LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member Sonic23's Avatar
    Member #
    50491
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    PAL Wii Power Supply With NTSC USA Wii

    Hi,

    I've purchased an NTSC Wii from USA and I live in the UK, I was wondering if anyone on here has imported a Wii and is using a PAL Wii power supply without the use of a step-down converter and it is working without any problems ie. Blown Up. People on other import forums have said yes but I need resurance that it does work and if anyone has prove that would put my mind at ease.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    . ☆ ☆ ☆ . gidget's Avatar
    Member #
    40723
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    -= ohio, usa =-
    Posts
    2,589
    Friends
    54
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    9999-9999-9999-9999
    the AC plug may be physically different, but the voltage from the wii's powersuppy to the wii is identical

    ..

    click logo to join the...
    rainbows & unicorns clan!


  3. #3
    Junior Member Sonic23's Avatar
    Member #
    50491
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    So in other words I can use a PAL Power Supply with it and not cause it to blow up? Does anyone have any visual reference?

  4. #4
    Wii Owner hoopsdude1's Avatar
    Member #
    50599
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    16
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    dont atempt to plug it in cause it will blow up cause i have a ntsc console in the uk and bought a converter i think i paid 30 pounds better 30 pounds than 180 (or more) think of it that way

  5. #5
    Junior Member Lumstorm's Avatar
    Member #
    50743
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    You can use a UK power supply with a US Wii without any problem all regions run the same 12V input.

  6. #6
    Wii Owner hoopsdude1's Avatar
    Member #
    50599
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    16
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    thats not what i was told and my wii came with a us plug 2 pins

  7. #7
    Junior Member Lumstorm's Avatar
    Member #
    50743
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    The US and JPN power supplies run on 120V AC 60HZ and the EU runs on 220V AC 50HZ but they all output 12V DC to the Wii.

    So you can use a UK power supply with a US or JPN machine. But if you use the US or JPN supply in the UK you need a stepdown transformer rated above 45W. Or you will get a big bang

    I actually use a stepdown as I had one lying around and I don't have a UK Wii.

    I believe that you can buy official power supplies from Nintendo for about 20

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

blew wii power supply

,
can wii usa work with power supply from japan
,
nintendo wii ntsc usa
,
ntsc wii voltage uk
,
pal wii power cord
,

pal wii power supply

,

pal wii us power

,
power supply for wii pal
,
wii power adapter jpn ntsc
,

wii power supply 220v

,
wii step down power adapter
,

wii usa pal or ntsc

Click on a term to search for related topics.