LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 30 of 30
  1. #21
    Original Nintendo Kid Montauk198's Avatar
    Member #
    47003
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    16
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    setting up wifi

    If your neighborhood phonebox is full then just get DSL w/ VOIP. It would use your same phone hookup and you would be able to Network properly not to mention faster internet.
    If you've ever played with Robbie the Robot in the 1980's then your Nintendo Elite!!!!

  2. #22
    WiiChat Member strommsarnac's Avatar
    Member #
    10667
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    USA, Central Ohio
    Posts
    258
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Digler,

    I think I see what's happening. I know I wrote a lot the last time and I think you missed one key point. You need to open a command prompt then type ipconfig /all. Click Start, Click RUN, then type CMD and press enter (I may have left off pressing enter). Then type IPCONFIG /ALL.

    What your looking for is if your WiFi has an IP Address. If it does, then follow the previous post.

    I guess I need to ask "Why" you have a Linksys WPC54G (PCMCIA card) if you don't have a WiFi router. Do you have a WiFi router? Is it in use for something? Do you have other wireless computers which you need to share files/printers with?

    Understand my confusion. Usually the only reason for someone to buy a pcmcia wireless card is because they are going to connect to a wifi router. Since you can't get broadband (dsl/cable/fios,etc.), I don't see why you have the pcmcia card, unless you use it at hotspots like internet cafe's, bookstores, coffee shops, etc. Please help me understand some more.

    If you have a wifi router or not, you'll need to manually configure the laptop's network WPC54G network settings. If you have the router, that's where the DHCP (automatic network settings) come from. If not, you'll need to manually set them, or you'll keep getting random settings which will cause your wii to lose connection. I don't think the Wii Wireless adapter for a PC will resolve that.

    So, do you have a wifi router? Do that ipconfig /all command and copy the info here so I can see which type of address you have. Look for the line DHCP ENABLED, I'm interested if it's YES or NO. The IP address numbers will tell me what kind of issues you might have.
    Central Ohio: Wii via component on Mitsu 55" HD-RPTV. 94 ImpalaSS, MCSE/MCT, MS/Network Consultant.

  3. #23
    WiiChat Member digler's Avatar
    Member #
    46248
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Its a long story but no I do not have a router. A friend gave me the card as it came free with the router and his laptop was wireless enabled. I did have a router but that was at a previous address and was supplied by my ISP.
    Dhcp Enabled.....No
    IP Address.........117.102.151.17
    Subnet Mask......255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway..117.102.151.17
    DNS Servers......202.124.84.2
    202.124.68.130
    Primary WINS Server..10.11.12.13
    Secondary WINS Server..10.11.12.14
    Net Bios over Tcpip...Disabled

    My Linksys control panel shows a different IP address

  4. #24
    WiiChat Member strommsarnac's Avatar
    Member #
    10667
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    USA, Central Ohio
    Posts
    258
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hmm. Are those settings for the Linksys adaptor or the cellular one? I ask because they are "realworld" Internet settings. I mean they are settings one gets when connected to their service provider. They are what a router would get on it's internet connection side, not the local side.

    If they really are for the linksys adaptor, you need to change them. Try the following settings, then re-run the network wizard and configure as sharing "this computer connects to the Internet. Other computers connect to the Internet through this computer". Make sure to select the Internet connection as your cellular device.


    IP Address.........192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask......255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway..192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers......192.168.0.1
    Primary WINS Server..192.168.0.1
    Secondary WINS Server..192.168.0.1

    These settings can be configured by accessing the network properties of the Linksys adaptor. Once in there, open TCP/IP properties and set to Manual.

    Sorry this is so complicated, not something I expected, but it looks like for some reason someone set your WiFi card to connect to "something".
    Central Ohio: Wii via component on Mitsu 55" HD-RPTV. 94 ImpalaSS, MCSE/MCT, MS/Network Consultant.

  5. #25
    Junior Member SuperWill's Avatar
    Member #
    47299
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by digler
    Ok Here goes.

    Firstly about my hardware - My laptop is a samsung V25 with a pentium 4 2.8ghz 512mb RAM running on XP Home. My wireless adapter is a LINKSYS WPC54G.

    Within the wireless adaper software I have configured the adapter in Ad Hoc mode and chosen: obtain network settings(DHCP), WEP with pass key, Authentication open.
    My Wii and wireless adapter seem to see and connect to each other and I have been asked to insert the WEP key into the Wii. When it tries a conection test it fails with the error code 51032.

    I have tried to set up an ICS with the wizard but still no luck. And just to make things worse when I try to run IPCONFIG /ALL the window flashes up as if it is running but then closes - which is a problem I didnt have yesturday!

    Any sugestions?

    Thanks
    digler,
    you have to run "cmd" first, then when the dos window appears, then type in ipconfig /all

  6. #26
    WiiChat Member strommsarnac's Avatar
    Member #
    10667
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    USA, Central Ohio
    Posts
    258
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperWill
    digler,
    you have to run "cmd" first, then when the dos window appears, then type in ipconfig /all
    Um, yea, that's posted above two or three times. No offense.
    Central Ohio: Wii via component on Mitsu 55" HD-RPTV. 94 ImpalaSS, MCSE/MCT, MS/Network Consultant.

  7. #27
    WiiChat Member digler's Avatar
    Member #
    46248
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    11
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I have tried to manually input the settings for the wireless adapter in windows(use windows to configure my wirless connection) and the linksys software but I cant seem to get them to connect. I can get the wii to see the network but it fails with the error code 51031.The information I get for ipconfig /all is for the mobile broadband and for the wireless adapter(Ethernet adapter wireless network connection)it states Media state.........Media disconnected.
    Any Ideas?

  8. #28
    WiiChat Member iPulsate's Avatar
    Member #
    45875
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alabama, USA
    Posts
    84
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2847-2738-5670-4294
    Look through the manual. It will explain how

  9. #29
    Wii fan Boy till the end Bigjake52's Avatar
    Member #
    30816
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    MarsBars
    Posts
    711
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3449-8056-9185-4637
    the nintendo wi-fi dongole wii work the best for you
    We Would like to Update

  10. #30
    VAIZARD Eddy04's Avatar
    Member #
    36892
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    147
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5658-7022-3844-5521
    Quote Originally Posted by digler
    I have tried to manually input the settings for the wireless adapter in windows(use windows to configure my wirless connection) and the linksys software but I cant seem to get them to connect. I can get the wii to see the network but it fails with the error code 51031.The information I get for ipconfig /all is for the mobile broadband and for the wireless adapter(Ethernet adapter wireless network connection)it states Media state.........Media disconnected.
    Any Ideas?

    Not sure...It sure has to do with your router now. Is not the wii's problem. This kinda happened to me. My wii had some days connected well. But then my router went crazy with the DHCP server and now the wii don't know which ip address to use even though I decid to use a static ip for the wii. The same error appears to me which means it can't connect. So know you should check your linksys router.

    "Dont practice til you get it right, practice til you never get it wrong"

    _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____ _____

    *MoHH2 Persona: DarkGundam
    *SSBB FC: 4167-4283-9144 (EDDY)

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

error code 51031 on wii with iphone wifi

,

osu wireless internet wii

,

set up wii wifi in open hot spots

,

setting up wi-fi

,

setting up wifi on wii

,
setup wifi wii adhoc
,

what does error code 51031 mean on the wiu

,

what does wii error code 51030 mean

,
what does wii error code 51031 mean
,
wii error code 51030
,
wii manual setup wireless error 51030
,

wii wifi 51031

Click on a term to search for related topics.