LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member amirh1's Avatar
    Member #
    56919
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Drums and microphone for Guitar Hero WT

    Hi,
    I have Guitar Hero World Tour, currently with two guitars. I want to add drums and a microphone and have a few questions before I buy. The Best Buy guys didn't seem to know and just made up answers. I've searched these forums and haven't find an exact answer, so here goes:
    1. Do I need a separate remote for each of these? I currently have two remotes, and wish to use both guitars, the drums and the mic simultaneously.
    2. Do I need a special "WII" microphone, or will any USB microphone do?
    3. There are Guitar Hero WT drums and Rockband 2 drums. Leaving compatibility aside, which are considered better?

    Thanks!!

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    alot is not a word goheat's Avatar
    Member #
    51711
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    299
    Friends
    4
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1111-1111-1111-1111
    Quote Originally Posted by amirh1 View Post
    Hi,
    I have Guitar Hero World Tour, currently with two guitars. I want to add drums and a microphone and have a few questions before I buy. The Best Buy guys didn't seem to know and just made up answers. I've searched these forums and haven't find an exact answer, so here goes:
    1. Do I need a separate remote for each of these? I currently have two remotes, and wish to use both guitars, the drums and the mic simultaneously.
    2. Do I need a special "WII" microphone, or will any USB microphone do?
    3. There are Guitar Hero WT drums and Rockband 2 drums. Leaving compatibility aside, which are considered better?

    Thanks!!
    1. You do need a Wii Remote for the GH:WT Wii Drum Kit. If you plan on using the microphone and at least one guitar simultaneously, you won't need a second Wii Remote. If you are only playing with the microphone and no Guitar, you would need a Wii Remote to maneuver around the menus.

    2. Technically, any USB Microphone should do, although I have read of some that don't. I would recommend either the official one, or the Logitech USB Microphone (which is the same thing, only not GH-branded). Other Wiichat members may have other suggestions...

    3. I haven't tried RB2 drums, although the Wii RB2 drums aren't compatible with GH:WT. Also, the RB2 drums don't have an orange drum pad...

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member HubMonkey's Avatar
    Member #
    48651
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    48
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    On the drum thing "Leaving compatibility aside" it is person preference. I have used the RB1 Drums and own the GHWT Drums and like the GHWT drums more... That is my personal opinion.

    As far as what you should buy... go try them out see what you like. I don't really see why someone would choose the RB2 drums over the GHWT ones unless they are just use to them from RB1. If you get the GHWT ones you can change the sensitivity on them with the tool (that is free from Activision) and set them the way you like. Not sure if you can do this with RB2 Drums. Plus as a added bonus you can use them on both games, can't do that with the RB2 drums.

    Hub

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member thcrw739's Avatar
    Member #
    56090
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    24
    Friends
    2
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Chiming in,

    I purchased a used xbox 360 guitar hero branded microphone @ game stop for 10 bucks just to try for that price, and it works perfectly fine on the wii

    So i figure any USB connected ps2, ps3, xbox, offical GH/rock band or off brand for those systems microphone should work.

  6. #5
    Junior Member amirh1's Avatar
    Member #
    56919
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Thanks all - you've been great help!

    I bought the mic from now and apparently (I think) I need a separate remote if I want to include it in the band. So, I can't get 2 guitars and 1 mic to work with only 2 remotes.

    I'll wait for prices to come down a bit on GHWT drums and buy them too.

  7. #6
    alot is not a word goheat's Avatar
    Member #
    51711
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    299
    Friends
    4
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1111-1111-1111-1111
    Quote Originally Posted by amirh1 View Post
    Thanks all - you've been great help!

    I bought the mic from now and apparently (I think) I need a separate remote if I want to include it in the band. So, I can't get 2 guitars and 1 mic to work with only 2 remotes.

    I'll wait for prices to come down a bit on GHWT drums and buy them too.
    No, if you are using two guitars and a microphone, you should only need two Wii Remotes, one for each guitar. The only time you need a remote for the microphone is if you are only playing the game with the microphone and no other instrument(s).

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member HubMonkey's Avatar
    Member #
    48651
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    48
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Using 2 guitars and drums I cannot get the mic to work. I have to use a 4th remote to get the mic to join.

    Hub

  9. #8
    WiiChat Member TheOneSpam's Avatar
    Member #
    56569
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    16
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    as a band or solo play, singer DOES need a wii mote to select and accept song selections etc...

  10. #9
    alot is not a word goheat's Avatar
    Member #
    51711
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    299
    Friends
    4
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1111-1111-1111-1111
    Quote Originally Posted by TheOneSpam View Post
    as a band or solo play, singer DOES need a wii mote to select and accept song selections etc...
    Wow, my bad. I guess I assumed that if you had another instrument besides the microphone plugged in simultaneously, you could use that other instrument's Wii Remote to maneuver the menus (like you can if you are only using a guitar or drum).

    That's kind of lame that you have to still have a separate remote for the mic even if you already have other instruments plugged in...

  11. #10
    WiiChat Member HubMonkey's Avatar
    Member #
    48651
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    48
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by goheat View Post
    That's kind of lame that you have to still have a separate remote for the mic even if you already have other instruments plugged in...
    Agreed.

    Not a big deal to me cause we have several multiplayer games that use 4 remotes, so we own 4 remotes.

    Hub

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

drums and mic for wii
,
drums and microphone for wii guitar hero
,
guitar and drums simultaneously on wii
,
guitar hero 5 wii with the guitar drums in microphone
,
guitar hero mic need wii remote?
,
guitar hero microphone extender
,
how does the microphone work on guitar hero for wii with other controllers?
,
how much do two guitars, one drum, and one microphone from guitar hero cost
,
how much is guitar hero guitar, drums and microphone
,
is microphone needed for guitar hero
,
remote for wii drums
,

wii drums and microphone

Click on a term to search for related topics.