LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member pookster's Avatar
    Member #
    44097
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Cannot Play Uk Discs (help Required)

    I got a wii as a present from dubai and cannot play uk discs can anyone advise me what to do and how to do it please.

  2. #2
    Resident Evil Fan Tjharwin's Avatar
    Member #
    10323
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Posts
    157
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1411-7270-4122-1402
    I'm not sure what region the Indian Wii's are. I'll look into it for you, but as it's in Asia, I'd say that the Indian Wiis are NTSC-J. UK games are PAL region, and PAL games only work with PAL consoles.

    Like I said, I'll look into this for you.

    EDIT: I found this diagram which outlines console regions.



    India and the UK are different regions, and the Nintendo Wii is region locked. Only games from the same region as your Nintendo Wii will play on it. So, if you bought an American Wii (NTSC) then you can only play NTSC games.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PAL_region <-----This link shows all the countries within PAL regions. Unfortunately, India isn't one of them. That means that UK games will not play on an Indian Wii.

    My advice would be to look on the box that your Wii came in, and check what region it is. You will then have to buy games from that region for it. If it's NTSC-J, then I reccommend buying Japanese games from www.play-asia.com. If not, sell it and buy a UK Wii (PAL region).
    Last edited by Tjharwin; 01-01-2008 at 09:07 AM.


  3. #3
    Anglophobiphile Brawny's Avatar
    Member #
    8228
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Posts
    6,546
    Friends
    25
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    Could be secam. I'm not familiar with Asia-nonorient.

  4. #4
    Anglophobiphile Brawny's Avatar
    Member #
    8228
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Posts
    6,546
    Friends
    25
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    Bump. I guess I looked it up first.

    http://www.high-techproductions.com/pal.htm

    And according to your edit, India is PAL. Do you know what India and the UK look like? >_<

  5. #5
    Resident Evil Fan Tjharwin's Avatar
    Member #
    10323
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Posts
    157
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1411-7270-4122-1402
    Quote Originally Posted by Brawny
    Bump. I guess I looked it up first.

    http://www.high-techproductions.com/pal.htm

    And according to your edit, India is PAL. Do you know what India and the UK look like? >_<
    My bad, I guess I overlooked it. I couldn't see it on there.

    Why the hell wouldn't it work then?

  6. #6
    WiiChat Member pookster's Avatar
    Member #
    44097
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    9
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    system

    hi all i does sy on the side of my box that is should only befor use only in usa , canada , mexico and latin america.
    but is it possible for me to keep the console and down load software to update this or is it the hardware.

  7. #7
    Resident Evil Fan Tjharwin's Avatar
    Member #
    10323
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Posts
    157
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1411-7270-4122-1402
    Quote Originally Posted by pookster
    hi all i does sy on the side of my box that is should only befor use only in usa , canada , mexico and latin america.
    but is it possible for me to keep the console and down load software to update this or is it the hardware.
    Your Wii is from the NTSC region. That means it can only play American games. May I reccomend www.amazon.com? Import your Wii games from America, and they'll work fine.

  8. #8
    Anglophobiphile Brawny's Avatar
    Member #
    8228
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Posts
    6,546
    Friends
    25
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    Well technically it's the firmware, but none of us should tell you to mod it.

    Besides, using amazon as ^that guy^ said, you get your games cheaper, even with shipping.

  9. #9
    Resident Evil Fan Tjharwin's Avatar
    Member #
    10323
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    Posts
    157
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1411-7270-4122-1402
    Quote Originally Posted by Brawny
    Well technically it's the firmware, but none of us should tell you to mod it.

    Besides, using amazon as ^that guy^ said, you get your games cheaper, even with shipping.
    You sure do get them cheap. The exchange rate at the moment is VERY good. It's like...$2 is 1. So if a game costs $45 then that's like..22.50 which is extremely cheap for a Wii game. Also, some games come out earlier in the US, which means that you can receive new games before most people in the UK.

  10. #10
    Anglophobiphile Brawny's Avatar
    Member #
    8228
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Posts
    6,546
    Friends
    25
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    I know there's a LOT of other factors involved, but just look at you guys' welfare system.

    Our Government doesn't take all our money (well...after devolution), but they don't give it back either.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

can you play uk discs on a usa wii?

,

how to play wii in usa with wii discs from asia

,

play uk discs on us wii

Click on a term to search for related topics.