LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 44
  1. #21
    Anglophobiphile Brawny's Avatar
    Member #
    8228
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Posts
    6,546
    Friends
    24
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    Everything can be displayed widescreen, but the GAMES have to take advantage of it. Zelda comes to mind. You DO see more than the GC version.

  2. Ads


  3. #22
    Junior Member Yodwinder's Avatar
    Member #
    39081
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Brawny
    Hmmmmmmm

    Want to give the exact model number? As the only lcd in a "projection" TV is a front projector....

    What inputs are there? So you still have black bars?

    You used 4 periods in an ellipse!

  4. #23
    Anglophobiphile Brawny's Avatar
    Member #
    8228
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Posts
    6,546
    Friends
    24
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    Your first post? I'm sensing a dupe account?

    And I'm glad you brought it up, as maybe it's a shred of hope that people are becoming more aware of posts. (Not just mine).

  5. #24
    WiiChat Member dalesd's Avatar
    Member #
    38851
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    28
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Yodwinder
    You used 4 periods in an ellipse!
    That's correct. An Ellipsis is three dots, and if it ends a sentence, you add the punctuation that would conclude the sentence. In this case, a period.

    I had to set my Toshiba HDTV from Native to Full to get rid of the black bars on the screen.

  6. #25
    WiiChat Member sbarrett4's Avatar
    Member #
    55590
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I realize I am digging up a semi-old thread here but I have a similar issue. I just bought a Sony Bravia (KDL-40S4100) and hooked the Wii up to it directly with component cables. I changed my Wii settings to 16:9 widescreen and EDTV/HDTV 480p. The TV recognizes the signal as 480p, but the Wii defaults to 4:3 (black bars on the sides) unless I change the 4:3 default on the TV to "Full". Then it changes to what I believe is true 16:9, not just a stretched 4:3 picture. The problem is that changing the 4:3 default on the TV causes my DVD player and standard def channels to be stretched, which I don't really want. When the TV's 4:3 default is on "Normal" they are not stretched, but the Wii is sort of squished.

    Why is the Wii not automatically shown in widescreen format? I have that selected as its format, so why do I have to "force" it by changing the TV setting and messing up other devices' aspect ratios? I'd prefer to simply set my TV, DVD, and Wii preferences and leave them alone, not change them based on what I am watching.

  7. #26
    www.hencam.co.uk hencam[uk]'s Avatar
    Member #
    38380
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    75
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    TV's can't auto-switch or detect widescreen/4:3 signals using Component because there are no spare wires to carry the signal in a Component cable.

    If you want the Wii/TV combination to auto-switch, you'll have to use a RGB Scart cable (if you are in the UK).

  8. #27
    WiiChat Member sbarrett4's Avatar
    Member #
    55590
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by hencam[uk] View Post
    TV's can't auto-switch or detect widescreen/4:3 signals using Component because there are no spare wires to carry the signal in a Component cable.

    If you want the Wii/TV combination to auto-switch, you'll have to use a RGB Scart cable (if you are in the UK).
    I am in the US, but thanks for explaining the reasoning. As long as I know I set it up properly, I can deal with switching the aspect ratio as needed. I'll just leave it on Full screen for now since I use the Wii more often than the DVD player or SD channels.

  9. #28
    WiiChat Member sprinter's Avatar
    Member #
    57908
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Iowa U.S.A.
    Posts
    81
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8622-4911-2881-8614
    Strange. All my settings are the same, and everything displays widescreen as it should. I'm curious though... my TV allows for a input by input setting. Meaning I can set the one the 360 is connected to, to normal, the Wii input to wide, or whatever etc...

    My friend has a 60" Sony Bravia, and I'm 99% sure his is the same, it allows for adjustment to each individual input, and remembers the settings until changed.

    Are you connecting all of your components directly to the TV? Or maybe connecting them to a surround receiver, and running a single output from it to only one input on the TV? I just can't imagine it not having individual settings for each source.



    there he goes, one of god's own prototypes... a high powered mutant of some kind,
    never even considered for mass production... too weird to live, and too rare to die...

    Buy the Ticket... Take the Ride...


  10. #29
    WiiChat Member sbarrett4's Avatar
    Member #
    55590
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by sprinter View Post
    Are you connecting all of your components directly to the TV? Or maybe connecting them to a surround receiver, and running a single output from it to only one input on the TV? I just can't imagine it not having individual settings for each source.
    Components are all connected directly to the TV (Wii, DVD, HD DVR). I, too, thought I could adjust and save the Settings input by input but that doesn't seem to be the case. Maybe the 40" model is lacking that feature to keep the cost down a bit more.

  11. #30
    I am Casual Caliko's Avatar
    Member #
    47263
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    433
    Friends
    2
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2064-8110-4406-4869
    Quote Originally Posted by Yodwinder View Post
    You used 4 periods in an ellipse!
    Wow! This guy signed up just to say that!
    In 2007 I predicted Wii Fit would sell more than Super Smash Bros. Brawl.

    EVERYONE at wiichat.com disagreed with me.

    As it stands today:

    Super Smash Bros. Brawl: 9.49 Million

    Wii Fit: 35 Million

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

16:9 widescreen does not work wii
,
my wii wont go widescreen
,
nintendo wii widescreen won't work
,

wii widescreen not working

,

wii won't display widescreen

,
wii won't go widescreen
,
wii wont display widescreen
,
wii wont go full screen
,
wii wont go into widescreen mode
,

wii wont go widescreen

,
wii wont widescreen
,
wii wont work in widescreen
Click on a term to search for related topics.