LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member WilliamKF's Avatar
    Member #
    60364
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Unable to run gamecube title 'Pikmin'

    Hello,

    I'm trying to run my first gamecube title on the Wii. It is 'Pikmin'.

    The Wii recognizes the disc and shows up in the top level screen as "Nintendo Gamecube". If I then start it up, I get a screen that reads:

    Nintendo
    Would you like to display in progressive scan mode?
    Yes
    No

    But I am unable to scroll or select either yes or no.

    I am using a Wiimote with a wii classic controller plugged into it. I tried a different Wiimote and a different wii classic controller to no avail. Once the dialog comes up the Wiimote loses the blue indicator light to show it is remote number 1, all the blue lights are off. If I power the Wiimote on again all four blue LEDs flash several times before going dead.

    Not sure what I am doing wrong.

    Please assist.

    Thanks.

    -William

  2. #2
    WiiChat Member bradleyd's Avatar
    Member #
    55499
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    184
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    You must use a Gamecube controller to play Gamecube games on the Wii. You also need a Gamecube memory card if you want to save progress in Gamecube games.

    The Wii basically runs natively as a GC when a GC game is launched (it is not emulated). Therefore there is no bluetooth connection to the Wiimotes (which is why the Wiimote won't stay connected or re-connect), it only polls the GC controller ports. This is also why a GC memory card is needed for saving since the GC side of the console has not been reprogrammed to access on board memory, it only accesses the GC memory slots.
    Last edited by bradleyd; 05-26-2009 at 10:00 PM.

  3. #3
    Junior Member WilliamKF's Avatar
    Member #
    60364
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Where do the game cube controllers plug in? Also, the sensor bar is plugged in so wouldn't the wiimotes talk to it and not involve the GC for the wireless connection? Also, why are there many posts on the internet talking about using either the GC controllers or the wii classic controller? Can the classic controller plug directly into the wii console?

  4. #4
    slightly amused captainff's Avatar
    Member #
    17836
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    807
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5537-0855-7535-2075
    bradleyd is correct about the controllers and memory card with GC games.


    If you have your Wii in the 'vertical' position then the flaps that hide the GC controller ports and memory card are on the top of your Wii.

    The reason that some posts talk about using either the GC pad or the Classic is that some VC titles and some Wii titles allow you to use either.

    ....................


  5. #5
    Senior Member Skippy's Avatar
    Member #
    10574
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,191
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    This is in the manual.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

can you play pikmin gamecube on the wii without a memory chip
,
gamecube controller with wii wont work pikmin
,
how to use the gamecube controller on pikmin 2 wii
,
pikmin 2 wii with classic controller
,
pikmin and gamecube controller for wii
,
pikmin gamecube wont work on wii
,

pikmin memory card

,
pikmin wii gamecube controller
,
saving gamecube games on the wii
,
what controller do i need to play pikmin on the wii
,
wii pikmin 2 gamecube wiimote
,
wii remote wont stay connected with gamecube game
Click on a term to search for related topics.