LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member Link23's Avatar
    Member #
    7426
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Progressive Scan is worse than Regular?

    Hey all, I bought some component cables to run Zelda in progressive scan on my 46" hdtv, and the game DOES run in higher definition with Progressive scan but i've noticed that Link looks alot more jagged (the edges around his body). I was wondering, is this normal, because everywhere i've read people are saying progressive scan looks better.... or could it be since my tv is a few years old, and is not one of the new DLP hdtv's or plasma screens?

  2. #2
    Hardcore Gamer Xanthan's Avatar
    Member #
    5481
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Augusta, GA
    Posts
    259
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6188-0435-3585-1038
    Quote Originally Posted by Link23
    Hey all, I bought some component cables to run Zelda in progressive scan on my 46" hdtv, and the game DOES run in higher definition with Progressive scan but i've noticed that Link looks alot more jagged (the edges around his body). I was wondering, is this normal, because everywhere i've read people are saying progressive scan looks better.... or could it be since my tv is a few years old, and is not one of the new DLP hdtv's or plasma screens?
    only way I could see this is if your TV doesn't support 480p or higher resolution. But if that was the case it wouldn't be a HDTV by definition.

    Did you activate 480p in the system settings after you hooked up the cable?
    --Xbox 360
    --Wii
    --PS3
    --Game Whore

  3. #3
    Protector of Hyrule Jesse's Avatar
    Member #
    42
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sacred Realm
    Posts
    562
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7219-3868-1848-6260
    Just incase you don't know where it's at you go to Wii Settings > Screen > TV Resolution.
    "To know, is to know that you know nothing. That is the meaning of true knowledge."

    quote by Confucious


  4. #4
    Wii Ninja! savoirvivre's Avatar
    Member #
    6329
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    88
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    What happens if you change hte setting and it doesn't work? will you still be able to change it after? will the screen get all messed up and dissappear ?

  5. #5
    Hardcore Gamer Xanthan's Avatar
    Member #
    5481
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Augusta, GA
    Posts
    259
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6188-0435-3585-1038
    Well you can't select 480p unless the Wii recognizes you have a component cable connect (it reads a jumper in the connection plug). If you don't have a component cable connected the 480p will be greyed out. Now with the component cable connected you could run it in 480i (this is the default mode) but you won't get much benifit from the cable. Switching to 480p mode is the only way to get the Enhanced Definition from the cable.

    If you switch to 480p and your TV doesn't support it the screen should be black, this shouldn't worry you though because I believe after you switch the mode it will give you so many seconds asking if you can see the screen, if so you accept the changes, if not they will revert back to original settings. Atleast this is the way most video devices work where you can change the display mode. (I don't recall)

    If you don't select the 480p in the settings, you mine as well use the composite cable, running component in 480i defeats the purpose.
    --Xbox 360
    --Wii
    --PS3
    --Game Whore

  6. #6
    Wii Ninja! savoirvivre's Avatar
    Member #
    6329
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    88
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    thanx xanthan. does anyone else confirm it reverting back? I just hope i can revert it back. I have component , i just don't know if it supports progressive scan.

  7. #7
    Junior Member Link23's Avatar
    Member #
    7426
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Yeah I've switched it to 480p in the Wii settings.....the problem is that when I do that, I do get a higher defintion, but Link looks more jagged around the edges, you can tell he is in higher def....but he looks more jagged, like he neeeds some serious Anti-aliasing effects added.....does anyone else have that prob or is it just my tv?

  8. #8
    Special Olympics Medalist BrandonMcAuslan's Avatar
    Member #
    3742
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    633
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1234-1234-1234-1234
    480p is not in any higher definition. Just a sharper picture. looks less blurry - therefore more jaggy... I think 480p mode will provide better graphics in time - but I don't think zelda has been developed with 480p in mind since its a launch title.
    therefore link is jaggy. I hates jaggies.

    Here's some badly taken screenshots as an example...
    http://uk.gamespot.com/events/wiilau...ic_id=25188908
    Last edited by BrandonMcAuslan; 12-11-2006 at 09:39 AM.

  9. #9
    Banned ToadIsDoingMagicMushrooms's Avatar
    Member #
    6019
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Northern Ireland - Co. Down
    Posts
    851
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8263-8201-5467-9061
    Probably nothing you can do to fix it.

  10. #10
    Wii Ninja! savoirvivre's Avatar
    Member #
    6329
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    88
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    So to sum it up. component looks better at 480p. Zelda is jaggied in still picture frame but most likely will look smoother while in animation. That's what i been getting out of all this 480i vs p p , ayy caramba. wtf is going on with all these tvs, like my is a good tv, now i have to get some 480p , omg like omg. lol. fkin technology.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. New Wii, Gamecube game error on progressive scan
    By Zaev in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-21-2009, 12:14 PM
  2. Is it possible to display in Progressive scan on a PAL console?
    By disturb3d in forum Nintendo Gamecube
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-20-2007, 10:58 PM
  3. Progressive Scan DVD Players
    By spicka in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-21-2007, 09:29 PM
  4. Component & Progressive Scan - Verdict
    By Haz in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-05-2007, 11:25 AM
  5. No progressive scan on UK Wii's?
    By Bobster in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-01-2006, 05:01 PM

Search tags for this page

gamecube progressive scan errors

,
nfs ps2 progressive scan
,
progressive mode wii
,
progressive scan dvd vs regular
,
progressive scan nfs underground
,
progressive scan wii jaggy
,
ps2 progressive scan component
,

using progressive scan makes worse gamecube

,
wii component cable jagged edges
,
wii component worse
,
wii progressive scan
,
windwaker progressive scan
Click on a term to search for related topics.