LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member -G-'s Avatar
    Member #
    2518
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    14
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wii Component Cables

    I couldn't see any threads with COMPONENT CABLE in the header so give me a break if this has been posted already;

    NTSC Gamecube had 480p Progressive Scan input for the Gamecube, PAL Didn't - FACT

    My HDTV Supports 480p / 480i and the rumour around town is that the PAL Wii games will be encoded with 480p Progressive - RUMOUR

    There are already component Cables on the Market, but which one shold I buy?

    I've ordered this - will it work?

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Fanatec-Prem...8&s=videogames

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    No posting ban xbandaidx's Avatar
    Member #
    4915
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    934
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4857-5695-0490-5844
    Yeah it'll work.

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member -G-'s Avatar
    Member #
    2518
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    14
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Awesome.

  5. #4
    No posting ban xbandaidx's Avatar
    Member #
    4915
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    934
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4857-5695-0490-5844
    Quote Originally Posted by -G-
    Awesome.
    Reason why I say that is because it ships around there. However I do know that PAL has a different number of lines on their televisions. Um, basically do you have a TV that states that it has 480p or something?

  6. #5
    Hardcore Gamer Xanthan's Avatar
    Member #
    5481
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Augusta, GA
    Posts
    259
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6188-0435-3585-1038
    The difference in visual quality of most Wii component cables will be hard to tell apart. The main price difference comes from cable length. In order to keep the same noise/signal ratio on longer cables they have to use better quality components, shielding etc. which increases the cost. Pretty much any Wii component cable will get the job done. You prolly wont be able to tell the difference between a $30 cable and a $60 cable, so really get what you're comfortable with. But you will notice that the more expensive cables are usually longer.
    --Xbox 360
    --Wii
    --PS3
    --Game Whore

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member -G-'s Avatar
    Member #
    2518
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    14
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Kind of,

    It is NON compatible with NTSC 480P/720P or 480i progressive scanning simply because its a european tv.

    BUT

    It's input signal accomodates both 1080i (HD) 720P(HD) and 480P / 480i (SD) on both NTSC & PAL formats.

    It has component terminals (Y/Pb/Pr) and HDMI, I know that 480 isn't strictly HD but i'm hoping it will work. The gamecube left a bad taste in my mouth last time round as only the Septic Tanks got 480p/i gaming

  8. #7
    No posting ban xbandaidx's Avatar
    Member #
    4915
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    934
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4857-5695-0490-5844
    Because I know that PAL TV has a different number of lines, thats the only thing that concerns me. I guess you'll just have to find out. However if the TV states it can support it, I guess it can

  9. #8
    WiiChat Member -G-'s Avatar
    Member #
    2518
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    14
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    We'll see anyway, the GF bought me the Wii for Xmas... (Well, I did, she's giving me the money for it tomorrow ) I'm just buying as much crap to go with it as I can

    Pity the Wii wasn't released in Black, would have went with my Ds Lite a treat...

    Ah well, mustn't grumble...

  10. #9
    Nino-wii Kuma's Avatar
    Member #
    6258
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    41
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0888-3475-6097-0013
    I can't find component cables anywhere around here ( Venezuela, I had to import the console )

    Had to play zelda using composite on my LCD TV. A shame.

    [ Wii-Code ] 0888-3475-6097-0013
    [ Wii Username ] Nino
    [ Note ] Send a pm in any of my messengers to exchange wii-codes
    [ MSC FC ] 472556 593595

  11. #10
    WiiChat Member -G-'s Avatar
    Member #
    2518
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Posts
    14
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Kuma
    I can't find component cables anywhere around here ( Venezuela, I had to import the console )

    Had to play zelda using composite on my LCD TV. A shame.
    100 Cool Points to you for having the coolest President EVER

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Component cables not working??
    By EKGProd in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2009, 07:12 PM
  2. Component Cables on normal TV
    By klsrc in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-18-2008, 08:00 PM
  3. DO NOT buy ASiD Tech component cables
    By ccorr in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-20-2007, 02:06 PM
  4. I dont understand component cables
    By 2Wiitarded in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 07:40 PM
  5. Component Cables Telephone Ordering
    By i0n in forum Wii News
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-20-2006, 09:23 AM

Search tags for this page

wii 480i with component

Click on a term to search for related topics.