LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member brewboy's Avatar
    Member #
    37623
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    18
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Hookup Help!!!!!!!

    I just got my Wii.....I cannot figure out how to hook this thing up! I got some Wii component cables that have 2 red, 1 blue, 1 white and one green input into the tv. There is no yellow? I am trying to hook this into a new panasonic plasma with just 3 inputs, R & L volume and tv. I even tried the cables that came with the Wii, but I cannot figure out what I need to set my TV on to play this thing....have spent well over an hour now reading the directions but too stupid I guess to figure it out. I have the 50" panasonic plasma if that makes a difference with the inputs in the front of the tv.....I am dieing to play this thing so any help ASAP would be great....

  2. #2
    They call me Hammy! blueovalboy7's Avatar
    Member #
    25098
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,450
    Friends
    20
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Well your Panasonic should have component inputs somewhere there on the back. If you can't find them use the supplied composite cables and hook it into your input and then find the correct input using your remote. I am not too familiar with Panasonics but if you give me a model number maybe I can try to help you out.

  3. #3
    WiiChat Member brewboy's Avatar
    Member #
    37623
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    18
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    TH-50PX60U is my model #

    So would I need to unattach my tv from my wall mount to find these component cable slots?

    Thanks for your help!!

  4. #4
    They call me Hammy! blueovalboy7's Avatar
    Member #
    25098
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,450
    Friends
    20
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    You might have to, let me see if I can find some info to better help you.

  5. #5
    the best kid! samXcor3's Avatar
    Member #
    34872
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,457
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3732-3369-2853-4491
    once you get it hooked to the tv you need to set it to the channel. near the inputs where you put the wii cords into the tv it should say "av 1" or something like that. this is the channel you need. to get to that channel, first try going around channel 4 and go down and sometimes below channel 1 it will say av1/av2 or somehing like that. you need to change the input channel on the tv. sometimes it will have a button on the remote to switch between cable, line1, line2, stuff like that. the line1 line 2 is like different sets of ports you can plug video games into, or digital cameras or stuff liek that.
    Strikers FC:025884-970933
    RIP: Hidden in Plain View, Counterfit Pennies, The Early November

    thanks to idjut for the sig!

  6. #6
    WiiChat Member brewboy's Avatar
    Member #
    37623
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    18
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    But why do the component cables I bought that say for Wii not have a yellow cable with it?

  7. #7
    They call me Hammy! blueovalboy7's Avatar
    Member #
    25098
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,450
    Friends
    20
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Were you trying to hook it up on the front of the tv? If so you only have a composite/s-video input on the front. To utilize your component cables you're going to need to get to the back of the tv and hook it up in the rear. Then once you're hooked up to one of the component inputs; use the TV/Video button on the tv's remote (make sure the Wii is on so you have a signal) and find the input that the Wii is hooked up on. You should be good after that.

    Quote Originally Posted by brewboy
    But why do the component cables I bought that say for Wii not have a yellow cable with it?
    The Red/Green/Blue are the higher quality cables to replace the composite (yellow) video cable and thus utilizing your HD. Does that make sense?

  8. #8
    WiiChat Member brewboy's Avatar
    Member #
    37623
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    18
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Okay, sounds good! thanks for the help.....now how do I know the channel it will be hooked up to? And should these cables I bought not have a yellow then like the composite cables have?

  9. #9
    the best kid! samXcor3's Avatar
    Member #
    34872
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,457
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3732-3369-2853-4491
    components are just different colors from regular, because you need to plug them into the same color on your tv. plugging a green component into a red av jack wont work or itll mess up or something. theyre just color coded so you know what to do once you get at your tv because component cable does not equal AV cables.
    Strikers FC:025884-970933
    RIP: Hidden in Plain View, Counterfit Pennies, The Early November

    thanks to idjut for the sig!

  10. #10
    They call me Hammy! blueovalboy7's Avatar
    Member #
    25098
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,450
    Friends
    20
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Quote Originally Posted by brewboy
    Okay, sounds good! thanks for the help.....now how do I know the channel it will be hooked up to? And should these cables I bought not have a yellow then like the composite cables have?
    You shouldn't have to worry about any channels, just find the correct input and make sure your Wii is on so you can see when you're on the right one. On the Panasonic remote it should have a TV/VIDEO button and if you hit that a few times and cycle through your inputs you should be able to find it.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

cannot get a picture hooking up my wii with component cables
,
how do you hook up wii component cables
,
my plasma does not have yellow red or whte component
,
nintendo wii hookup
,
problems hooking up nintendo wi
,
wii component cable how to hook up
,
wii cord cannot figure out
,
wii does not detect component hookup
,
wii hook up panasonic plasma
,
wii hook up problems
,

wii hookup help

,
wii hookup problems
Click on a term to search for related topics.