LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member itzzbalaez's Avatar
    Member #
    2793
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    97
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    You can only use component cables on a HDTV?

    I have a TV that my parents bought maybe 4 years ago. It isn't as flat as a HDTV, but it's pretty skinny and it has way better picture then the other TV's in my house. I don't know the specs on it, but I'm pretty sure it is 480p (or whatever it is). How would I find out if it supports 480p or what the component cables are for? My dad and mom wouldn't know because they are about as knowledgeable about electronics as my dog. So yea.. thanks.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    EDTV or HDTV allows for 480p. %90 of the time if it is HDTV it will have the hdtv logo on the front of the tv. Or a quick way to check, do you even have component inputs on the tv? If you do, then next google your tv and see if it is an EDTV or HDTV.

    But if it is a tube crt.....and not a flatscreen....then no, it will not play 480p.

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  4. #3
    Unofficial WiiChat Helper Link_of_Hyrule's Avatar
    Member #
    713
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Athens, AL
    Posts
    800
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7114-5214-3386-2022
    have you tried looking on the back of your tv to see if it had component input ports or what ever you would call them?

    EDIT:
    lol sorry i didn't read the last post

    Please PM me before adding me!

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member itzzbalaez's Avatar
    Member #
    2793
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    97
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I have no idea wha component cables look like. Are they the big ass wires?

  6. #5
    WiiMaster csiguy4u's Avatar
    Member #
    2738
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    1,174
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member 04bBDriver's Avatar
    Member #
    4448
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    san antonio
    Posts
    34
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8822-4739-3284-9139
    i took my Wii to a friends house
    he just bought a new 42" HDTV Westinghouse
    used the bundle RCA's and it looked ok to me
    probably nicer with the Component Cables
    but i have a crappy tv.......
    mankind has undestimated the consequences of computerization, it will be his undoing

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member sracer's Avatar
    Member #
    3569
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Posts
    55
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    No, component cables aren't only for HDTV. Component cables can be used on any TV that has component inputs. (Red Green Blue phono jacks for video) A Wii will look better using component cables even on a "regular" TV with component inputs.

  9. #8
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Quote Originally Posted by sracer
    No, component cables aren't only for HDTV. Component cables can be used on any TV that has component inputs. (Red Green Blue phono jacks for video) A Wii will look better using component cables even on a "regular" TV with component inputs.
    he is asking if he can get 480p.

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  10. #9
    Dead wii love gamin's Avatar
    Member #
    4775
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Dead
    Posts
    302
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    i have an hdpj (high definition projector) and component cables so its gonna look sweet on that christmas morning which is only 17 days and 1 hour away

    DEAD DEAD DEAD DEAD DEAD DEAD DEAD DEAD DEAD

    DEAD

    DEAD

    DEAD

    DEAD
    DEAD

    DEAD


  11. #10
    I Wii standing up nemo87's Avatar
    Member #
    2247
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    62
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    yes, if your tv has component inputs, by all means use them.

    I have a newer regular trueFlat Tv, and i was running my dvd player off of rca cables, but then realized that i had component outputs on my dvd player, so i bought some cables, and man what a difference.
    I'm waiting till Wii component cables get a little more common, and till i can get some money to buy mine.
    28 Hours in line...
    Free chicken diner from walmart...
    Sleeping in a shopping cart shanty town...
    but Wii, Red Steel, and a extra Wiimote/nunchuk are mine...
    Worth it?
    oh hell yea

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Component cables not working??
    By EKGProd in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-03-2009, 07:12 PM
  2. *PROBLEMS =(* Wii on HDTV with Component Cables...
    By shrimpy20 in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-13-2007, 02:03 PM
  3. Wii Component Cables w/ Olevia 327v HDTV Ready monitor trouble
    By xtreme1227 in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-24-2007, 12:03 PM
  4. component cables, HDTV and surround sound receiver
    By captaincandy in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-15-2007, 09:13 AM
  5. Component Cables Telephone Ordering
    By i0n in forum Wii News
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-20-2006, 09:23 AM

Search tags for this page

can i use the wii component cable on hd tv.

,

can i use wii and component dvd

,

can wii component cables be used on regular tvs

,

can you use regualar component cables with a tv that only has the hd component ports

,

does the lg tv only use component cables

,

how can i add component inputs to my hdtv

,

how do i add component inputs to my hdtv

,

how to use wii on hdtv

,

how to use wii to see picture in hd tv

,

my wii will not have a picture on my hdtv only tube

,

which component cables should i use with my nintendo wii

,

wii tv has no component inputs

Click on a term to search for related topics.