LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    very low idiot tolerance Chute's Avatar
    Member #
    32435
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    oxford
    Posts
    122
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    another 'my wii looks crap on my hd tv' thread

    At work we bought a wii and lcd tv for the office, the res is 1366x768. it's a 50hz Tecknika unit bought from Tesco. not sure if it's i or p

    Now, this isnt about the graphics ability of the wii, I have one at home connected to a 36 inch CRT television and it looks great. I did buy the RGB cables and that improved it again a bit.

    The problem is that compared to mine at home, the one at work look terrible. Small text, especially when browsing the web is almost unreadable. I took my RGB cable in today to try it and that gave no improvement at all. The effect is kind of like when you try and feed your PC's tft with something other than the native resolution of the monitor, ie, some pixels fatten and others get thinned down. Hopefully that makes sense to someone.

    I've been through the menu on the TV and can't find anything obvious in the settings to tinker with like 'input resolution' or anything like that.

    Ideas anyone?

  2. #2
    WiiChat Member hal2814's Avatar
    Member #
    46196
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    130
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    There's an option in your Wii settings for 480i or 480p. Make sure you're using p. Other than that, there's not much you can do. LCD screens are fixed resolution. It has to scale anything that doesn't fit its resolution. Unfortunately, some TVs' scalers are better than others. You might be able to run it through a TV card to a PC and then out to the TV through a VGA connector but I think the lag would kill you there.

  3. #3
    very low idiot tolerance Chute's Avatar
    Member #
    32435
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    oxford
    Posts
    122
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    cheers hal, I'll check that tomorrow. I did have a look at the wii settings but I cant remember a ' p/i' option...

  4. #4
    WiiChat Member rukus's Avatar
    Member #
    23541
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    928
    Friends
    4
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    its on the "Screen" section of the wii settings
    Wii Games: Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess, Heatseeker, Excite Truck, Wii Play, NHL 2k9, Super Mario Galaxy, Super Strikers Charged, Shaun White Snowboarding, The Bigs, Guitar Hero: World Tour, Ghost Squad, Call of Duty: World at War, Wii Sports Resort, Punch-out!

    VC: Wave Race 64

    Homebrew Channel

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member heymoe99's Avatar
    Member #
    37562
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    378
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    there's also a wide screen setting on the wii. see what that does

  6. #6
    very low idiot tolerance Chute's Avatar
    Member #
    32435
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    oxford
    Posts
    122
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    right...

    out of the 3 settings 50hz ???i, 60hz???i and EDHD TV, the bottom (HD) box is greyed out and I can't select it. the other 2 settings give the same crap result.

    it's set to 16:9

    ideas?

  7. #7
    WiiChat Member hal2814's Avatar
    Member #
    46196
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    130
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Ahh. Tesco should've given it away earlier. You're in the UK aren't you? Your menus will be slightly different in this regard. Unfortunately, I don't know why the HD would be greyed out or what the difference between EDHD and HD is. 50hz and 60hz are probably PAL and NTSC, respectively. I imagine your LCD TV treats them both pretty much the same so I'm not surprised you don't see a difference there.

  8. #8
    very low idiot tolerance Chute's Avatar
    Member #
    32435
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    oxford
    Posts
    122
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I read (on another forum, shock horror) that unless I have the component cable plugged in the HD option will be greyed out, so I'll be taking my RGB lead back to work tomorrow and trying that out.

    edit: yep, UK here.

  9. #9
    very low idiot tolerance Chute's Avatar
    Member #
    32435
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    oxford
    Posts
    122
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    the RGB lead and switching to 480p fixed it. Thank you all for your help.

  10. #10
    WiiChat Member gnahc79's Avatar
    Member #
    19127
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Jose,CA
    Posts
    210
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by hal2814
    Ahh. Tesco should've given it away earlier. You're in the UK aren't you? Your menus will be slightly different in this regard. Unfortunately, I don't know why the HD would be greyed out or what the difference between EDHD and HD is. 50hz and 60hz are probably PAL and NTSC, respectively. I imagine your LCD TV treats them both pretty much the same so I'm not surprised you don't see a difference there.
    typically ED is 480p and HD is 720p+. You may see/hear of companies touting "True HD", which is 1080p.
    MOHH2 username: sushinut
    I have: Wii Play, Rayman Raving Rabbids, Elebits, RE4, Super Mario Strikers Charged, Mario & Sonic, GHIII w/ 2 guitars, MOHH2, SMG, RE: UC

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

edhd / hdtv wii

,

edhd compatible wii

,

edhd hdtv wii

,

tv resolution greyed out on wii

,

wii crap tv resolution

,

wii hdtv resolution greyed out

,

wii looks terrible on tv

,

wii on hd tv

,

wii tv resolution hdtv greyed out

Click on a term to search for related topics.