media NOT saved games.

DVD's are reasonably robust - I've never had an original DVD (movie or game disc) go bad. They're not fragile (buy a blank and try to snap it in half), just prone to surface scratches if they're left out and tossed around (and even then, the error correction system in most readers can handle a fair amount of scuffs).