LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member dubber430's Avatar
    Member #
    33946
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Do You Need A Router To Get The Net On The Wii?

    My friend has a Wii but no internet or a computer at home.....can he just get a modem and plug it to the Wii or does he have to get a modem and a router to catch the internet on his Wii.


    Without having a computer what are his options to getting internet on his Wii?

    Thanks

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Zyl0nB Walugi's Avatar
    Member #
    37739
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    288
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2704-5528-6520-6101
    if hes not intending to plug a computer into the modem than yes it will do.( cuz it only has 1 spot.)
    but hell also need to pay monthly internet fees.

    plz msg me if you wanna play mario kart or metroid on the DS.

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member dubber430's Avatar
    Member #
    33946
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Walugi
    if hes not intending to plug a computer into the modem than yes it will do.( cuz it only has 1 spot.)
    but hell also need to pay monthly internet fees.
    so internet and a router will do or just internet? does he need a router

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member player911m's Avatar
    Member #
    36329
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    72
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Yes

    You'll require a wireless router OR a Wii USB-LAN Adapter.

    Both will prolly run you the same.

    It also requires montly access to internet. You cannot use a dialup modem line on the Wii.

    So here are the basics_____________________

    -Monthly Broadband Internet Connection Subscription
    -Wireless Router (if you have PC's within your household using internet)
    -USB-LAN Wii Adapter (no PC's present on network; direct connect to internet device)
    No Advertising

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member dubber430's Avatar
    Member #
    33946
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by player911m
    You'll require a wireless router OR a Wii USB-LAN Adapter.

    Both will prolly run you the same.

    It also requires montly access to internet. You cannot use a dialup modem line on the Wii.

    So here are the basics_____________________

    -Monthly Broadband Internet Connection Subscription
    -Wireless Router (if you have PC's within your household using internet)
    -USB-LAN Wii Adapter (no PC's present on network; direct connect to internet device)

    thanks

  7. #6
    Senior Member Skippy's Avatar
    Member #
    10574
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,191
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Keep in mind that setting up a router typically requires a computer.

  8. #7
    rawrrr iRAWR's Avatar
    Member #
    28534
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    765
    Friends
    13
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    get a computer bud.....

  9. #8
    WiiChat Member Zackh321's Avatar
    Member #
    33844
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    138
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Too bad Opera doesn't come with the Wii already and you have to pay $5 for it. If you can get on the internet somewhere else and download the Opera browser you won't have to set up something like a Linksys router using a PC all the time. The Opera browser can log in and modify the settings of my Linksys Router.

    I have a lan adapter, a Linksys Firewall Router, and a DSL modem. From what I've gathered the Wii cannot dial out to get a net connection like an Xbox. It needs something else like a Router to have a Username, Password, and establish the connection and then it's able to use it. If anyone knows any way to make it dial out let me know.

  10. #9
    WiiChat Member dubber430's Avatar
    Member #
    33946
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    goona try it with the USB-LAN Wii Adapter to see if it works

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

do wii have to be plug all the time

,

does wii need modem

Click on a term to search for related topics.