LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30
  1. #11
    WiiChat Member strommsarnac's Avatar
    Member #
    10667
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    USA, Central Ohio
    Posts
    258
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Wow, sorry but I'm going to correct people here. And the only assumption I'm going to make is that the OP is using a Windows OS (XP or Vista).

    So, just set things straight in my mind. Here's how I see you access the net.

    Laptop----USB->Cell Service.

    ??Does your laptop have an Ethernet port? If so, then you have TWO methods for getting the Wii Online.

    1. By the Wii LAN adaptor. Within Windows run ICS (Internet Connection Sharing). This will make your laptop route traffic from it's "network" (either ethernet or WiFi) through your USB Cell interface. Let it configure everything, making sure to select your ethernet jack. Write down the settings for IP Address, Subnet Mask, Gateway, DNS. Normally, ICS is used for other PCs and it'll want to create a floppy which will automatically configure clients. You won't be able to use the floppy but ICS will do it for you.

    2. Set your laptop's WiFi interface for "Ad-Hoc" mode and again run ICS. Pretty much do the same as #1.

    Just so you know, ICS will configure your laptop's Network interface to provide DHCP which your Wii will use to automatically configure it's network settings.

    If you go wired, you might have to buy a "cross-over" cable since I don't know if your laptop's ethernet port is auto-detect. Cross-over cables look exactly like a normal network cable, but internally they are different. Should cost about the same too.

    Honestly, I would forego buying any adaptor if your laptop has WiFi. Use that and ICS.

    Heck, it might be that the way the Wii WiFi adaptor works is by using ICS too, but I don't know since I have a router I use.
    Central Ohio: Wii via component on Mitsu 55" HD-RPTV. 94 ImpalaSS, MCSE/MCT, MS/Network Consultant.

  2. #12
    I'm Good at Games Dorkfish's Avatar
    Member #
    35724
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    In the Boondocks
    Posts
    955
    Friends
    20
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3041-8420-1576-4112
    Blah!! Wrong Thread Lol!!!
    My Face------------------------------------>

    Weeeeeeeeeeeee


    Add my PSN for some good shit~iDorkfish

  3. #13
    WiiChat Member Dtov's Avatar
    Member #
    46317
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    25
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by strommsarnac
    Wow, sorry but I'm going to correct people here. And the only assumption I'm going to make is that the OP is using a Windows OS (XP or Vista).

    So, just set things straight in my mind. Here's how I see you access the net.

    Laptop----USB->Cell Service.

    ??Does your laptop have an Ethernet port? If so, then you have TWO methods for getting the Wii Online.

    1. By the Wii LAN adaptor. Within Windows run ICS (Internet Connection Sharing). This will make your laptop route traffic from it's "network" (either ethernet or WiFi) through your USB Cell interface. Let it configure everything, making sure to select your ethernet jack. Write down the settings for IP Address, Subnet Mask, Gateway, DNS. Normally, ICS is used for other PCs and it'll want to create a floppy which will automatically configure clients. You won't be able to use the floppy but ICS will do it for you.

    2. Set your laptop's WiFi interface for "Ad-Hoc" mode and again run ICS. Pretty much do the same as #1.

    Just so you know, ICS will configure your laptop's Network interface to provide DHCP which your Wii will use to automatically configure it's network settings.

    If you go wired, you might have to buy a "cross-over" cable since I don't know if your laptop's ethernet port is auto-detect. Cross-over cables look exactly like a normal network cable, but internally they are different. Should cost about the same too.

    Honestly, I would forego buying any adaptor if your laptop has WiFi. Use that and ICS.

    Heck, it might be that the way the Wii WiFi adaptor works is by using ICS too, but I don't know since I have a router I use.
    That is a possible solution maybe for the more advanced user. I believe that most people may not be as tech savy as you. I just tried to offer a solution that was simple and effective for the average joe or jane. Most people I know who recieve answers that go slightly over their head go, huh? - Just tryin to keep it simple.

  4. #14
    VAIZARD Eddy04's Avatar
    Member #
    36892
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    147
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5658-7022-3844-5521
    In my point of vie the wireless router is the best option.

    "Dont practice til you get it right, practice til you never get it wrong"

    _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____

    *MoHH2 Persona: DarkGundam
    *SSBB FC: 4167-4283-9144 (EDDY)

  5. #15
    WiiChat Member digler's Avatar
    Member #
    46248
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Thanks strommsarnac.

