LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member Atr3yu's Avatar
    Member #
    23152
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wii w/ Computer LCD

    Hey! First post!

    My TV died and I'm about to replace my computer monitor w/ a sick new samsung 22" LCD. I'm hoping there is a way for me to play the way on the monitor.

    I'm thinking ... a PCI TV Tuner? Would that work? It would need RCA in then, right? I've been looking at em on Newegg & TigerDirect but I'm not exactly sure what I would need.

    Can anyone point me in the right direction?

    Thanks!
    Atr3yu

  2. #2
    Wii or not to Wii rtr1900's Avatar
    Member #
    5367
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Spain
    Posts
    234
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3085-1225-3534-6165
    This is the kind of cable you might want to buy to conect thr RCA to a Computer LCD screen http://www.computercasesandcables.com/ccc/CV-25120.html
    And for the sound you might want to use one of these http://www.welovemacs.com/5502ttcc.html

    Good luck
    Signed.Johny
    Wii (was the first and only client and the first who bought it on launchday,9/12/2006, waited 10 minutes) 2 Extra Wiiremotes Plus + 2 Nunchakus + CLassic Game Controller + 1GB SD + WiiFit + GH + Band Rock (drum + Guitar) + 2 micros + Dj Hero + 2 Toy Story Zap Guns + Lasergun + Wifi Keyboard + Family Trainer + WiiBike
    Games: Too many to sum here

  3. #3
    WiiChat Member astrophysicist's Avatar
    Member #
    14507
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    31
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    No, that cable deal actually won't work at all. That's for a video card that can display on a regular TV, but lacks that output. It WILL NOT do the conversion itself. You'll just end up with a bunch of garbled lines with no visible picture.

    I point you to a review I did a while back. You'll need a box of some sort, and this is one of the best for the price, particularly if you want HD.
    Last edited by astrophysicist; 05-04-2007 at 08:04 AM.

  4. #4
    Frost-bitten Nemix's Avatar
    Member #
    660
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    274
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    yes, TV turner from ATI would work. my Theatre 550 Pro has composite/s-video in), maybe the newer 650 Pro has component. Or you can just get a new video card that has video in (composite/s-video/component). with TV tuner you'll need software (Power Cinema), don't think you'll need software if it's a videocard with video in (i forget). Both ways you'll need speakers unless your LCD has built in speakers which could plug directly to your soundcard/tv tuner which ever is used...
    Last edited by Nemix; 05-04-2007 at 11:09 AM.

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member dchao's Avatar
    Member #
    21986
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    112
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    The average PC monitor has a VGA input and maybe a DVI input. But the Wii has a component YPrPb output, so there is no match. To convert the Wii signal to compatible PC monitor signal requires a speciallized hardware (called the transcoder).

    Here is one (KDS ClearVideo3)

    This transcoder will convert the the YPrPb component signal from Wii to the VGA/RGB signal used by the monitor. (Note: VGA is just non-interlaced/progressive RGB). Retail price over $300 - however now discountinued.

    Review:
    http://www.audaud.com/audaud/JUN04/component/comp2.html

    it's available on eBay from time to time:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=150119382946
    Last edited by dchao; 05-04-2007 at 12:20 PM.

  6. #6
    Frost-bitten Nemix's Avatar
    Member #
    660
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    274
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    the above word work, without PC. i was gonna recommend that but thought the price didn't go down yet, was gonna buy that for my now sold XBox.

  7. #7
    WiiChat Member David328ci's Avatar
    Member #
    20597
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    265
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Kind of makes me wonder why there isn't a vga cable for Wii because there is for Xbo 360.

    "I love the Power Glove...it's so bad." - Lucas Barton

  8. #8
    Wii360 FTW !!!!! Wii-licious's Avatar
    Member #
    12981
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    209
    Friends
    4
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1111-1111-1111-1111
    you can always buy a LCD TV with a VGA input....

    but it will limit the resolution for your computer to 1360*768(xvga) or 1024*768 (vga) depend on the tv you choose !?!

    PLUS !!!! IT WILL MORE EXPENSIVE TO BUY (WAY MORE EXPENSIVE THEN A LCD MONITOR) LOL
    Last edited by Wii-licious; 05-04-2007 at 12:55 PM.
    [CENTER]

  9. #9
    WiiChat Member dchao's Avatar
    Member #
    21986
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    112
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by David328ci
    Kind of makes me wonder why there isn't a vga cable for Wii because there is for Xbo 360.
    Acutally there is. It's available for the European market, the PAL version Wii. So I am assuming the hardware is capable of producing the RGB component signals to feed your VGA cable. To enable it on an US NTSC Wii, you probably need some internal hacks.

    Official PAL RGB SCART cable:
    http://nfggames.com/forum/index.php?...20&#entry16842
    Last edited by dchao; 05-04-2007 at 01:31 PM.

  10. #10
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Except that the sync is on the green channel of the scart connector and most vga monitors dont support this. Look at the efforts to get a vga signal out of classic game consoles and you will see how many of the attempts failed.


    ATR3YU: Try to get an Audio Authority 9A65

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts