LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Proud Owner Of A Wii Matt's_A_Bluebird's Avatar
    Member #
    19059
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CARDIFF IN WALES!
    Posts
    361
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7591-7050-1749-1437

    Wii S-video Cable

    Hi I was just wondering, do the Wii S-video cables allow you to run the 480p. I have componant cable inputs on my T.V. But I want to save them incase I get a PS3 eventually. Thanks.

    "Some people think football is a matter of life and death... I can assure them it is much more serious than that."

  2. #2
    WiiChat Member tumi's Avatar
    Member #
    47252
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    S-Video is typically 480i .. there are some"specialty" s-video cables that can carry 480P signal, but I doubt they would make it for Wii.

  3. #3
    Proud Owner Of A Wii Matt's_A_Bluebird's Avatar
    Member #
    19059
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    CARDIFF IN WALES!
    Posts
    361
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7591-7050-1749-1437
    Ah right thanks.

    "Some people think football is a matter of life and death... I can assure them it is much more serious than that."

  4. #4
    Got lifeboat? sremick's Avatar
    Member #
    27061
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    1,130
    Friends
    25
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    I honestly have never heard of an S-Video cable or specification that allowed for 480p. Everything I've seen is 480i. Where are these "specialty" cables you refer to?
    Quote Originally Posted by Napalmbrain (Moderator)
    Even if we can somehow keeps this place moderated, eventually the webhosting is going to lapse or something like that, and I doubt i0n's going to be around to fix it. So basically I'm encouraging everyone to migrate over to Link Removed
    Quote Originally Posted by FR. (Moderator)
    i0n just lost interest in this website. And, since no forum can run without an administrator, this forum is basically doomed. Everyone might as well join somewhere else, because if i0n doesn't pay vBulletin, the site will shut down.

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member tumi's Avatar
    Member #
    47252
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    Here is an example

    http://www.hdtvsupply.com/scateto48.html

    **btw I don't know if these cables work or not** but this seems to be a picky forum so I included that statement as to not be called out on it
    Last edited by tumi; 01-18-2008 at 01:42 PM.

  6. #6
    Waluigi's #1 Fan! FRuMMaGe's Avatar
    Member #
    8705
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,966
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    Doesn't the PS3 use HDMI?

    Also, I have my Xbox and Wii plugged into the same component ports. All you need is a £15 ($30) component splitter.

    -=Join The Waluigi Fan Club=-

    Spoiler Alert!



    52 Members and still growing!


  7. #7
    WiiChat Member tumi's Avatar
    Member #
    47252
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    Quote Originally Posted by FRuMMaGe
    Doesn't the PS3 use HDMI?
    PS3 has the option of going composite, component, or HDMI .. maybe his TV doesn't have and HDMI port

    Quote Originally Posted by FRuMMaGe
    Also, I have my Xbox and Wii plugged into the same component ports. All you need is a £15 ($30) component splitter.
    That sounds like a good suggestion, my only concern (whether it has any basis or not I don't know) is how do the consoles react over time with having video signals "inputed" into their outputs. a "Y" splitter does not control the flow of signal. It just takes what it sees on one port and send it out the other two. so when you have your Xbox on it send the signal to the TV and your Wii, and visa-versa. And what happens to your TV if you mistakenly have both your consoles on at the same time?

    Just curious!

  8. #8
    Waluigi's #1 Fan! FRuMMaGe's Avatar
    Member #
    8705
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,966
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    Quote Originally Posted by tumi
    PS3 has the option of going composite, component, or HDMI .. maybe his TV doesn't have and HDMI port



    That sounds like a good suggestion, my only concern (whether it has any basis or not I don't know) is how do the consoles react over time with having video signals "inputed" into their outputs. a "Y" splitter does not control the flow of signal. It just takes what it sees on one port and send it out the other two. so when you have your Xbox on it send the signal to the TV and your Wii, and visa-versa. And what happens to your TV if you mistakenly have both your consoles on at the same time?

    Just curious!
    It is a splitter with a switch, so there is no problem.

    It can be on one channel or the other, not both

    -=Join The Waluigi Fan Club=-

    Spoiler Alert!



    52 Members and still growing!


  9. #9
    Got lifeboat? sremick's Avatar
    Member #
    27061
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    1,130
    Friends
    25
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Quote Originally Posted by tumi
    Here is an example

    http://www.hdtvsupply.com/scateto48.html

    **btw I don't know if these cables work or not** but this seems to be a picky forum so I included that statement as to not be called out on it
    Well, isn't that curious. I'm inclined to think that it's a marketing gimmick. I don't believe any devices actually can send or receive 480p over s-video.

    If someone proves me wrong, though, I'm man enough to admit it. But as far as I can tell, the S-Video spec means 480i.
    Quote Originally Posted by Napalmbrain (Moderator)
    Even if we can somehow keeps this place moderated, eventually the webhosting is going to lapse or something like that, and I doubt i0n's going to be around to fix it. So basically I'm encouraging everyone to migrate over to Link Removed
    Quote Originally Posted by FR. (Moderator)
    i0n just lost interest in this website. And, since no forum can run without an administrator, this forum is basically doomed. Everyone might as well join somewhere else, because if i0n doesn't pay vBulletin, the site will shut down.

  10. #10
    WiiChat Member tumi's Avatar
    Member #
    47252
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    Quote Originally Posted by FRuMMaGe
    It is a splitter with a switch, so there is no problem.

    It can be on one channel or the other, not both
    Is there a dip switch or something that determines which input to display or does like "port 1" have a higher preference than "port 2".

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

480p over s-video
,
component to composite conversion cable
,

component to composite conversion cable nintendo certified

,
component to composite conversion cable.
,

nintendo certified component to composite conversion cable

,
nintendo wii s-video 480p?
,
wii 480p s-video
,
wii s video 480p
,

wii s video cable 480p

,

wii s-video 480p

,
wii s-video cable 480p
,
wii svideo 480p
Click on a term to search for related topics.