LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 58
  1. #1
    wiilly phill's Avatar
    Member #
    7913
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4815-8156-1119-5344

    ad-hoc network connection

    hi there,

    just got my wii, and having the usual internet connection problems - for me its error 51030 - "unable to find an access point. Please confirm SSID" - i have def typed the right WEP password in.

    however, the wii can detect my network when it searches to it - im not a networking specialist, so my knowledge of how it all works is limited.

    ive got an wireless ad-hoc connection from my wii to a computer downstairs running as an ad-hoc server - the reason why i dont have a router is that ive got a usb modem, which is a pain in the ass - however, from reading other threads it seems the wii should still connect.

    ive tried putting the ip in manually - putting in the ip address of the adhoc computer and its subnet mask - i have no address for the default router.

    not really sure what to do or whether what ive been doing is right...is there any other way of getting round this? do ad-hoc networks actually work with the wii? any comments would be appreciated as long as theyre useful :P

  2. #2
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    1) Try switching to a 64 bit encryption if it isn't already.

    2) Make sure the key you put in the wii is the key you have selected on the router.

    3) If that doesn't work try disabling wep and see if it works then.

    4) If you really need security, try using WPA instead.

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  3. #3
    Wii noob Goots's Avatar
    Member #
    7048
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    175
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    When you say "ive tried putting the ip in manually - putting in the ip address of the adhoc computer and its subnet mask" then that sounds to me like you're typing in the same address as your ad-hoc computer. This is fine if you are talking about the default gateway ip (and the subnet masks should be identical too), but if you're talking about the Wii ip then it should be something different to your ad-hoc server.

    eg, if your server is 192.168.1.2|255.255.255.255, then set the wii to 192.168.1.5|255.255.255.255, but check that the ip is free first by pinging it with the Dos ping command.

  4. #4
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Quote Originally Posted by Goots
    When you say "ive tried putting the ip in manually - putting in the ip address of the adhoc computer and its subnet mask" then that sounds to me like you're typing in the same address as your ad-hoc computer. This is fine if you are talking about the default gateway ip (and the subnet masks should be identical too), but if you're talking about the Wii ip then it should be something different to your ad-hoc server.

    eg, if your server is 192.168.1.2|255.255.255.255, then set the wii to 192.168.1.5|255.255.255.255, but check that the ip is free first by pinging it with the Dos ping command.
    You mean 255.255.255.0

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  5. #5
    Wii noob Goots's Avatar
    Member #
    7048
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    175
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Ok mister fancy pants

  6. #6
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Quote Originally Posted by Goots
    Ok mister fancy pants
    Just saying, if you have a 255.255.255.255 mask it will assume you have 0 host addresses.

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  7. #7
    Wii noob Goots's Avatar
    Member #
    7048
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    North Wales, UK
    Posts
    175
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Yeah sorry, didn't mean to come across as being testy.

    You are of course correct, the subnet mask for 192.168.1.2 should indeed be 255.255.255.0

    It's been ages since I manually set anything up

  8. #8
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Quote Originally Posted by Goots
    Yeah sorry, didn't mean to come across as being testy.

    You are of course correct, the subnet mask for 192.168.1.2 should indeed be 255.255.255.0

    It's been ages since I manually set anything up
    I have it all pretty down pat, considering they drill it in you when you take Cisco classes.

    subnetting is evil.

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  9. #9
    wiilly phill's Avatar
    Member #
    7913
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4815-8156-1119-5344
    ok cheers for the help people sofar...so:

    my ad-hoc computer has an ip address of 192.168.0.1, with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0.

    so what show i put in the wii settings for manual IP address - do i have to fill in the default router at all?

    oh, and my WEP encryption is 128 bit (i think) - will this be a problem?

    cheers

  10. #10
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Quote Originally Posted by phill
    ok cheers for the help people sofar...so:

    my ad-hoc computer has an ip address of 192.168.0.1, with a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0.

    so what show i put in the wii settings for manual IP address - do i have to fill in the default router at all?

    oh, and my WEP encryption is 128 bit (i think) - will this be a problem?

    cheers
    Make the ip for your Wii something like 192.168.0.2

    Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

    And the 128 bit wep has been a problem with some people. It is just a problem in general sometimes with wifi.

    You should have first disabled WEP to make sure it is not your problem.

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Wii internet connection issues
    By kennedy316 in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-19-2010, 10:09 AM
  2. "Ad Hoc" Network Connection
    By sherlocktheholmes in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-23-2007, 10:49 AM
  3. Wii Internet Connection Suggestions
    By MRodUF in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-21-2007, 01:19 PM
  4. Wii and network connection?
    By ylomnstr in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-01-2007, 09:26 PM
  5. Connection to the internet please help :D
    By 241 boi in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2007, 03:03 PM

Search tags for this page

51030 unable to find an access point connectify me
,
adhoc connection wii usb
,
connect wii to ad hoc network
,
connect wii to internet adhoc
,
does the wii connect to adhoc
,
error 51030 wii ad hoc
,
how do i set up ad-hoc to my wii
,
how to connect a wii to an ad hoc network
,

how to connect wii to ad hoc

,
what is error code 51032 on a wii
,
wii ad hoc connection
,
wii error connection 51030
Click on a term to search for related topics.