LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member eic's Avatar
    Member #
    23679
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Please help: Does the Wii (USA) work on Indian televisions?

    Hi all,

    My first post here. I'm from India, currently in the US and I recently purchased a Wii for my brother back in India.

    I'm wondering whether I did the right thing. I have a Videocon TV set in India and I'm not sure whether the Wii puechased here in US will work on the Indian TV set.

    If not, is there anything special that I need for it to work back there?

    Any info will be much appreciated.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I'm very sure that India uses PAL. The US Wii outputs NTSC so unless his TV is multiformat he may need a converter.

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member dchao's Avatar
    Member #
    21986
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    112
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Newer high-end PAL TV's do support multi-formats (NTSC/PAL), if you have one, then just connect to the VIDEO port on your TV set.

    It's impossible to get consumer NTSC/PAL converters, as they are expensive, and only used by the TV broadcasters.

  5. #4
    Rajeev rajeevgupta.leo's Avatar
    Member #
    23992
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hi All.

    I have a very similar query what Mr eic has for all of us. I am from india and planning to have Wii from USA .. My question to all my worthy friends is : does Wii purchased from USA will play on my India Television ... i checked in on that specifications of my Telvision model ... i have SONY Television model KV-DA29M80/50 which has support for color system : AUTO , PAL , SECAM , NTSC3.58 , NTSC4.40. Please tell me / guide me about the same whether Wii and Wii games purchased from USA will be playable on this Television or not. Thanks in advance for your help ... Please let me know your answers / concerns / any workaround / as soon as possible ..

    Looking forward to hear from my friends ...

    Thanks
    Rajeev

  6. #5
    Banned rishi 20's Avatar
    Member #
    20101
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    england, london
    Posts
    389
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    yea u should be safe

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member dchao's Avatar
    Member #
    21986
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    112
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hi Rajeev,

    I looked it up on the Internet, and got the specs on your TV

    http://www.sony.com.cn/electronics/w...6_ENG_HTML.htm

    It's HD-Ready and has two component inputs (Y.Pb.Pr). What you should do is to order a component cable with your US Wii. And you won't even have to worry about NTSC or PAL Go HD

  8. #7
    Rajeev rajeevgupta.leo's Avatar
    Member #
    23992
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wii USA working on Indian Television...

    Thanks buddy ... it gives me such a relief.. hey if u have any other useful information related with Wii please share as i am very much new to all this and would appreciate to contribute more to this community and your efforts..

    Thanks again..

    Looking forward for more useful informations from your side and other side of the world...

    Thanks

    Take care
    Bye
    Rajeev

  9. #8
    Junior Member ArunJen's Avatar
    Member #
    31017
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    In order to plug the wii for the power supply, is just an adapter plug enough or do we need a transformer plug to convert the indian 240v down to the usa 110v power req.

    Unlike laptops and shavers which do not need a power transformer (just an adapter for the plug to fit into the round indian sockets), does anyone know if a transformer plug is required?

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

bought sony wii will it work in india tv
,
can i play wii in india
,
can wii be played on indian tvs?
,

does nintendo wii from us work in india

,
does nintendo wii ntsc work in india
,
does wii purchased in india will work in usa
,
indian tv on wii
,
us wii india
,

wii games work in indian tv

,
wii india
,
will nintendo wii ntsc work in india
,
will wii work in india
Click on a term to search for related topics.