LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member snadge's Avatar
    Member #
    60704
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    does Wii output HD ?

    my sister has got a HD readsy 720p/1080i TV and is using the Wii AV cable (yellow/white/red) and she says the picture/quality doesnt seem right or as good as the TV (SKY)... she says its better than on her old CRT TV..

    on eBay they sell COMPONENT cables claiming to display your wii to 720p or 1080i - but ive read elsewhere this isnt true...but the cable WILL improve the picture quality...

    can anyone advise please?

    (ive not seen the pic quality myself)

    thanks

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    WiiChat Member sbarrett4's Avatar
    Member #
    55590
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    The cable will improve your picture quality but the Wii itself does not output an HD signal. You may find that the "impoved" quality is actually more jaggy and revert back to the included AV cable.

  4. #3
    Not Here Shadow*91's Avatar
    Member #
    55593
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Another site.
    Posts
    1,915
    Friends
    38
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Wii's arent HD compatible. thats the truth. and i've done the same thing as her. i put my wii on my 1080i plasma and the result was a bad quality graphics. i put it back on my LCD tv and it looks normal. trust me, the Wii can't do HD. the ebay person is full of shit

  5. #4
    Junior Member snadge's Avatar
    Member #
    60704
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Shadow*91 View Post
    Wii's arent HD compatible. thats the truth. and i've done the same thing as her. i put my wii on my 1080i plasma and the result was a bad quality graphics. i put it back on my LCD tv and it looks normal. trust me, the Wii can't do HD. the ebay person is full of shit
    bad pic on PDP but same on LCD...?

    anyhow she is using an LCD ...

    should i advise the use of component? theyre only £3 with free P&P on eBay
    heres the persons advert that claims they output 720p/1080i

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/HD-Component-A...3%3A1|294%3A50

    also according to reviews on amazon its cos people arent setting the Wii and TV up properly is why they get shit picture... you got to set 480p progressive to get rid of INTERLACING JAGGY EDGES and set the TV correctly aswell...
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Nintendo-Off...owViewpoints=1
    Last edited by snadge; 06-09-2009 at 03:31 AM.

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member bradleyd's Avatar
    Member #
    55499
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    184
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Yes, component cable is the best way to hook up the Wii to an HDTV.

    No, you will not get 720p/1080i resolution. The Wii will only output 480i/480p. You can only set 480p using the component cable.

    You will still get some noticeable jaggies with component. This is mostly due to poor anti-aliasing from the Wii and/or lack of anti-aliasing programmed into the game (some games look better than others as far as fewer jaggies go). It is also due to displaying a 480p picture on a higher resolution screen. Some HDTV's have better upscaling than others, which is why you will read reports of some people saying the component makes it look worse or better (poor upscaling results in more jaggies).

    The component cable will definitely give you a much crisper picture and better colors, with the caveat that jaggies may be more apparent (since the picture is much clearer/crisp via progressive, they stand out more than the blurry interlaced imaged)
    Last edited by bradleyd; 06-09-2009 at 12:32 PM.

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member Godwind's Avatar
    Member #
    55571
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    417
    Friends
    11
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    The best the Wii can do in HD is using an upscaler. Although that is just about it.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Skippy's Avatar
    Member #
    10574
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2,191
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Godwind View Post
    The best the Wii can do in HD is using an upscaler. Although that is just about it.
    That doesn't add any additional image data though.

  9. #8
    WiiChat Member Godwind's Avatar
    Member #
    55571
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    417
    Friends
    11
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Skippy View Post
    That doesn't add any additional image data though.
    Never said it did.

  10. #9
    WiiChat Member Kage848's Avatar
    Member #
    56143
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    70
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Ok i have a question to ask here since you guys seems to know a lot about it.

    I have a Wii and a real crappy TV. 480i or some crap. its STV.

    I want to get an HD TV for the upcoming console's. I also read that the Wii looks way better in 480p than 480i. But i dont want a non-HD tv because i dont wanna have to go out and get a better TV in the near future.

    Now i was thinking, for my bedroom, a 32in 720p. Would that be good for my situation? Will the Wii look good on it? And is a 32in 720p TV not ganna be obsolite, sorry cant spell, in a year or 3?


    Thanks for any info you can give me.

  11. #10
    Not Here Shadow*91's Avatar
    Member #
    55593
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Another site.
    Posts
    1,915
    Friends
    38
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    the wii can't handle picture quality better then 480p/480i. anythihg higher will make the picture look wrong. get an upscaling component and it will still look wrong. there is no way to make the Wii look ok in HD. at least until Nintendo does something, which it won't

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

can the wii output hd
,
can wii output hd
,
does wii have hd output
,
how to make a wii hd
,

how to make wii hd

,
nintendo wii hd output
,
put wii in hd
,
what resolution does the wii output
,

wii hd output

,
wii output hd
,
wii output resolution
,
wii resolution output
Click on a term to search for related topics.