LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Junior Member bmagin's Avatar
    Member #
    32834
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    connecting to HDTV

    Basic question on connecting to an HDTV w/ component cables...

    I have a 42'' plasma and just got the wii component cables. Problem is the TV is mounted on the wall and it will be nearly impossible to connect.

    Is there a way to connect the component cables directly from the receiver to the wii?

    Sorry, not an A/V wiz..

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    WiiChat Member mym6's Avatar
    Member #
    14719
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ND USA
    Posts
    342
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Is the receiver hooked up to the TV? If the receiver is hooked up to the TV with some sort of video cable then yes, you should be able to do that.

  4. #3
    Junior Member bmagin's Avatar
    Member #
    32834
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    The receiver and the TV are connected to the cable box...should I be connecting the wii through the cable box?

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member PumaYaYa's Avatar
    Member #
    31010
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    50
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4962-6891-3145-7510
    I can't believe this is being asked. Let someone who knows do it.
    Wii Code: 4962-6891-3145-7510

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member GreenEnvy's Avatar
    Member #
    11618
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    94
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    It depends on how your system is hooked up.

    If the video and audio output of the digital box is hooked into the receiver, and the output of the receiver goes to the TV, then yes, assuming your receiver has Component inputs on it, and it is using component cabled to go to the TV, you can hook the Wii into the component inputs on the receiver, and then select that input on the receiver, and you should be good to go.

    If it's hooked up where the picture from the digital box goes directly to the TV, and just audio is sent to the receiver, then you will have to pull down the TV (assuming to side inputs) and hook the Wii into it.

  7. #6
    Junior Member bmagin's Avatar
    Member #
    32834
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    GreenEnvy....thanks for the help. Really appreciate it, this is definitely the case.

  8. #7
    Junior Member leslieinva's Avatar
    Member #
    33010
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    GreenEnvy,

    Thanks for addressing this question; it's one I had too.

    Do you know what equipment I would need if I have my receiver & Wii box were in another room? The receiver will be operated by a radio frequency remote, but how would Wii get the signals from the controllers?

    Thanks!

  9. #8
    WiiChat Member JBWIII's Avatar
    Member #
    32636
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    18
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by leslieinva
    GreenEnvy,

    Thanks for addressing this question; it's one I had too.

    Do you know what equipment I would need if I have my receiver & Wii box were in another room? The receiver will be operated by a radio frequency remote, but how would Wii get the signals from the controllers?

    Thanks!
    You could probably do this with a wireless sensor bar. (The sensor bar actually only shines light at the wii remote--the wii remote sends all of its data to the wii via radio frequency.)

  10. #9
    Super Gario GaryT85's Avatar
    Member #
    12856
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Langley, Berks
    Posts
    547
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    that and as long as you are not too far away for the bluetooth connection between the controllers and the console to be active..

  11. #10
    WiiChat Member toxigenic's Avatar
    Member #
    32290
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    24
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Operating range for the Wiimotes is approx 35 feet.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

connecting hdtv to a wii

Click on a term to search for related topics.