LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    the guy below- HES BACK!! Wiitime's Avatar
    Member #
    2290
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,409
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1405-1695-6567-5492

    I just became confused with wifi,

    How does this work? I have a netgear and that goes slow with the wii to play online. So i plan on getting the cable so it goes faster that nintendo has. When we get the wii, we hook the wii up to the internet to use the wii channels right? What is exacty WIFi? WHen they let us play online with games, then we still hook it up the the computer as long as you have internet. I am confused, i dont know how i got confused but i did. Please explain this to me. I am stuck with Wifi, wii channels and online play. I cant put it together

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Only took 4 years to get1 MetroidZ's Avatar
    Member #
    137
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    London, England Rank: i-wii-sistable
    Posts
    3,592
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1000-0000-0000-0000
    Wi-Fi, exactly is, Short for ‘wireless fidelity’. A term for certain types of wireless local area networks (WLAN) that use specifications conforming to IEEE 802.11b. WiFi has gained acceptance in many environments as an alternative to a wired LAN. Many airports, hotels, and other services offer public access to WiFi networks so people can log onto the Internet and receive emails on the move. These locations are known as hotspots.

  4. #3
    the guy below- HES BACK!! Wiitime's Avatar
    Member #
    2290
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,409
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1405-1695-6567-5492
    so how does that work with the wii? DO u have to hook the wii up to the internet to look at wii channels? So, if i have netgear, do i need anything else to use the internet on the wii?

  5. #4
    Only took 4 years to get1 MetroidZ's Avatar
    Member #
    137
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    London, England Rank: i-wii-sistable
    Posts
    3,592
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1000-0000-0000-0000
    You need internet to view Wii Channels. If you've got a wireless router you should be able to connect.

  6. #5
    UNACCEPTABLE The_Mitch's Avatar
    Member #
    648
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Milford Ohio
    Posts
    3,130
    Friends
    8
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2025-2025-2025-2025
    if your router has an antenna sticking out of the back of it, you are good to go. if not you will eather need to buy nintendo's USB thing so you can plug in a cable or buy a wireless router

    KARPMOD SUCKS
    Moderator @ Wii Chat
    [PM]
    No, I will NOT add you to my friends list.
    [/SIZE]
    Mitch2025 - Stays crunchy, even in milk.


    Thanks DBloke for the sig

    I miss my weighted companion cube

    Spoiler Alert!


  7. #6
    WiiChat Member Sabin's Avatar
    Member #
    2263
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    103
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Does the router have an antenna on it? If it's just a standard hard-lined Netgear router, then that is not wireless. My Linksys has two antennas that stand straight up for emitting the wireless signal.

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member Sabin's Avatar
    Member #
    2263
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    103
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    HAH, just beat me to it

  9. #8
    the guy below- HES BACK!! Wiitime's Avatar
    Member #
    2290
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,409
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1405-1695-6567-5492
    Quote Originally Posted by Mitch2025
    if your router has an antenna sticking out of the back of it, you are good to go. if not you will eather need to buy nintendo's USB thing so you can plug in a cable or buy a wireless router
    Is nintendo selling it yet? It is wireless, i dont see any antenna sticking out of the back.... So when i get the wii, do i just hook it up to the USb or do i have to find the signal and connect it with the netgear. Then how does Nintendo's USb thing work? Sorry for the questions.

  10. #9
    Junior Member I_love_my_wizi's Avatar
    Member #
    5375
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Yo Mitch2025. I added you as a wii friend. I can't pm you cause I'm a new member. Anyway, add me if ya want my code is 3148 9314 2169 5815. Anyone else wanna add me thats cool, just send me a message.

  11. #10
    WiiCrazy Chunk's Avatar
    Member #
    4674
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    111
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Some routers do not have antennaes, like the one at my dads house. I was convinced I would have to use the neighbors connection for my laptop to be wireless but to my suprise he had a wireless conection from his router.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. iPod Touch or Archos 605 wifi?
    By Trulen in forum The Entertainment Lounge
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-03-2007, 08:28 PM
  2. Wifi Game...
    By Vince00 in forum Nintendo DS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-23-2007, 05:58 PM
  3. Nintendo usb WIFI connector problem
    By Clish in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-04-2007, 02:09 PM
  4. wifi? i'm confused
    By mad1234 in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10-09-2006, 09:00 AM
  5. mario hoops 3-on-3 wifi?
    By komio in forum Nintendo DS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-16-2006, 04:29 AM