LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member largeeyes's Avatar
    Member #
    8941
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wii won't go Widescreen w/ component cables

    I have a 60" 2005 Sony SXRD television. I have some wii component cables(not Nintendo brand)..in fact, they are these....here.

    Problem is, when I go in and change the settings to Widescreen and resolution to 480p, nothing happens. Everything is still cut off on the left and right. Something seems wrong here.....it should be noted that the picture comes through just fine as 480i.....Any ideas?

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    WiiChat Member iamalexchung's Avatar
    Member #
    8771
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    27
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Are your cables connected directly to the television or is it taking a detour through another reciever before actually entering the television, try hooking it up to a reciever, i.e. your DVD player or something then from the DVD player to the television, tell me how it goes.

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member largeeyes's Avatar
    Member #
    8941
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Tried it both ways. I had it running into my Harmon Kardon receiver, just like my Xbox 360(which has absolutely no problems in widescreen, btw). Just for the sake of trying, I ran it directly into the TV as well, with no luck. The picture displays just fine in 4:3, however. I'm quite confused.

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member SuperH's Avatar
    Member #
    3078
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    242
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Your TV needs set to "FULL".

    This is likely the case on your composite input. You need to make sure the component input is "FULL" as well.

    The Nintendo Wii "stretches" things vertically so that the aspect ratio is wrong at 4:3 in widescreen. You need to restretch it horizontally (I.E., set the TV to "FULL")

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member largeeyes's Avatar
    Member #
    8941
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperH
    Your TV needs set to "FULL".

    This is likely the case on your composite input. You need to make sure the component input is "FULL" as well.

    The Nintendo Wii "stretches" things vertically so that the aspect ratio is wrong at 4:3 in widescreen. You need to restretch it horizontally (I.E., set the TV to "FULL")
    My TV changes to whatever the signal is. I haven't once had to change the aspect ratio on this TV(unlike my parents older HDTV where you do have to manually keep it from stretching things or to get it to properly display widescreen. Like I said, the 360 output is set to the same thing and the picture is gorgeous.

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member WiiLink's Avatar
    Member #
    5465
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    123
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Another reason to buy the Nintendo branded cables. Not sure if it would fix your problem but, if you call customer service, they're going to say that it could be a problem. Basically right now, it sounds like you are playing with a composite signal with component cables. Does the quality at least increase when you switch to 480p? If not, I would say it's the cables.

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member iamalexchung's Avatar
    Member #
    8771
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    27
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

  9. #8
    WiiChat Member iamalexchung's Avatar
    Member #
    8771
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    27
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hey tell you what, I'll be going to my friend's house this Sunday and she has the same TV as you do, so if you still haven't figured it out by then, I'll tell you if it occurs with the same problem as well and what not.

  10. #9
    WiiChat Member GiRARDsays's Avatar
    Member #
    3861
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I've got the MadCatz Component Cable for my Wii hooked up and I have no issues displaying everything in widescreen format on my 42in Plasma HDTV. Make sure your TV is set to display 16:9 and 480p resolution & Widescreen Display Type is selected on your Wii.

    If you STILL have issues, I don't know what the solution would be.

  11. #10
    Time Traveling Swordsman chronoswing's Avatar
    Member #
    4238
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Guardia, 1000 A.D.
    Posts
    60
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2632-1545-1419-0063
    I have those same penguin united cables and have no problems on my magnavox HD tv in widescreen.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Component cables not working??
    By EKGProd in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2009, 07:12 PM
  2. DO NOT buy ASiD Tech component cables
    By ccorr in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-20-2007, 02:06 PM
  3. Component Cables and Widescreen
    By umichguy84 in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-27-2007, 11:39 AM
  4. I dont understand component cables
    By 2Wiitarded in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 07:40 PM
  5. Component Cables Telephone Ordering
    By i0n in forum Wii News
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-20-2006, 09:23 AM

Search tags for this page

wii component cable not widescreen
,
wii component cable widescreen
,
wii component not widescreen
,
wii not displaying in widescreen
,
wii not displaying widescreen
,
wii widescreen not working
,
wii widescreen problems
,
wii won't display widescreen
,
wii won't go widescreen
,
wii wont display widescreen
,

wii wont go widescreen

,
wii wont widescreen
Click on a term to search for related topics.