LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member 241 boi's Avatar
    Member #
    12273
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    29
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    I was told to join this forum so tell me if i am still in the wrong forum PLEASE HELP

    Before i start i do know that there is other threads on this.

    I want to access the Nitendo Wii Internet shop but i have a few problems
    when i click on "Wii shop Channel" heres what comes up:


    Wii Shop Channel

    Shop for virtual Console Games
    &
    New Wii Channels



    You must configure your Internet settings to see this channel



    It gives me 2 options:
    1) Wii menu
    2) Enter Settings


    When i go to "Enter settings" heres what comes up:
    Connection Settings
    &
    Console information

    The console information will be listed below

    when i go to Connection Settings it gives me 3 connections so i click on the first one and it asks me
    "Wireless Connection"
    "wired Connection"
    i choose wireless connection because i am on a wireless connection
    then i click "search for an access point" put it comes up "None found" or something like that.

    but my internet connection works all over the house because we have a laptop even outside on the trampoline it works.

    so whats wrong?
    below here are the details

    My Wireless Network Connection: BTVOYAGER2091-8F
    Speed: 54Mbps
    Single Strength: the majority of the time its Excellent
    Wireless ASDL Router

    My MAC address is
    00-17-ab-45-c4-ab

    *i try to give you the most information i can and if you want any more information i will try and get it but i can't promise anything*

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Wii-diculous tighr's Avatar
    Member #
    3507
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    28
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2254-6848-7088-9365
    Does your wireless ADSL router have security or encryption enabled on it? If this is the case, you must ask whoever has the security key to give that to you. If it is MAC Address restricted, then you must enter your Wii's MAC Address into the router's MAC tables, and then your Wii will be able to access the wireless access point.

    However, as your Wii is not even able to detect the network, I'm not positive that either of these two situations is the case. What other information can you give us about your access point?

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member 241 boi's Avatar
    Member #
    12273
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    29
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by tighr
    Does your wireless ADSL router have security or encryption enabled on it? If this is the case, you must ask whoever has the security key to give that to you. If it is MAC Address restricted, then you must enter your Wii's MAC Address into the router's MAC tables, and then your Wii will be able to access the wireless access point.

    However, as your Wii is not even able to detect the network, I'm not positive that either of these two situations is the case. What other information can you give us about your access point?
    i have nearly given up all hope however how can i check if security or encryption is enabled on it?

  5. #4
    Wii-diculous tighr's Avatar
    Member #
    3507
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Bakersfield, CA
    Posts
    28
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2254-6848-7088-9365
    If you don't know yourself, then ask whoever set it up for you. Did someone else in your home set up the wireless connection?

  6. #5
    Wii noob Goots's Avatar
    Member #
    7048
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    175
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    It won't matter if you have the security turned on or off with the Voyager, the Wii should still see it, just not connect.

    The BT Voyager series don't work with Nintendo DS's, so I would hazard a guess they don't work with the Wii either.

    The DS can connect to the Voyager itself, but can't connect to the internet properly.

    I hope it's not this, but BT have a habit of using very restricted firmware and not giving any leeway on protocols.

    EDIT: I just found out that it's possible to manually turn the wireless on or off with that router from within the config pages. Are you sure your wireless is actually enabled ?
    Last edited by Goots; 01-06-2007 at 06:11 AM.


  7. #6
    WiiChat Member 241 boi's Avatar
    Member #
    12273
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    29
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by tighr
    If you don't know yourself, then ask whoever set it up for you. Did someone else in your home set up the wireless connection?
    i set the wii up myself

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member 241 boi's Avatar
    Member #
    12273
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    29
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Goots
    It won't matter if you have the security turned on or off with the Voyager, the Wii should still see it, just not connect.

    The BT Voyager series don't work with Nintendo DS's, so I would hazard a guess they don't work with the Wii either.

    The DS can connect to the Voyager itself, but can't connect to the internet properly.

    I hope it's not this, but BT have a habit of using very restricted firmware and not giving any leeway on protocols.

    EDIT: I just found out that it's possible to manually turn the wireless on or off with that router from within the config pages. Are you sure your wireless is actually enabled ?
    yes my wireless is enabled proberly

  9. #8
    The Johnny with a H! JohnnyNova's Avatar
    Member #
    6614
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Swansea
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7263-3247-0301-0792
    Try changing your wireless channel to channel 11. Have you tried adding an extra wireless connection?

  10. #9
    WiiChat Member 241 boi's Avatar
    Member #
    12273
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    29
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyNova
    Try changing your wireless channel to channel 11. Have you tried adding an extra wireless connection?
    i am not quite sure how to do that

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-13-2007, 04:15 AM

Search tags for this page

wii shop channel encryption

Click on a term to search for related topics.