LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 39 of 39
  1. #31
    WiiChat Member pluto2's Avatar
    Member #
    10257
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    84
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    TurboJeff: Thank you, very very much, it's been so hard to find someone who has it. Are you happy with your choice of wireless access point in general? I'm thinking speed, dropouts, signal strength etc, whatever, as I interpret it, it works fine with Wii either way! GREAT! you don't have to run it in B mode or anything like that? works fine in G? Funny thing - I'm in the very same situation as you as I also just want to add wireless capacity to my exisiting wired network.

  2. Ads


  3. #32
    I'm like a ninja! match002001's Avatar
    Member #
    11494
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    273
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1484-3381-6098-3781
    HEHE With access points all you need to worry about really is the quality of the product. People have many different outlooks on different brands due to past expirences or just word of mouth.

    My suggestion personally would be to do your own research and find what suits you the best. Linksys is a very big name in networking due to Cisco being part of that deal. Netgear is pretty basic networking and more likely to be affordable no problems with mine yet. D-Link, well, not sure what to say about D-Link other than it's hit or miss.

    Do keep in mind though that Wireless signals no matter what the brand can drop out if there is interference such as a wireless phone being operated (phone and router operating at 2.4 or 5.8 Ghz) Also Microwaves, refridgerators, power lines, and believe it or not pine trees.

    P.S. The Wii has a built-in Mitsumi DWM-W004 WiFi 802.11b/g wireless module which means b or g is supported so don't worry too much about your router operating off of b or g.
    Last edited by match002001; 01-02-2007 at 12:07 PM.

    It's Wiitastic and PS3 can lick my balls, you can quote me on that if you like



    1484-3381-6098-3781

    "PM me your Wii number if you want to add me"


  4. #33
    Scaring the neighbors TurboJeff's Avatar
    Member #
    8925
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7556-4596-0993-9597
    Quote Originally Posted by pluto2
    TurboJeff: Thank you, very very much, it's been so hard to find someone who has it. Are you happy with your choice of wireless access point in general? I'm thinking speed, dropouts, signal strength etc, whatever, as I interpret it, it works fine with Wii either way! GREAT! you don't have to run it in B mode or anything like that? works fine in G? Funny thing - I'm in the very same situation as you as I also just want to add wireless capacity to my exisiting wired network.
    Hi pluto2,

    I am very happy with the choice I made in using the Linksys WAP54G. I do run it in mixed mode. The Wii has no trouble connecting that way. The signal strength, etc. has not been an issue for me, since the WAP is actually in the same room as the Wii in my case. It was a good choice for me. I've always liked the Linksys products.
    Wii system bought 12/19/06

  5. #34
    WiiChat Member pluto2's Avatar
    Member #
    10257
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    84
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    TurboJeff: Thank you very much, this helps me alot in picking out a WAP.

  6. #35
    WiiChat Member Sp00ks's Avatar
    Member #
    11608
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    10
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1605-2114-2555-8227
    I as well have the WAP54G and it works fine...great actually, I get signal 2 floors up from where my AP is and where I get low signal with my lappy. I had the common problem at first where it would not connect to the store. just try a connection test first then try to connect to the shop channel. first thing I'd do with a linksys tho, is change the channel to 1, cause I think default is 6 and that's where my problem was coming from.

  7. #36
    Junior Member LemWII's Avatar
    Member #
    7685
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hi guys.

    I experienced problems in the beginning with my Linksys Router.. But when i changed the broadcast channel to channel 11 it started working..

    So now everything works

  8. #37
    WiiChat Member Sp00ks's Avatar
    Member #
    11608
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    10
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1605-2114-2555-8227
    yeah changing the broadcast channel to either 1 or 11 is the fix (for most issues).

  9. #38
    WiiChat Member pluto2's Avatar
    Member #
    10257
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    84
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Good to know, thanks for the information :P

  10. #39
    I'm like a ninja! match002001's Avatar
    Member #
    11494
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    273
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1484-3381-6098-3781
    ch 6 is set by default I usually switch mine to 11 and no problems even when i use my home phone :]

    It's Wiitastic and PS3 can lick my balls, you can quote me on that if you like



    1484-3381-6098-3781

    "PM me your Wii number if you want to add me"


+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Paste the Last thing you copied
    By A RAND0M TAC0 in forum Board Games
    Replies: 842
    Last Post: 03-23-2014, 01:56 PM
  2. Help: Laptop Access Point!
    By Schneideren in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 05-10-2007, 08:21 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-04-2007, 11:50 AM
  4. Need help in creating an access point. Any tips??
    By demonflair in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-15-2007, 01:05 PM

Search tags for this page

experience/www.linksys.com

,
iphone not connecting to wap54g
,
linksys wap54g ps3 problem
,
linksys wap54g wii
,
ps3 wap54g
,

wap54g iphone

,

wap54g wii

,
wap54g with wii
,
wii access point
,
wii linksys
,
wii n?o conecta internet linksys wap54g
,

wii wap54g

Click on a term to search for related topics.