LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member xFyre's Avatar
    Member #
    66696
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Problem with VGA cable

    Hi

    I bought my Wii 3 days ago, and I had it connected to a standard TV through the scart plug. I bought a VGA cable so that I could connect it to my monitor, but I have a problem.

    From time to time, the screen goes black for about 2 seconds, and then it goes back to normal.

    I'm using a cable I bought in a video game store, and it's connected to an 1080p Asus VH242H screen, through the VGA plug. I am using the EDTV/HDTV setting on the wii.

    What could be wrong?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    WiiChat Member Suraj7's Avatar
    Member #
    63916
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    69
    Friends
    3
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4053-4019-7424-8561
    You require a component cable to use the HD settings on the Wii. A VGA cables max setting is 60Hz.

  3. #3
    Junior Member xFyre's Avatar
    Member #
    66696
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    If I do select 50 or 60 Hz, the picture goes out of place, in a way that it isn't adjustable with the "Screen Position" option. And in the back of the cable's box it says to select the EDTV/HDTV settings.

  4. #4
    WiiChat Member Suraj7's Avatar
    Member #
    63916
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    69
    Friends
    3
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4053-4019-7424-8561
    Oh right I think I know what you mean. I don't have any experience with VGA cables, I thought you meant something else. All I can think off is that, have you connected the cable properly in the VGA slot in your monitor?

  5. #5
    Junior Member xFyre's Avatar
    Member #
    66696
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Yup, checked all connections and everything looks in place. I'm going to try it on a non-HD monitor and see how it goes. If it does the same thing, it's probably the cable.

  6. #6
    Bringer of meaty goodness DBloke's Avatar
    WiiChat Moderator
    Member #
    228
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Super Mancyland
    Posts
    18,994
    Friends
    33
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    Quote Originally Posted by Suraj7 View Post
    You require a component cable to use the HD settings on the Wii. A VGA cables max setting is 60Hz.
    No
    With my old one I could get the Wiis HD setting
    Sadly my VGA cable has decided not to work on my monitors and only via the VGA connection on my TV


    You new? See this!
    W
    ii U FAQ

    Spoiler Alert!

    @D_Bloke - My inane prattle


  7. #7
    WiiChat Member Suraj7's Avatar
    Member #
    63916
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    England
    Posts
    69
    Friends
    3
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4053-4019-7424-8561
    Yeah I realised my mistake
    I was thinking of some other kind of cable.

  8. #8
    Bringer of meaty goodness DBloke's Avatar
    WiiChat Moderator
    Member #
    228
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Super Mancyland
    Posts
    18,994
    Friends
    33
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    S-Video maybe?

    Anyway to the OP
    Do you have a TV with a VGA input?
    if that fails take it back and ask for a replacement


    You new? See this!
    W
    ii U FAQ

    Spoiler Alert!

    @D_Bloke - My inane prattle


  9. #9
    Junior Member xFyre's Avatar
    Member #
    66696
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I have a video projector.

    I have tried to link the wii to the other monitor I talked about and it did the same thing, but now I am unsure if it's the cable itself, or if the Wii has some kind of problem. I am going to do a test. Since the cable has two different connections, one for the Wii and another one for the PS3, I will try to hook it up to my PS3 and play for a while, to see if the same thing happens.

    But, since my projector has both standard video in and VGA, I can just try to connect the Wii with both cables and see the results.

    One more thing, it's not the screen, since it's working just fine with the PS3 and the PC.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Strange problem with Component Cable..or LCD TV Problem??
    By NightRune in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-06-2007, 01:40 PM
  2. component hd cable problem
    By jimbo125 in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-05-2007, 11:45 AM
  3. HD Componet Cable for Wii
    By EvilAquaSnipe in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 01-03-2007, 02:12 PM
  4. Worst with component cable or
    By wuju in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-13-2006, 09:14 AM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-27-2006, 10:06 AM

Search tags for this page

asus vh242h wii
,
connect nintendo wii to vga connection on hdtv
,
monitor goes black when connected to wii
,
ps3 vga black screen
,

what else can you do with the vga cord

,

wii vga black screen fix

,

wii vga cable black screen

,

wii vga cable black screen fix

,
wii vga cable goes black for a few seconds
,

wii vga cable screen problem

,
wii vga screen black
,
wii vga, black out random
Click on a term to search for related topics.