LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 44
  1. #31
    WiiChat Member hal2814's Avatar
    Member #
    46196
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    130
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Caliko View Post
    Wow! This guy signed up just to say that!
    I was going to ignore it but since someone else mentioned it, at least he's right. When a sentence or sentence fragment ends in an ellipse, the ellipse takes the place of the period. It's not used in addition to the period.

    Carry on...

  2. #32
    I am Casual Caliko's Avatar
    Member #
    47263
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    433
    Friends
    2
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2064-8110-4406-4869
    Quote Originally Posted by sbarrett4 View Post
    I realize I am digging up a semi-old thread here but I have a similar issue. I just bought a Sony Bravia (KDL-40S4100) and hooked the Wii up to it directly with component cables. I changed my Wii settings to 16:9 widescreen and EDTV/HDTV 480p. The TV recognizes the signal as 480p, but the Wii defaults to 4:3 (black bars on the sides) unless I change the 4:3 default on the TV to "Full". Then it changes to what I believe is true 16:9, not just a stretched 4:3 picture. The problem is that changing the 4:3 default on the TV causes my DVD player and standard def channels to be stretched, which I don't really want. When the TV's 4:3 default is on "Normal" they are not stretched, but the Wii is sort of squished.

    Why is the Wii not automatically shown in widescreen format? I have that selected as its format, so why do I have to "force" it by changing the TV setting and messing up other devices' aspect ratios? I'd prefer to simply set my TV, DVD, and Wii preferences and leave them alone, not change them based on what I am watching.
    You have to set the Wii to 'Full' on that TV in order for it to display in 16:9. Weird I know.
    I think your remote has a button that toggles between Full and Wide so it shouldn't be a big issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by hal2814
    I was going to ignore it but since someone else mentioned it, at least he's right. When a sentence or sentence fragment ends in an ellipse, the ellipse takes the place of the period. It's not used in addition to the period.
    ummm... Oookaaaay.....................
    In 2007 I predicted Wii Fit would sell more than Super Smash Bros. Brawl.

    EVERYONE at wiichat.com disagreed with me.

    As it stands today:

    Super Smash Bros. Brawl: 9.49 Million

    Wii Fit: 35 Million

  3. #33
    Junior Member nik07_05's Avatar
    Member #
    59449
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    hey guys.. i have a 16" dell studio XPS laptop.... at times i am nt able to use my tv ... can u tell me hw can i connect my wii to laptop in that case.... i have a HDMI port as well in my laptop... waitin eagerly for ur respnse.... i think i need to change the AV multi out wire...

  4. #34
    Anglophobiphile Brawny's Avatar
    Member #
    8228
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Posts
    6,546
    Friends
    24
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    Quote Originally Posted by nik07_05 View Post
    hey guys.. i have a 16" dell studio XPS laptop.... at times i am nt able to use my tv ... can u tell me hw can i connect my wii to laptop in that case.... i have a HDMI port as well in my laptop... waitin eagerly for ur respnse.... i think i need to change the AV multi out wire...
    How the hell do you deserve an XPS studio when you can't even tell the difference between input and output?

    ...Anyway, perhaps there's an express card video recording device that has component or composite in, maybe S-vid.

    Laptops weren't ever really built for inputting.
    Last edited by Brawny; 04-23-2009 at 07:27 AM.

  5. #35
    WiiChat Member hal2814's Avatar
    Member #
    46196
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    130
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Your HDMI port is likely an output port. I'm not aware of any XPS that has HDMI input right out of the box. Other than a USB TV card (which will introduce noticeable lag), I don't think there is a way to get your Wii running on your laptop screen.

  6. #36
    Junior Member wiwi86's Avatar
    Member #
    59581
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    pardon me for my noob qns...i reli cant c e difference in e screen display even when im using widescreen lcd tv and changin e setting to 16:9

  7. #37
    www.hencam.co.uk hencam[uk]'s Avatar
    Member #
    38380
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    75
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by wiwi86 View Post
    pardon me for my noob qns...i reli cant c e difference in e screen display even when im using widescreen lcd tv and changin e setting to 16:9
    Can you say that again in English?

  8. #38
    CoD5 Level 42 Rogan's Avatar
    Member #
    59483
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    5
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0173-7614-4868
    Quote Originally Posted by wiwi86 View Post
    pardon me for my noob qns...i reli cant c e difference in e screen display even when im using widescreen lcd tv and changin e setting to 16:9
    Uhm... (ellipsis) Are you a noob with the typing skills of a cat?
    /Rogan
    http://www.autismspeaks.org - Yes, we live with Autism

    COD5 FC - 0173-7614-4868 "rogan"
    (pm me if you add me)

  9. #39
    Anglophobiphile Brawny's Avatar
    Member #
    8228
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Posts
    6,546
    Friends
    24
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    That's a pretty fricking stupid cat.

  10. #40
    Junior Member wiwi86's Avatar
    Member #
    59581
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by hencam[uk] View Post
    Can you say that again in English?
    Quote Originally Posted by Rogan View Post
    Uhm... (ellipsis) Are you a noob with the typing skills of a cat?
    As I have mention, I did not see any changes in the screen resoultion after changing the settings from 4:3 to 16:9. Is it so difficult to understand my short forms?

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

16:9 widescreen does not work wii
,
my wii wont go widescreen
,
nintendo wii widescreen won't work
,

wii widescreen not working

,

wii won't display widescreen

,
wii won't go widescreen
,
wii wont display widescreen
,
wii wont go full screen
,
wii wont go into widescreen mode
,

wii wont go widescreen

,
wii wont widescreen
,
wii wont work in widescreen
Click on a term to search for related topics.