LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    }GHS{Chewie Chewie's Avatar
    Member #
    13815
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    South of Seattle
    Posts
    56
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Stuck in 480p Mode - Can't See Anything

    So yeah, like a knucklehead that I am, I bought component cables and had things going great for a couple of weeks on my 27" Sony WEGA CRT.

    Then this evening I decide I would set it in 480p mode and hit "Confirm"

    Big mistake. Now I can't see anything and can't see enough through the garbled screen to set it back.

    Is there a way to totally reset the console hardware back to 480i. An "reset switch" so to speak. And yes I already tried the red reset button as well as totally removing the power cable and restarting the Wii.

    Help please. And thanks in advance to anyone who comes forward to save my butt.

    -Chewie

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Banned Sovieto's Avatar
    Member #
    883
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    6,585
    Friends
    4
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    well i think part of the problem is is that your tv might not a hdtv?
    and as for getting it back to normal..use a different tv?

    Everything in this signature except for this text was made by Wiired, he is my creator and almighty.

  4. #3
    }GHS{Chewie Chewie's Avatar
    Member #
    13815
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    South of Seattle
    Posts
    56
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Sovieto
    well i think part of the problem is is that your tv might not a hdtv?
    and as for getting it back to normal..use a different tv?
    Yeah, no, I'm painfully aware of the fact that my WEGA is not an HD model. I don't know what I was thinking experimenting with that setting...

    I'm going to disconnect it and take it over to my father in law's house and try plugging it into his HDTV.

    -Chewie

  5. #4
    Junior Member NathanC5's Avatar
    Member #
    16967
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    All you have to do is reconnect your composite cables and start it up. The Wii will revert to 480i and after that you can reconnect your component cables and you'll be good to go. Happened to me, no big deal.

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member oliveryochest's Avatar
    Member #
    18473
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    12
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4820-9301-7908-2765
    you can also take out the battery for about 10 minutes
    that should set everything back to default

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member anark's Avatar
    Member #
    15306
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    31
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5636-7810-2729-9129
    take the battery outta the wii console? ...how do you do that? lol

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member oliveryochest's Avatar
    Member #
    18473
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    12
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4820-9301-7908-2765

  9. #8
    }GHS{Chewie Chewie's Avatar
    Member #
    13815
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    South of Seattle
    Posts
    56
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Thanks to everyone for the suggestions. I took it over to the father in laws house before I saw the suggestion about plugging in my old VGA cables.

    Problem solved. Sure did look even better on his 720p television for about 30 seconds before I turned it back off and got the heck out of there.

    -Chewie

  10. #9
    Junior Member dhodson's Avatar
    Member #
    19303
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    ive tried connecting this to my 32 inch lcdtv via component cables in regular 480i and hd 480p modes and i cant tell the difference. i decided to go back to regular mode since i have limited hd connections available. does anyone else have similar experience or is it just me. by the way i only have wiisports at the moment.

  11. #10
    Wii Nerd gamechaser001's Avatar
    Member #
    7118
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    432
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2291-3059-0957-1397
    1. There is no red reset button, the only reset button is the reset you press if the coneole freezes or something, that is the one under the power button, the red button of which you speak of is the Wii-mote sync button, that will not reset your Wii

    2. Yeah, just take it over to your father-in-law's HDTV and fix it there, when I got my Wii componet cable, I never had a problem like that, only problem I had was the fact the games I have are not HD quality (which Nintendo games are?), I also plugged it into my friend's HD CRT TV with no problems


    No spamming referral links - Further attempts at advertising will not be tolerated. kthx

    If you know anything about LEDs please put input, click on the link beliw, I can really use the help
    http://www.wiichat.com/nintendo-wii-...tml#post149729

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

how to reset the hd setting on a wii
,
i swictched my wii to 480i
,
plexiglass
,
reset wii to 480i
,
resetar 480i wii
,
resetting wii to 480i
,
wii 480i reset
,

wii stuck in 480p

,
wii stuck in hd
,

wii stuck in hd mode

,
wii stuck on 480p
,
wii stuck on hdmi mode
Click on a term to search for related topics.