LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member wiirag's Avatar
    Member #
    14377
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    wii widescreen question

    I was wondering if you guys can help me. The wii will not display in widescreen. do i need the component cables for this or can i just use composite and get widescreen and not 480p. I have ordered the component cables online and waiting. i checked the manual and i've done everything they say. I have tried using two different lcd tv's and nothing. Seems like a waste of screen specially for split screen boxing and zelda.

  2. #2
    WiiChat Member dreamcastrocks's Avatar
    Member #
    11685
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    83
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by wiirag
    I was wondering if you guys can help me. The wii will not display in widescreen. do i need the component cables for this or can i just use composite and get widescreen and not 480p. I have ordered the component cables online and waiting. i checked the manual and i've done everything they say. I have tried using two different lcd tv's and nothing. Seems like a waste of screen specially for split screen boxing and zelda.
    You need component cables.

  3. #3
    Wii & DFI acphydro's Avatar
    Member #
    11823
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    423
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7791-8243-5459-4780
    Quote Originally Posted by dreamcastrocks
    You need component cables.
    Mine displayed in widescreen just fine with the composite cables. I upgraded to component just for 480p.
    DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert (ocz tony's latest)
    AMD Opteron 165 Denmark CCBBE 0615 EPMW w/ Corsair Nautilus 500 @ 322x9@ 1.45v
    2x Patriot 1024MB PC-4000 [3-4-4-8]
    XFX Geforce 7900GS Extreme 256MB PCI-E x16 @ 620/820
    Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Gamer Edition
    Seagate 750GB - SATA | Maxtor 200GB - PATA
    NEC Black DVD+/-RW ND-3550A - | Lite on DVD+/-RW SOHW 1633S
    OCZ GameXStream 600watt

  4. #4
    WiiChat Member rwhit_2007's Avatar
    Member #
    12995
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    48
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Isn't there an option under setup to choose 16x9... (you might have already done this since you said you did everything that the manual said)

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member wiirag's Avatar
    Member #
    14377
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    that's the first thing i did. The manual said some tv's still will not display 16x9. I find it hard to believe cause everything else is fine. And we have two wii's and two different lcd brands sharp and sony. I've tried all possible combinations so i know the wii's aren't bad. Nintendo website doesn't help either.

  6. #6
    Super Gario GaryT85's Avatar
    Member #
    12856
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Langley, Berks
    Posts
    547
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    its your tv then..

    the wii will display widescreen format no problems using the standard cables, and you say have already set the wii to do this.

    that means you will have to shange the tvs setting whilst on the wii's video source. (i have a samsung and it refers to it as screen size, there is a button on the remote that changes between them with a push of a button... you may have similar on yours, or have to enter the tv's picture/display settings)

  7. #7
    WiiChat Member wiirag's Avatar
    Member #
    14377
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I tried calling sharp they say the tv displays only what it's fed and there is no special button to change it from 16:9 to 4:3. Just want to know if anyone else has a sharp or sony lcd that has the same problem

  8. #8
    Junior Member Bummy's Avatar
    Member #
    14764
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I am seeing the same thing with my sony TV and the composite cables. I can change the TV settings to wide mode (just like w/ any 4:3 input) but it looks like it is just stretching the picture - not sure if the Wii is really putting out a 16:9 signal. How can I tell?

  9. #9
    Wii & DFI acphydro's Avatar
    Member #
    11823
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    423
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7791-8243-5459-4780
    That really sucks. It's gotta be a TV issue, I can't see any other things with the Wii you can do unless your Wii is defective. Maybe see if you can try it on a friends TV if they've got a Widescreen TV. See if it works on theirs or not then you'll be able to rule out the Wii and know its your TVs.

    Some LCDs dont do 16:9 instead they do 16:10 which could be the problem. My dad's 19" Widescreen does 16:10 resulting in a funny widescreen effect. Probably a lot more noticable on a bigger screen. Lots of LCD's are like this. If you want links proving this I can dig some up.
    DFI Lanparty UT NF4 SLI-DR Expert (ocz tony's latest)
    AMD Opteron 165 Denmark CCBBE 0615 EPMW w/ Corsair Nautilus 500 @ 322x9@ 1.45v
    2x Patriot 1024MB PC-4000 [3-4-4-8]
    XFX Geforce 7900GS Extreme 256MB PCI-E x16 @ 620/820
    Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS Gamer Edition
    Seagate 750GB - SATA | Maxtor 200GB - PATA
    NEC Black DVD+/-RW ND-3550A - | Lite on DVD+/-RW SOHW 1633S
    OCZ GameXStream 600watt

  10. #10
    Custom User Title (TM) MaXiMiUS's Avatar
    Member #
    6645
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC, Canada.
    Posts
    265
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2573-4546-5926-8361
    Widescreen worked fine for me in 480i with composite. Widescreen also worked fine for me in 480i with component, and currently still works fine for me in 480p!

    Only thing that seems a bit odd is I notice vertical scanlines with 480p.. maybe it's my component cables.. or my TV.. or just something to do with 480p, since it didn't happen in 480i, under any conditions.

    Nonetheless, 480p w/ component has considerably better color definition and much less blurry (almost to a point of "shit I actually wish I could add some blur here, it was like antialiasing, haha") than 480i w/ composite.
    Owned: Excite Truck [8 GRP], Wii Sports [6G, 7R, 8P], Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess [9G, 5RP], Elebits [7GR, 5P], Wii Play [5G, 8RP], The Godfather: Blackhand Edition [10G, 9R, 7P], Super Paper Mario [8G, 6R, 5P], SSX Blur [10 GRP].
    Rented: Rayman Raving Rabbids [6G, 7R, 9P].
    Wanted: Resident Evil 4, no Wii games currently.

    G = Gameplay Rating, R = Replay Value, P = Party Rating, all out of 10.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Suitable LCD Widescreen Monitor for Wii Gaming
    By Stifler in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2007, 03:49 PM
  2. Strikers sensor problem on widescreen HD TV
    By draugen in forum Mario Strikers Charged
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-07-2007, 03:35 AM
  3. Guns and swords...with some points
    By video game master in forum Nintendo Wii Gaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-04-2007, 10:05 PM
  4. Hotel Dusk: Help me!
    By Deathmetalmaster in forum Nintendo DS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-06-2007, 02:02 PM
  5. Widescreen and the wii
    By canis44 in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-19-2006, 08:57 AM

Search tags for this page

composite widescreen
,
do i need component cables for wii widescreen
,
nintendo wii widescreen
,
widescreen setting in wii stretches screen vertically
,
wii composite widescreen
,
wii widescreen composite
,

wii widescreen not working

,
wii widescreen with composite cable
Click on a term to search for related topics.