LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wii with DVI

  1. #1
    Junior Member seraph3000's Avatar
    Member #
    21265
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wii with DVI

    Hey guys

    I'm kinda new to all this TV stuff, I've read all I could find on the subject, but in the end I still had to make a post, sorry!

    I own a Wii and a Phillips Widescreen flat TV 32PF9976/12 http://www.pricerunner.fr/pi/2-23058...ations-produit

    I'd like to know if it's possible to connect my Wii to the TV's DVI input, either with a component to DVI cable like this http://www.gottohav.co.uk/proddetail.asp?prod=RCADVII or a scaler box.

    Please keep your explanations simple, I'm kinda dumb on the subject

    Cheers from Portugal!

  2. #2
    Wii Player Retman's Avatar
    Member #
    20990
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    418
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7002-2691-0805-1516
    That one you linked to couldn't fit into the Wii, The Wii uses Scart, component and composite


    Pokemon Diamond: 3608 8338 6172

    Spoiler Alert!

  3. #3
    Junior Member seraph3000's Avatar
    Member #
    21265
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    You mean the TV or the cable? If it's the cable, I'd attach it to a Wii component cable, ofc

  4. #4
    Wii Player Retman's Avatar
    Member #
    20990
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    418
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7002-2691-0805-1516
    Quote Originally Posted by seraph3000
    You mean the TV or the cable? If it's the cable, I'd attach it to a Wii component cable, ofc
    What? ill repeat myself again:

    The Wii uses Scart, component and composite cables


    Pokemon Diamond: 3608 8338 6172

    Spoiler Alert!

  5. #5
    Junior Member seraph3000's Avatar
    Member #
    21265
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I know, so my question is whether or not there is any way to adapt any of those (namely component) to DVI

  6. #6
    Wii Player Retman's Avatar
    Member #
    20990
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    418
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7002-2691-0805-1516
    I don't know so i asked my other friend and he said:

    well, you could buy a fancy HD DVD player and play it through that I suppose. . .
    or you could be overly complicated, and buy a DVI to RGB (moniter) converter and then see if you can get hold of a RGB to scart converter.


    Pokemon Diamond: 3608 8338 6172

    Spoiler Alert!

  7. #7
    WiiChat Member iceblade's Avatar
    Member #
    10450
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    102
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by seraph3000
    Hey guys

    I'm kinda new to all this TV stuff, I've read all I could find on the subject, but in the end I still had to make a post, sorry!

    I own a Wii and a Phillips Widescreen flat TV 32PF9976/12 http://www.pricerunner.fr/pi/2-23058...ations-produit

    I'd like to know if it's possible to connect my Wii to the TV's DVI input, either with a component to DVI cable like this http://www.gottohav.co.uk/proddetail.asp?prod=RCADVII or a scaler box.

    Please keep your explanations simple, I'm kinda dumb on the subject

    Cheers from Portugal!
    Since your TV has DVI-I you can probably use the component to DVI-I cable

  8. #8
    WiiChat Member mym6's Avatar
    Member #
    14719
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ND USA
    Posts
    342
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    If you're TV has component input, just use the component input. You will not get a better picture going over the DVI since the Wii is only output 480p, component cables are very capable of that.

  9. #9
    Wii Nerd gamechaser001's Avatar
    Member #
    7118
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    432
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2291-3059-0957-1397
    Like mym6 said, if you have componet on the television, just use componet, the Wii can't support anything over 480p, so trying to use DVI to get a better picture will not do anything

    If you are using a computer monitor, or your television does not support componet, buy a componet cable for the Wii and plug it into the componet-DVI converter to your your TV or monitor


    No spamming referral links - Further attempts at advertising will not be tolerated. kthx

    If you know anything about LEDs please put input, click on the link beliw, I can really use the help
    http://www.wiichat.com/nintendo-wii-...tml#post149729

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

component to dvi wii
,
dvi cable for wii
,
wii cable dvi
,
wii component cable to dvi
,
wii component dvi
,

wii component to dvi

,
wii dvi
,

wii dvi cable

,
wii dvi kabel
,
wii dvi-d cable
,
wii to dvi
,

wii to dvi cable

Click on a term to search for related topics.