LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Junior Member ben213's Avatar
    Member #
    43042
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wii to PC Monitor

    Hey everyone,
    I'm new to this forum and I have done a brief search with no deep answer to my question - what I want to do is connect my Wii to my LCD monitor. I've read up a lot and i've seen various methods.

    My monitor has VGA (d-sub) in and DVI in. My Wii has composite out or component out. Basically my question is this; I have a poor quality TV but a good quality widescreen monitor (asus mw221u if it matters)

    1. Can I connect the Wii directly to the monitor with some form of adapter cable such as component RCA to DVI/VGA? Eg. 3 male component RCA to 3 femal RCA to 1 male VGA?

    2. If not, will I have to invest in a converter box to make the image fit my screens resolution (usually 1680*1050)

    Thank you very much for any help; i've yet to find a solid answer and I don't want to purchase one of the costly converter boxes if I don't have to.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Anglophobiphile Brawny's Avatar
    Member #
    8228
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Posts
    6,546
    Friends
    24
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    I think most people have converter boxes. I have a 65" HDTV...so I wasn't TOO interested.

    From the looks of it, you know your shit a lot better than 99% of the people here. All I can say is try it.

  4. #3
    . ☆ ☆ ☆ . gidget's Avatar
    Member #
    40723
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    -= ohio, usa =-
    Posts
    2,589
    Friends
    54
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    9999-9999-9999-9999
    My Wii is connected to a 20.1" Widescreen PC Monitor (VGA D-sub connection). I use the KWorld TVBox 1680ex to connect the Wii and other video components to this monitor.

    $62 after shipping

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...td-_-15260010R

    It supports 1080p audio, HD-TV tuner, Svideo, and RCA, etc.

    See Spoiler for SPECS!


    Spoiler Alert!
    Last edited by gidget; 02-05-2008 at 12:55 PM.

    ..

    click logo to join the...
    rainbows & unicorns clan!


  5. #4
    No.1 Smurf Wii_Smurf's Avatar
    Member #
    6200
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,952
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    I'd like to know how to do this for my Wii aswell.
    I have a Sony SDM-E96DB 19in TFT monitor lol. I have no clue what to do to connect it up



    No Longer Have A Wii


  6. #5
    Junior Member crazymilk's Avatar
    Member #
    43116
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hi
    few things first

    Hope u had a good xmas

    Sorry to hijack another thread(just seemed silly to start another )

    And

    Hi


    I have a Dell 2407 monitor that has the standard component inputs, I have tried using these with the correct wii component cable and it worlks fine on this monitor but the picture quality is terrible.
    If i use the same leads on my TV (which is a 26'' flat screen Samsung then the picture is far far better.

    Anybody know why the picture quality is so poor using my PC monitor?? I thought that the component cables are bettter that a VGA and i thought that PC monitors where better picture quality

    Thanks for your help

  7. #6
    . ☆ ☆ ☆ . gidget's Avatar
    Member #
    40723
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    -= ohio, usa =-
    Posts
    2,589
    Friends
    54
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    9999-9999-9999-9999
    Quote Originally Posted by crazymilk
    I have a Dell 2407 monitor that has the standard component inputs, I have tried using these with the correct wii component cable and it worlks fine on this monitor but the picture quality is terrible...
    Assuming your settings are correct on the Wii Menu, I would inspect the Monitor's settings. First let it Auto Adjust then check other tuning settings like resolution, brightness, contrast, etc.

    If you've been through this then I am no help. My monitor has D-sub connector.

    ..

    click logo to join the...
    rainbows & unicorns clan!


  8. #7
    No.1 Smurf Wii_Smurf's Avatar
    Member #
    6200
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,952
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Quote Originally Posted by Wii_Smurf
    I'd like to know how to do this for my Wii aswell.
    I have a Sony SDM-E96DB 19in TFT monitor lol. I have no clue what to do to connect it up
    Any help here?

    The Monitor: In other words this



    No Longer Have A Wii


  9. #8
    Junior Member crazymilk's Avatar
    Member #
    43116
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by idjut
    Assuming your settings are correct on the Wii Menu, I would inspect the Monitor's settings. First let it Auto Adjust then check other tuning settings like resolution, brightness, contrast, etc.

    If you've been through this then I am no help. My monitor has D-sub connector.
    Thanks m8

    Any idea what the correct settings onthe wii should be ???

  10. #9
    Junior Member ben213's Avatar
    Member #
    43042
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by idjut
    I own the KWorld TVBox 1680ex on my 20.1" monitor (D-sub).
    I wondered if monitor with a Digital Connection would be better, but I am happy.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...td-_-15260010R

    It supports 1080p audio, HD-TV tuner, Svideo, and RCA, etc.
    Hey cool - so you have a similar monitor to me - 1680*1050 right? Do you use component cables from your wii to the tv box? Also do you think the tv box is necessary? Basically I wanted to get the highest picture quality on my monitor whilst spending as little as possible (I realise that this may not be possible..lol).

    Does the box do a good job? Cheers mate

  11. #10
    Tip#67: Sell Your Wii Deanis's Avatar
    Member #
    2976
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,701
    Friends
    8
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4076-9395-0234-2025
    CrazyMilk. Its probably cos the PC monitor is higher res, and PC monitors dont have upscaling features, so if you plug in a low-res input the monitor isnt going to try and smooth out those pixelly edges. Itll just be hell blocky. Then theres the fact you are probably sitting closer to your PC monitor than your TV so this pixelly effect would be even worse.
    On our 55" TV Wii can look quite pleasent, not as good as 360, bot good never the less...


    "If I had a dollar bill for everytime I was wrong, I'd be a self-made millionaire and I wouldn't be singing..."


Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

connect wii directly to monitor converter box
,

connect wii to pc monitor

,

how to hook up a wii to a pc monitor

,

how to hook up the wii to a computer monitor

,
vga converter wii pc
,

wii component to dvi

,

wii dvi connection

,

wii dvi out

,

wii on computer monitor

,

wii on pc monitor

,

wii to computer monitor

,

wii to pc monitor

Click on a term to search for related topics.