LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member Ihaveworms's Avatar
    Member #
    2913
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wii and connectors / Screen size

    Well I have gotten pretty interested into getting a wii. I have a few questions, though. I do not have an HDTV in my house, however, I do have a 20" Widescreen monitor for my computer. It is a VX2025wm. I know they make connectors for the xbox360 that connects to DVI so chances are they would make the same for wii, correct? I am also wondering if the quality would be the same on the screen and if my screen is really big enough. Will my screen be big enough to roll my chair out a little ways and still be able to see the hud on my screen if there is one? If so, how far back should I be and would this 20" monitor be ok?

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    WiiChat Member paintba||er's Avatar
    Member #
    1665
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: sheise
    Posts
    3,417
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    You don't need an HDTV since the Wii only outputs in EDTV. They don't make DVI cables for the 360 although they make VGA cables if thats what you were thinking of. I doubt that there will be any DVI cables because the Wii probably only outputs in analog.
    ++++++[>++++++++++<-]>+.<+++[>++++<-]>+.<+++++[>+++++++<-]>++.++++.<+++[>---<-]>--.<+++++[>----------<-]>--------.<+++++++++++++[>++<-]>.<+++++[>+++++<-]>.<++++[>++++<-]>+..<++[>----<-]>-.<++[>+++++<-]>.

  4. #3
    '';aM;'' Inspire Inspire's Avatar
    Member #
    2597
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    402
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7368-8559-7526-8152
    Whoa, the Wii only does analog? Where did you see that? I thought Progressive Scan had to be digital?

    (I'm seriously asking - I'm new to a lot of this HD stuff....)

  5. #4
    Junior Member Ihaveworms's Avatar
    Member #
    2913
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Game|Life
    Wii HD cables


    Xbox 360 HD DVI-I Component Cable Xbox 360 - Got to hav
    Xbox 360 DVI cable.


    So maybe someone will make an adapter?

    I know I can play it on a regular TV, but I would like to get the HD experience with my monitor.

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member paintba||er's Avatar
    Member #
    1665
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: sheise
    Posts
    3,417
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    No it doesn't have to be digital to be progressive scan. The Xbox 360 can't even output in digital and it can do 1080p. I had never seen the DVI cables for the 360 before so that was my mistake. And your not gonna get a "HD experience" on a Wii because the highest it can output is 480p and that is ED not HD.
    ++++++[>++++++++++<-]>+.<+++[>++++<-]>+.<+++++[>+++++++<-]>++.++++.<+++[>---<-]>--.<+++++[>----------<-]>--------.<+++++++++++++[>++<-]>.<+++++[>+++++<-]>.<++++[>++++<-]>+..<++[>----<-]>-.<++[>+++++<-]>.

  7. #6
    '';aM;'' Inspire Inspire's Avatar
    Member #
    2597
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    402
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7368-8559-7526-8152
    Thanks, paintballer. I'm thinking of getting an HD Monitor, because I'm stuck with composite video on an old tube TV right now - I think even ED would look good over what I have now.

  8. #7
    Wii online moderator registerednerd's Avatar
    Member #
    249
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Missouri, United States
    Posts
    1,054
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    just go find a component to DVI adapter. They aren't hard to find or expensive, check online. Then buy the component cable for the Wii and put the two together.
    ... but what do I know?...
    Not currently accepting friend adds.

  9. #8
    WiiChat Member paintba||er's Avatar
    Member #
    1665
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: sheise
    Posts
    3,417
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    I might be wrong but I thought that DVI is digital and component is analog so the only way you can go from component to DVI is to get a converter box that costs a few hundred dollars. I thought the adapters can only take it from DVI to component. I'm probably wrong though.
    ++++++[>++++++++++<-]>+.<+++[>++++<-]>+.<+++++[>+++++++<-]>++.++++.<+++[>---<-]>--.<+++++[>----------<-]>--------.<+++++++++++++[>++<-]>.<+++++[>+++++<-]>.<++++[>++++<-]>+..<++[>----<-]>-.<++[>+++++<-]>.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

how do i fit my wii to my screen size

,

how to adjust screen size on wii

,

how to adjust wii screen size

,

wii adjust screen height

,

wii display size problems

,

wii how do i adjust screen size

,

wii screen size

,

wii screen size problems

Click on a term to search for related topics.