LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Friends
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

Need Wiress Cable Modem

I am looking for a Wireless Cable Modem that is compatible with the WII. I initially had my sights set on a Linksys WCG200 until I found out there were compatibility issues. So I am looking for something similar to that one.

Becuase of the locations of my cable ports in the house, I need a cable modem that will provide a direct connect into my PC and also provide a wireless signal through the house.

Ideally I would like to have this one appliance, rather than get a wireless router and other components.

Please help. I have used the search, but since I am brand new at this, I was getting overwhelmed rather quickly. My neighborhood finally got cable high speed and I am about to have it installed and get the WII shortly.

Thank you for your time.

Member #
    Friends
    Okay, here is what I have found so far. If anyone is doing something similar or using these applicances, let me know how they work please.

Linksys DCM-202 Cable Modem connected to a Linksys D-Link DIR-655

Essentially, my PC would direct connect to the D-Link Dir-655 and the Wii would grab the wireless signal from that.

Thoughts?

Member #
    Friends
    it should be fine
    modem >router >wii
    not only is that the common set up, but how else would you do it?
    goodluck

Member #
    Friends
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    I would definitely go the route of separate cable modem and wireless router. By looking for an "all in one" you're limiting your options and making troubleshooting more-difficult.

Plus that way you're free to get a better of either later on down the line. Routers improve faster than cable modems. A lot easier to just swap out the router.
    Quote Originally Posted by Napalmbrain (Moderator)