LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member banjoken's Avatar
    Member #
    56043
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Powering a US Wii abroad

    On a US WII AC adapter it reads Input: AC 120V 53W 60Hz

    My question is i plan to travel abroad to places where the voltage is 220v (50hz), i have a stepdown transformer (220v>>120v) but from what i know it does not convert the frequency (hz). So would having 50hz be okay for the US WII even though on the AC adapter it says 60hz? Has anyone tried powering a US wii in europe/asia with a stepdown transformer?


    thanks a lot in advance.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    slightly amused captainff's Avatar
    Member #
    17836
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    807
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5537-0855-7535-2075
    The safest thing to do is to buy a psu specific to the country that you are taking your Wii to. There have been more than a few reports of secondary step down transformers failing and melting the psu.

    ....................


  4. #3
    . ☆ ☆ ☆ . gidget's Avatar
    Member #
    40723
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    -= ohio, usa =-
    Posts
    2,589
    Friends
    54
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    9999-9999-9999-9999
    i think you can just order a replacement power brick.
    the power brick outputs are the same, but the replacement brick should be ordered as a 220v brick.

    then the only issue you may have is pal/ntsc

    ..

    click logo to join the...
    rainbows & unicorns clan!


  5. #4
    Junior Member godzilla4u's Avatar
    Member #
    56351
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hey, yeah I'm in the exact same position. A US wii in an 220 volt region. The step-down transformer be fine to get the right power input (120) into your wii power cord. The difference is hertz does not matter to you. Because the hz specification only deals w/ frequencies needed to keep clocks and other time-sensitive stuff running right, the only thing it might change is the time displayed on your wii. The power conversion is what you need to focus on, and the transformer you have should do the trick. Of course you can always by wii power cord specific to the volt usage in whatever region you're in (for example, I'm in Europe, so I might get an EU wii power cord that accepts 100-240 volts...it still puts out 12 volts just the same as a US one does).

    That's the easy part though. It's the NTSC/PAL crap you have to deal w/ then...unless you brought a TV with you from the States...

  6. #5
    Junior Member tinker816's Avatar
    Member #
    91958
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hello everybody, Im new here...keep looking for answers about my questions about my Wii console bringing it to my country (Philippines) that has 220V only outlet. Is it possible that I can just use this before I buy it http://www.amazon.com/110V-220v-Adap...hu-rd_add_1_dp

    thanks

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

120v wii into 220v
,
can i use a 220v cord on my american wii
,
can my wii be converted to run on 50hz
,
can nintendo wii 60hz adaptor take 50hz
,
can the wii convert from 120 to 220?
,

is 120v wii ac adapter okay on ntsc wii?

,
use 120v wii in 220v
,

wii 120v

,

wii 120v 220v

,

wii 120v to 220v

,
wii 120v-220v
,

wii 220v

Click on a term to search for related topics.