LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member Wiily Good's Avatar
    Member #
    2528
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    941
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Where do I plug my Wii?

    OK. I have asked billions of questions about this before but I have just found out something else.

    Question 1: Will any component cables plug into the Wii console or do only Nintendo branded cables with a specific plug on the end work?

    Question 2: I have a 42" Grand Wega. It has 2 Component Video ports (Red, Green, Blue, Red, White), 3 AV ports, 1 HDMI port and a PC port. Both my component video ports are taken up by my HD set top box and my DVD player. One of my AV ports is used by my VCR. I'm assuming that component cables for the Wii plug into the Component Video Ports. I'm also assuming that the standard composite cables plug into a AV port. Is there a way, apart from unplugging my DVD player, that I can use component cables to plug my Wii into the TV?

    Question 3: Are there any other ways to plug my Wii into the TV (e.g. through HDMI, PC ports, S-Video ports)?

    Hopefully this isn't too confusing.

    Note- I guess this is one case where a combined Wii/DVD player would be useful.
    Last edited by Wiily Good; 11-23-2006 at 04:26 AM.


  2. #2
    Wii Owner COLDshiver's Avatar
    Member #
    1550
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    America
    Posts
    1,084
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4532-8683-6668-7765
    1. The component cables only fit into the Wii because of the shape of the input end.

    2. The compenent cables are the red, green, white, etc. So i think you might need to give up some space or switch the cables. The wii comes with red, white, yellow cables though.

    3. S-Video

  3. #3
    WiiChat Member rottenbanana's Avatar
    Member #
    3578
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    27
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    is your dvd player hdmi capable? if not maybe you should just upgrade to a hdmi dvd player, and that'll free up one of your comp video ports.

    there's no way to hook up the wii to the hdmi port.. i don't think s-video cables are out yet.

  4. #4
    WiiChat Member Wiily Good's Avatar
    Member #
    2528
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    941
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Question 1: Are the S-Video cables out yet?

    Question 2: Would S-Video cables give picture quality equal to component cables?

    Question 3: Is there such thing as a Component Cable switcher box where you can plug two devices into it and ‘switch’ between which device you want to use?

    Question 4: On the end of the Wii Component Cables that plugs into the Wii, is it a special Wii plug or is it a SCART plug or another type of generic plug?

  5. #5
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    component is red green and blue, not red green and white.

    And s-video pretty much sucks.

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  6. #6
    WiiChat Member Devilxier's Avatar
    Member #
    3583
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    15
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    who uses a VCR nowadays anyways o.O;
    just unplug that big box of a VRC

  7. #7
    Pondering Member NateTheGreat's Avatar
    Member #
    500
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    A basement on the hill.
    Posts
    1,469
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4054-9249-4284-3802
    Quote Originally Posted by Wiily Good
    Question 1: Are the S-Video cables out yet?
    Don't know, sorry. I'm guessing if they aren't out yet, they'll be out soon.
    Quote Originally Posted by Wiily Good
    Question 2: Would S-Video cables give picture quality equal to component cables?
    No and they won't give you 480p Progressive Scan, nor true 16:9 widscreen, nor true Dolby ProLogic II. A component cable is the way to go if you have the kind of TV you have.
    Quote Originally Posted by Wiily Good
    Question 3: Is there such thing as a Component Cable switcher box where you can plug two devices into it and ‘switch’ between which device you want to use?
    I'm guessing there is, but I looked for one a while ago and came up empty, although I didn't look very hard. If any of your AV equipment could be switched to S-video, maybe that's the best way to go if you can't find a switch box.

    *EDIT* Just searched google for a component video switch, and look what I found:
    and
    The first one can be found here for $70 and the second one can be found here for $80. Sometimes a quick google search solves everything.
    Quote Originally Posted by Wiily Good
    Question 4: On the end of the Wii Component Cables that plugs into the Wii, is it a special Wii plug or is it a SCART plug or another type of generic plug?
    Yeah, Wii has a proprietary port for component cables, so you'll have to get Nintendo-branded Wii component cables; SCART won't work.
    Last edited by NateTheGreat; 11-23-2006 at 03:30 PM.
    "Whatever you do may seem insignificant, but it is most important that you do it." - GANDHI


    Picture created by: NateTheGreat

  8. #8
    WiiChat Member Wiily Good's Avatar
    Member #
    2528
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    941
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Last edited by Wiily Good; 11-23-2006 at 11:22 PM.


  9. #9
    WiiChat Member infernocs's Avatar
    Member #
    1078
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    159
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    With a TV like that you most likely have an A/V Receiver/Amp also???? With surround speakers?? If you dont, shame on you!!! Go buy one!

    Well if you do, most of them have component switches in them, I have a Yamaha and it has programmable I/O:s so I can choose witch audio source uses witch video source and so on.
    Owner Of:
    Wii + 2xWiimote+nunchuk
    Classic Pad & Comp. Cables.
    TP, Wario, COD3, Play, Sports

  10. #10
    Pondering Member NateTheGreat's Avatar
    Member #
    500
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    A basement on the hill.
    Posts
    1,469
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4054-9249-4284-3802
    Hmm, I'm not really sure. Personally, I would just spend the extra dough and get a new and packaged one rather than taking a risk and possibly getting a faulty one on eBay. But, I could be wrong.
    "Whatever you do may seem insignificant, but it is most important that you do it." - GANDHI


    Picture created by: NateTheGreat

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Can you plug into any port for 1 player GC games?
    By wii're@#$! in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2007, 11:11 AM
  2. German Wii in the UK - Plug situation?
    By swampy in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-09-2007, 10:16 AM
  3. Can I plug a Wii into my PC monitor!?
    By Buggerburns in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-30-2007, 03:02 PM
  4. How do you plug in GCN controllers to the Wii?
    By bubba-ga-nush in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-02-2006, 11:18 PM
  5. How do you plug it in?
    By Lord Haku in forum Virtual Console, WiiWare and DSIWare
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 09-24-2006, 04:49 AM

Search tags for this page

how do i plug my wii into my tv

,
how do you plugg a wii into the tv
,
how to connect a wii 5 plug av to a 3 plug switch
,
how to plug dvd player and wii into tv
,
how to plug in my wii
,
how to plug the wii into a seki tv
,
plugging a wii mini into dvd player
,
plugging wii into dvd
,
what components does the wii plug into
,
what order do you plug in the components for the wii
,
why cant i plug mu wii into the back of my tv that only has a red and white av plug
,
wii unit where do headphones plug in at
Click on a term to search for related topics.