LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6
Results 51 to 58 of 58
  1. #51
    WiiChat Member marq08's Avatar
    Member #
    13377
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Ok so I believe I have solved each of these problems in one way or anotehr for the few situations i have heard here. The simpelst form is to go to this website http://www.dailywireless.org/2004/01...point-roundup/ which has a list of many licensed and open source software access poins for the majority of laptop wireless cards particularly any Intel card. As far as the ad-hoc which is supposedly uncompatible I have seemed to dodge this problem by settign the ip address that the laptop shares the connection from to the equivalent of a lynksis or microsoft router which is 192.168.1.254 or 192.168.0.254. If you wish for me to attempt and make things more clear or if either of these methods fails then please email me or post here and I will check back in a couple of days.

  2. Ads


  3. #52
    Junior Member Ant#'s Avatar
    Member #
    13038
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    marq08 if you could give a step-by-step guide on how you set up the ad-hoc it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

  4. #53
    Aci
    Aci is offline
    Junior Member Aci's Avatar
    Member #
    12910
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Aye, looks like the correct way, although i got alot of troubles getting that program to work, the correct configuration to be exact, then i started reading, and then i saw you need a hardware access point, and controlAP just let you control that hardware access point, i don't really see any options about making your own software AP with that prog, so a bit of explaining would be sweet

    Thx for the info so far tho, atleast there is light at the end of the tunnel again

  5. #54
    WiiChat Member marq08's Avatar
    Member #
    13377
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    As far as the softAP I have an intel chipset in my laptop so I am using the Sputnik Gateway program on the bottom of the site. The adhoc network can be set up the following way with little trouble.

    1. Create a wireless network
    2. Change your Wireless IP to static 192.168.0.254 or 192.168.1.254 depending on whether that digit was a 1 or a 0 to begin with.
    3. Attempt to connect the wii and the computer to the network simeltaneously if the pc does not auto connect.
    4. If the wii gives a message that the SSID failed then I cannot help you and it is something to do with your hardware but if it says the internet failed then check the firewall settings and the such and will attempt to help you best I can.

  6. #55
    Junior Member Ant#'s Avatar
    Member #
    13038
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hey marq08

    Only got a chance to try your solution this morning. A quick summary of what I'm trying to do -

    I have a windows xp PC connected to the web. I had previously setup a wireless ad hoc connection between the pc and laptop with no issues. Trying to connect wii to this.

    As suggested I changed the Wireless IP of the PC to static 192.168.1.254. Laptop connected to this with no issues. However, the wii successfully locates the SSID but fails the connection test with 51030 - "unable to find an access point. Please confirm SSID".

    All firewalls, security settings are disabled.

    Any ideas?

  7. #56
    Junior Member mrbarlow's Avatar
    Member #
    12449
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    any one worked this problem out yet?

  8. #57
    Junior Member Ogreslayr's Avatar
    Member #
    14861
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    incompatible Settings

    Quote Originally Posted by JetHead
    (Phil - Sometimes on norton in the Norton Antivirus options thier is Internet Worm Protection then Auto block rules if their is any ip addressess in thier it might be your Wii. just press unblock. I hope that helps!)

    I am also having the same problems! Im using a laptop that i connect the internet to then i share it through a ad hoc Wireless lan that i set up. The Wii detects it then when it comes to Internet testing i get the error "Unable to find Access Point. Please confirm your SSID". So what i did is made a statc ip for the Wii then as 11.15.90.50, subnet mask as 255.255.255.240 Gateway as 10.49.17.49 and then i put in my dns. Then it came to the Internet Test then it said Unable to connect to internet. So i have no idea?

    I got my Subnet, gateway and dns by putting in command prompt ipconfig/all

    Your IP address should be within the range of the gateway unless you are using a router with NAT. Also, by setting it up statically you need to make sure that those ip's are supported in the DHCP server. You should probably use an ip more like 10.149.17.53 instead of 11.15.90.50. The subnet mask allows you to have 12 ip's. 1 for the gateway and 1 for the broadcast ip, leaving you with 10 usable ip address'.

  9. #58
    Junior Member DanH's Avatar
    Member #
    73312
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    55124
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Ad Hoc Prob Solved!!!! (for Windows7 at least)

    Connectify is super awesome!!!
    I use my laptop and Windows Mobile phone for the internet all the time and was not about to go out and buy a wireless router just to get my Wii Online. Read through this forum and was totally stuck like the rest of everyone. I learned the hard and long way like everyone else here that the Wii ABSOLUTELY DOES NOT SUPPORT AD-HOC, PERIOD!!!
    Connectify requires certain NIC chipsets and Windows7 to work. (Did not work with my external Buffalo USB)
    Using my internal Atheros Chipset found on my Toshiba Satellite and putting it into AP-mode using Connectify, I finally got my Wii online through my Windows7 Laptop, tethered to my Windows Mobile phone!!!
    Wireless is so awesome!!!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Wii internet connection issues
    By kennedy316 in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-19-2010, 10:09 AM
  2. "Ad Hoc" Network Connection
    By sherlocktheholmes in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-23-2007, 10:49 AM
  3. Wii Internet Connection Suggestions
    By MRodUF in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-21-2007, 01:19 PM
  4. Wii and network connection?
    By ylomnstr in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 09:26 PM
  5. Connection to the internet please help :D
    By 241 boi in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2007, 03:03 PM

Search tags for this page

51030 unable to find an access point connectify me
,
adhoc connection wii usb
,
connect wii to ad hoc network
,
connect wii to internet adhoc
,
does the wii connect to adhoc
,
error 51030 wii ad hoc
,
how do i set up ad-hoc to my wii
,
how to connect a wii to an ad hoc network
,

how to connect wii to ad hoc

,
what is error code 51032 on a wii
,
wii ad hoc connection
,
wii error connection 51030
Click on a term to search for related topics.