LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: S-Video Cables

  1. #1
    WiiChat Member UKTotty's Avatar
    Member #
    11258
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    24
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    S-Video Cables

    I bought a new Blaze S-Video cable so I can run my wii through my AV Amp like my dvd, sky, hdd, ps2 etc.
    I have plugged the cable into the Wii but cant find ANY settings in the Wii to output over S-Video instead of RGB
    Cab anyone help please?

  2. #2
    WiiChat Member UKTotty's Avatar
    Member #
    11258
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    24
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    bump?

  3. #3
    Wii-Dev Oldschool Smasher's Avatar
    Member #
    8619
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    43
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by UKTotty
    bump?
    Wii doesnt support S-Video diretly sadly. But you can buy a rca-to-S Video conveter.
    --Gear-dev

  4. #4
    Wii-diculous tighr's Avatar
    Member #
    3507
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    28
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2254-6848-7088-9365
    Quote Originally Posted by Oldschool Smasher
    Wii doesnt support S-Video diretly sadly. But you can buy a rca-to-S Video conveter.
    Not correct.

    S-Video runs at 480i, the same resolution that composite runs at. There is no "setting" to change, simply by using the s-video cables you are getting a better picture than composite because s-video seperates brightness and color. Component video supports both analog and digital transmission, so if you want higher resolution video you should invest in those cables.

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member UKTotty's Avatar
    Member #
    11258
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    24
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I dont want higher resolution I want to run S-Video
    I have s-video out from my amp and everything i own runs s-video INTO my amp.
    At the mo I have to change the tv to scart, play the game and then change it all back again, all i wanna do it click AUX on the amp so it sends svideo to the plasma.
    Why the hell make an s-vid cable if the bloody thing doesnt support svideo?

  6. #6
    WiiChat Member Justinyoung's Avatar
    Member #
    6451
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    33
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by tighr
    Not correct.

    S-Video runs at 480i, the same resolution that composite runs at. There is no "setting" to change, simply by using the s-video cables you are getting a better picture than composite because s-video seperates brightness and color. Component video supports both analog and digital transmission, so if you want higher resolution video you should invest in those cables.
    The Wii does support s-video, why do you think that the wii has a cable for it. And, also, there is no setting to change it to s-video, all you do is plug it up and play it. If there's no video, then connect it directly to the tv. Also, tighr, s-video runs at 480 is correct, but the composite is not needed to. In fact, some people claim that it runs at about 380-420 lines. One more thing, component is an analog signal, not digital signal.

  7. #7
    Wii-diculous tighr's Avatar
    Member #
    3507
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    28
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2254-6848-7088-9365
    The Wii does support S-Video. I was simply telling you that there is no setting on the Wii that needs to be changed in order to have it work.

    Are you having an issue getting your AV Receiver to display the Wii? If so, I would think the issue is with your receiver.

    Quote Originally Posted by Justinyoung
    Also, tighr, s-video runs at 480 is correct, but the composite is not needed to. In fact, some people claim that it runs at about 380-420 lines. One more thing, component is an analog signal, not digital signal.
    Component can indeed be a digital signal (the wikipedia article for component video cables), but I never said anything about it not being analog.

    Also, I was simply comparing s-video to composite cable by saying that it is 480i. In actuality, 480i is an ATSC standard, and both composite and s-video are NTSC standards ;-)

    Thanks for your input, though.
    Last edited by tighr; 01-03-2007 at 07:57 PM.

  8. #8
    WiiChat Member Justinyoung's Avatar
    Member #
    6451
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    33
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    =DD I thought that the digital component was converted back to digital, as in analog to digital to analog. Y/Cb/Cr is what i thought was a-d-a, while Y/Pb/Pr was just all analog. go figure

  9. #9
    Wii-Dev Oldschool Smasher's Avatar
    Member #
    8619
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    43
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Justinyoung
    =DD I thought that the digital component was converted back to digital, as in analog to digital to analog. Y/Cb/Cr is what i thought was a-d-a, while Y/Pb/Pr was just all analog. go figure
    Yeah thats where most people get confused. However is there any type of S-Video cable that can hook up directly to the Wii?
    --Gear-dev

  10. #10
    Wii-diculous tighr's Avatar
    Member #
    3507
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    28
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2254-6848-7088-9365
    Quote Originally Posted by Oldschool Smasher
    Is there any type of S-Video cable that can hook up directly to the Wii?
    Yes, I saw a React brand S-Video cable for the Wii at Best Buy last week. It was $19.99 or something along those lines. There has been an S-video adapter for every Nintendo system since at least the N64. The Gamecube was the first Nintendo system to support component cables and progressive video.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Component cables install to video switcher
    By gozdad in forum Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-27-2009, 10:23 AM
  2. component video cables
    By kwpoppy in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-19-2007, 02:07 PM
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-29-2007, 06:41 PM

Search tags for this page

can i run my wii using s video

,

does wii support s-video

,

does wii svideo cable support progressive

Click on a term to search for related topics.