LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 58
  1. #21
    WiiChat Member vhdblood's Avatar
    Member #
    8339
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2278-8709-0543-4037
    Just because it says b/g doesn't mean it needs both, it just means it supports both. B wireless is on older version of wireless, while G is the newer standard. Also, I'm pretty sure that ad-hoc is only transmitted in 802.11b anyway, not in g, so that was really making me hope even more.

  2. #22
    Wii noob Goots's Avatar
    Member #
    7048
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    175
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Yeah I'm aware of that, I just read somewhere on this forum that the Wii needs both, but having looked further into it, I know now it doesn't

    btw, I edited my orginal post.

  3. #23
    WiiChat Member vhdblood's Avatar
    Member #
    8339
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2278-8709-0543-4037
    That's one of my main problems, I don't have another device to check it with. I will pretty soon, but I don't right now. Also, how do I make the device broadcast the SSID, because I can't find an option for this. I really don't think it's that though, because I went in and set the SSID manually, but it still won't pick up the signal.

  4. #24
    Wii noob Goots's Avatar
    Member #
    7048
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    175
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    btw, I'm assuming you have connection sharing active and your wireless deviced bridged to your internet connection. Also might be worth disabling windows firewall (only for this connection)

    Even if your Wii can't access the net, it should find your network. Still reading up on ad-hoc connections and the Wii. The official Nintendo line is that they aren't supported at present. Doesn't mean they won't work though.
    Last edited by Goots; 12-16-2006 at 01:36 PM.

  5. #25
    WiiChat Member vhdblood's Avatar
    Member #
    8339
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2278-8709-0543-4037
    Yeah, I figured as much. Anyway, I have sharing active, but if I go in and enable sharing on my normal connection so that it shares through the wireless device, it won't let me bridge them.

  6. #26
    Wii noob Goots's Avatar
    Member #
    7048
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    175
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    buy this right now

    it's what I use for 3 PC's, DS, Wii and Laptop

    works a treat with no messing about and ur ad-hoc PC doesn't need to be on for your Wii Connect24 to work

    (2 mins left on that auction at time of posting)

  7. #27
    WiiChat Member vhdblood's Avatar
    Member #
    8339
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2278-8709-0543-4037
    Too bad I can't afford it.

    Anyway, do you have any more ideas for me?

  8. #28
    WiiChat Member vhdblood's Avatar
    Member #
    8339
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2278-8709-0543-4037
    YAY! I did it! Sorta.... It's now detected, but it won't connect.

  9. #29
    Wii noob Goots's Avatar
    Member #
    7048
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    175
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Well when I was first setting up the Wii with my Router, it would find the wireless network and connect to it (even using 128bit WEP encryption) but it kept failing the internet connection test thing.

    I had to add the mac address of the Wii to my routers' mac filter table to allow the Wii shared internet access.

    Don't know if that's your problem, but at least you seem to be making some progress

    [edit]: do you mean it can see your wireless network but won't connect to it, or it has connected to your wireless network but won't connect to the internet ??

    If it's the first one, I would try turning the WEP (and possibly firewall) off just to see if it's getting blocked.
    Last edited by Goots; 12-16-2006 at 02:34 PM.

  10. #30
    WiiChat Member vhdblood's Avatar
    Member #
    8339
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2278-8709-0543-4037
    I was actually about to ask how I would access a MAC filter table. I also wanted to make note that on my actual DSL modem I am able to see the IP address I manually set for my Wii, I guess because I tried to access it.

    Also, what do I need to set the MTU value for?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Wii internet connection issues
    By kennedy316 in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-19-2010, 11:09 AM
  2. "Ad Hoc" Network Connection
    By sherlocktheholmes in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-23-2007, 11:49 AM
  3. Wii Internet Connection Suggestions
    By MRodUF in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-21-2007, 02:19 PM
  4. Wii and network connection?
    By ylomnstr in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 10:26 PM
  5. Connection to the internet please help :D
    By 241 boi in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2007, 04:03 PM

Search tags for this page

51030 unable to find an access point connectify me
,
adhoc connection wii usb
,
connect wii to ad hoc network
,
connect wii to internet adhoc
,
does the wii connect to adhoc
,
error 51030 wii ad hoc
,
how do i set up ad-hoc to my wii
,
how to connect a wii to an ad hoc network
,

how to connect wii to ad hoc

,
what is error code 51032 on a wii
,
wii ad hoc connection
,
wii error connection 51030
Click on a term to search for related topics.