LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member prime_vci's Avatar
    Member #
    25710
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Component problem

    I just got a wii yesterday "finally found some" and i go to hook it up with some component cable i go to turn the wii on and i see no picture, i tired putting it on another set of compnent the "hd input" on my tv and it just does the wavie thing and cant read any of it, so i try the normal av cable and it shows video i was wondering if anyone has had this problem?

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Junior Member prime_vci's Avatar
    Member #
    25710
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    ok i have one more question is there anyway to get it 480p on boot uop with out halfing tio switch it in the menu so my hdtv inputs will detect that and display it right..?

  4. #3
    Mau
    Mau is offline
    WiiChat Member Mau's Avatar
    Member #
    18716
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    633
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8829-6844-1117-2743
    question, what brand are those component cables?


    "Theres is nothing impossible, just men incapable." (N/A)

    Brawl FC: 2921-8755-4852, If you add me pm me.

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member thetrufinder's Avatar
    Member #
    25530
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    23
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    From my knowlegde you cant change it to 480p on start up
    you can try: booting up with composite cables (the one included) going to settings and changing it to 480p then turning off your wii and trying the component cables

    and If you doesnt solved your problem:

    1. Check if your tvs support the 480p resolution (even though you have an hdtv it might not support it)

    2. Faulty component cables?
    It may be the component cables are faulty, try them on a friend/neighbours/family member's hdtv and if it works then your tv has a problem

    Its probably one of the two

  6. #5
    Junior Member prime_vci's Avatar
    Member #
    25710
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Yea thats the problem my tv is acting a little wird my normal compnent cable inputs i cannot get to work and that only leaves me with the hi-def component cable input witch wont display 480I for some reason so i jsut get a bunch of jagged edge i geuss my onyl real option at this point is to jsut go with s-video and be happy with that

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member thetrufinder's Avatar
    Member #
    25530
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    23
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    your wii came with.. composite cables (480i, as in yellow, white, red) not component cables (480p)

    i havent heard of normal composite cables not working with a wii, but if these two dont work with your wii maybe you shouldnt try your luck with s-video

  8. #7
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Try only connecting the Y cable (usually colored green) to a composite inpt (usually yellow) and you should get a doubled black and white picture.

  9. #8
    WiiChat Member mym6's Avatar
    Member #
    14719
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ND USA
    Posts
    342
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by thetrufinder
    your wii came with.. composite cables (480i, as in yellow, white, red) not component cables (480p)

    i havent heard of normal composite cables not working with a wii, but if these two dont work with your wii maybe you shouldnt try your luck with s-video
    His OP mentions the use of a pair of cables, so I assume that means he has the component and composite cables.

    The component cables include 5 plugs, 3 for the video and 2 for the audio. Make sure you're not mixing up the two red plugs (one is for audio). The Wii automatically switches to 480p when the component cables are plugged in and the only thing you need to do after that is tell it whether or not to display in widescreen. If you have an HDTV, then you want to set it to widescreen.

    If you're using the actual component cables and your TV is capable of 480p (very unlikely that it can't) and it doesn't look right, make sure you have matched the colors (blue and green are easy to mix up!)

  10. #9
    WiiChat Member dchao's Avatar
    Member #
    21986
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    112
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Looks like an on going problem, Nintendo doesn't have a fix for it yet. You may want to refer to this thread, and see if you can find anything:

    http://forums.nintendo.com/nintendo/...cending&page=1

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

cant read 480p on wii

,

wii boot up av cables

,

wii component cable color problem

,

wii composite color error

,

wii no color component cable

,

wii wont display color 480

,

wii wont display color thorugh component

Click on a term to search for related topics.