LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member wiijunkie's Avatar
    Member #
    13622
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Virginia Beach
    Posts
    14
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    hdmi cable for wii!!

    okay not really, but yeah....kind of? I just bought a denon avr 887 reciever (badass) One of it's features is video upconverting. It takes every input from dvd players, cable boxes, and yes the Wii from s video and component and upgrades them to hdmi out. You of course need to buy the cable but it doesn't need to be made for the Wii. I was excited and wanted to let someone know!

  2. #2
    !SUPERMOD! *blu mushroom* mk_south_london's Avatar
    Member #
    11839
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    608
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7195-7874-4951-1917
    ok, so wot..does this thing make 720p?

    YOU SUCK^^^^

  3. #3
    WiiChat Member wiijunkie's Avatar
    Member #
    13622
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Virginia Beach
    Posts
    14
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    just wanted the best connection I could get. My tv says that it is coming in at 1080i but I think thats because I'm using the hdmi cable

  4. #4
    WiiChat Member GreenEnvy's Avatar
    Member #
    11618
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    94
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    the best connection you'll get for the Wii is using the component cables directly for 480p.
    Anything else is inferior for the Wii. Having a device upscale loses quality in the process, sticking it onto an HDMI cable does nothing to improve quality.

  5. #5
    old skool krenshaw's Avatar
    Member #
    15504
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    65
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    yeah, all that lets you do is just make it so only one cable is needed to connect into you tv.. i have the same thing with components from my receiver.. though it is nice because the same channel is used for all video inputs
    Super Mario Brothers - The Legend of Zelda
    Super Mario World - Super Mario 64
    Zelda, A Link to the Past - Mario Kart 64
    Ocarina of Time

  6. #6
    Super Gario GaryT85's Avatar
    Member #
    12856
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Langley, Berks
    Posts
    547
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    out of interest, can you set the box to give out the actual resolution?

    so set it to keep putting wii out at 480p? whilst switching to xbox would go to 720p/1080i if you wanted?

    i got a component switchbox, and was looking for something of a higher quality, i was in a rush so got a fairly cheap thing on ebay..

  7. #7
    Television Consultant Jorge's Avatar
    Member #
    16765
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    478
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0554-7647-3242-2709
    Component cables straight to the television are going to give you the best picture. Don't waste money trying to use HDMI cables or external upconverters.


    Proud Wii-S3 owner
    PS3: Guitar Hero III, Heavenly Sword, Lair, Oblivion, Resistance:Fall of Man, Motorstorm, Skate
    Wii: Call of Duty 3, Excite Truck, Mario Party 8, Red Steel, Sonic & the Secret Rings
    SSX Blur, Super Mario Galaxy, Super Paper Mario, WiiPlay, WiiSports, Zelda: Twilight Princess
    PS2: FF-X and FF-XII, Gran Turismo 4, Gretzky NHL '06, Guitar Hero II, Jak & Daxter, Ratchet & Clank, Shadow of the Colossus, and Sly Cooper
    DS: NEW Super Mario Bros. and Pokemon Diamond


  8. #8
    Wii Power User Wiiaretheworld's Avatar
    Member #
    4406
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    67
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    If you want 1080, get an XBOX 360 or a PS3.

  9. #9
    Super Gario GaryT85's Avatar
    Member #
    12856
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Langley, Berks
    Posts
    547
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    i dont think anyone is going to buy a new game system just because they 'want 1080'

    (unless its the n64.......bad joke i know)

    anyway i have an xbox 360, and i know a direct connection will always be the most reliable. thing is, i only have one component input on my tv, thats why i was asking about this thing

  10. #10
    Junior Member invisible21's Avatar
    Member #
    17469
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    ATL, GA
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    You kind of answered the question yourself...the receiver is just 'upconverting'...basically doubling the number of lines going to your tv by repeating the information on the previous line. This may smooth out some jagged edges but the Wii still won't be outputting in 480p, the option isn't even available unless you are using component cables. If you're really worried about not having enough inputs, they sell dedicated game system switchers for $100-$200 depending on the number/type of inputs you need.

    Basically, upconverting anything is like 'faking' the higher resolution...if you already bought the receiver, your best bet is to buy a set of Wii component cables and hook it into one of the component inputs of your receiver. That way the Wii is outputting in it's highest resolution AND upconverting...the best of both worlds!

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. HD Component or S-Video Cable? HDMI??
    By Moonknight in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-27-2009, 12:31 PM
  2. Wii and Component Cable
    By pmaciver in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-25-2008, 09:53 PM
  3. what cable do I need for wii audio to receiver
    By happyallday in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-06-2007, 09:51 AM
  4. Worst with component cable or
    By wuju in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 09:14 AM

Search tags for this page

16' hdmi cable for wii

,

connecting the wii to a denon avr 887

,

do i need hdmi cables for wii guitar hero

,

hdmi cable for guitar hero on wii

,

hdmi connection for wii

,

hmi cable for wii guitar hero

,

nintendo inputs to hdmi cable

,

which is better for playing guitar hero on wii hdmi cable or component

,

wii upconverting hdmi jaggies

Click on a term to search for related topics.