LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member Jatycre's Avatar
    Member #
    9865
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0360-6187-8889-2400

    Question about ethernet cord type

    Ok, so I've gotten my Wii online, and it's great. I've got a bit of a problem though. The only way I can get my Wii to connect, is to plug it directly into my cable modem (I'm using the unoffical USB to ethernet adapter). If try and keep my internet running through my pc, and run my Wii to a second network card, it can't connect. My PC will even show that, that particular network connection has nothing, no connectivity. So I'm just wondering if I should be using a standard ethernet cable for this type of connection, or a crossover? If anyone knows, that would be a lot of help to me. What am I doing wrong?

  2. #2
    Real men Wii standing up. adrelith's Avatar
    Member #
    11793
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    31
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3426-0769-3707-2375
    The type of cable shouldn't be the problem. There's no reason that a standard CAT5/6 ethernet cable wouldn't work, and also no reason that you'd need to use a crossover. No, with what you are doing the reason that nothing is happening is because your Wii is connected to your PC and your PC to the internet, but there is nothing linking the Wii to the internet. What might fix this is to open up the connections windows on your PC highlight both connections, right-click and select 'Bridge Connection'. This assumes you are using Windows. I know it works using a PS2, as well as using multiple PCs but I've never tried with a Wii. Hope that helps :P

  3. #3
    WiiFreek wiifreek's Avatar
    Member #
    11592
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    128
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Just get a wireless router off of eBay for a few extra dollars, much easier and doesn't screw with any windows functions.

  4. #4
    Real men Wii standing up. adrelith's Avatar
    Member #
    11793
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    31
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3426-0769-3707-2375
    The guy isn't using a router at all, just two NICs on his PC. And bridging the connections shouldn't interfere with anything in Windows, but using the net on your Wii might slow down your PCs connection, depending on your bandwidth.

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member Jatycre's Avatar
    Member #
    9865
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    23
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0360-6187-8889-2400
    I tried bridging the connections, didn't work. Error code 51420. The thing is, for my Wii to pc connection, it never says anything on the PC but "a network cable is unplugged". It's not though. And I know the adapter works, because like I said going from the cable modem to the Wii directly, the Wii can connect.

  6. #6
    Real men Wii standing up. adrelith's Avatar
    Member #
    11793
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    31
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3426-0769-3707-2375
    Sounds like you are going to need to buy a router then From what you are saying, it doesn't look like your PC can connect to your Wii. It might not be able to handle the requests etc that the Wii is producing, I'm not sure on details. One thing you could do is check that the second ethernet cable you are using is working properly. If the cables are fine, looks like getting a wifi router is your best bet.

  7. #7
    WiiFreek wiifreek's Avatar
    Member #
    11592
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    128
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hmm could of sworn I said that already :-) Routers are cheap now !!

  8. #8
    Real men Wii standing up. adrelith's Avatar
    Member #
    11793
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    31
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3426-0769-3707-2375
    Quote Originally Posted by wiifreek
    Hmm could of sworn I said that already :-) Routers are cheap now !!
    Lol, you were right :P I was just trying to help him with what he actually asked :P

  9. #9
    Wii online moderator registerednerd's Avatar
    Member #
    249
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Missouri, United States
    Posts
    1,054
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    bridge the two network cards in the computer (select them both, right click, and choose "bridge"). You will probably need a crossover cable, but possibly not. Better yet, get a router, wheter wired or wireless.
    ... but what do I know?...
    Not currently accepting friend adds.

  10. #10
    WiiChat Member gbesta's Avatar
    Member #
    8019
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    115
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    To run between two NIC's you will need a crossover cable, otherwise the NIC's will show as not connected.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 99
    Last Post: 10-08-2010, 06:50 PM
  2. Wireless USB and Ethernet cord.
    By 85T/A350 in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 04-16-2007, 10:45 AM
  3. How do you use ethernet with the Wii?
    By WolvenASE in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-18-2006, 04:48 PM
  4. Wii remote power cord?
    By Buzz in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 11-06-2006, 01:16 PM
  5. Wii Ethernet Kit Revealed
    By Wii_Rulez in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-05-2006, 02:30 AM

Search tags for this page

what kind of ethernet cable for wii

,

what kind of ethernet cord goes to the wii

,

what type of ethernet cable does a wii take

,

wii error code 51420 internet

Click on a term to search for related topics.