    I have put my wirless adapter in Ad Hoc mode and thought I had cracked it. My Wii can see the wireless network but when it tries to connect I get the error code 51030. My laptop does not seem to see the Wii.

    Im sure this is possible but I cant seem to get it to work. Are you able to give me a step by step guide?

  6. #16
    WiiChat Member strommsarnac's Avatar
    Member #
    10667
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    USA, Central Ohio
    Posts
    258
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Eddy04
    In my point of vie the wireless router is the best option.
    Not for the OP though. He doesn't have broadband so he doesn't have anything to connect the router to.

    He posted that he has a USB cellular modem which has to connect to the USB port on a PC/Laptop.
    Central Ohio: Wii via component on Mitsu 55" HD-RPTV. 94 ImpalaSS, MCSE/MCT, MS/Network Consultant.

  7. #17
    WiiChat Member strommsarnac's Avatar
    Member #
    10667
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    USA, Central Ohio
    Posts
    258
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by digler
    Thanks strommsarnac.

    I have put my wirless adapter in Ad Hoc mode and thought I had cracked it. My Wii can see the wireless network but when it tries to connect I get the error code 51030. My laptop does not seem to see the Wii.

    Im sure this is possible but I cant seem to get it to work. Are you able to give me a step by step guide?

    On your laptop, did you run the ICS setup? Go through the Network Setup Wizard if you haven't.

    If you have, and you set the laptop's WiFi adaptor as your Local Network, then you might have to manually configure the Wii's network settings.

    Try this. Click Start/Run and type cmd. Then type IPCONFIG /ALL. That'll give you a lot of info. Look for a device with the name of your WiFi adaptor. It'll have IP info similar to IP Address: 192.168.0.1 Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0, etc. Your number may differ from above.

    Write all that info down. You'll use all that info EXCEPT the IP Address. Take the address you wrote down and add ONE (e.g. 192.168.0.2).

    Now, on the Wii. Go to the Internet connection settings and manually enter the info you wrote down (don't forget +1 on the IP Address only). Save those settings. Power down the Wii, wait a few seconds and power it back up. Give it a few seconds and see if you can browse the web.

    If you enabled WEP/WPA you'll need to set that also. Oh, don't forget the SSID's also need to match.

    I know this is a bit more complicated than some other suggestions, but it's free considering what you have.
    Central Ohio: Wii via component on Mitsu 55" HD-RPTV. 94 ImpalaSS, MCSE/MCT, MS/Network Consultant.

  8. #18
    WiiChat Member digler's Avatar
    Member #
    46248
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Thanks, I will try later when I get home from work.
    I did go through the network wizard which, like you said asked for a floppy, I chose not to use. When I restarted and nothing seemed to have changed. I will let you know haow it goes.

  9. #19
    Junior Member bigorange's Avatar
    Member #
    46532
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by digler
    I
    Unfortunately in my area I am unable to get broadband as there are no available ports at the telephone exchange so I am using mobile broadband by my mobile provider via a usb conected unit which is fine for connecting to the internet.
    What I want to know is if its possible to use a laptop wireless adaptor and use my laptop as a sort of router or use a LAN adapator and again use my laptop as a 'router'?http://www.three.com.au/cs/ContentSe...=1156241342637

    They make special wireless routers which accept the PCMCIA cards or USB EVDO and 3G.

  10. #20
    WiiChat Member digler's Avatar
    Member #
    46248
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Ok Here goes.

    Firstly about my hardware - My laptop is a samsung V25 with a pentium 4 2.8ghz 512mb RAM running on XP Home. My wireless adapter is a LINKSYS WPC54G.

    Within the wireless adaper software I have configured the adapter in Ad Hoc mode and chosen: obtain network settings(DHCP), WEP with pass key, Authentication open.
    My Wii and wireless adapter seem to see and connect to each other and I have been asked to insert the WEP key into the Wii. When it tries a conection test it fails with the error code 51032.

    I have tried to set up an ICS with the wizard but still no luck. And just to make things worse when I try to run IPCONFIG /ALL the window flashes up as if it is running but then closes - which is a problem I didnt have yesturday!

    Any sugestions?

    Thanks

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

error code 51031 on wii with iphone wifi

,

osu wireless internet wii

,

set up wii wifi in open hot spots

,

setting up wi-fi

,

setting up wifi on wii

,
setup wifi wii adhoc
,

what does error code 51031 mean on the wiu

,

what does wii error code 51030 mean

,
what does wii error code 51031 mean
,
wii error code 51030
,
wii manual setup wireless error 51030
,

wii wifi 51031

Click on a term to search for related topics.