LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member Corpus's Avatar
    Member #
    12233
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    36
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1625-0339-0761-7791

    Wii Online with D-Link DI-624M?

    I purchased a D-Link DI-624M specifically with wireless connection on the DS and Wii in mind after reading various statements on the internet saying that it worked out of the box with both.

    It doesn't. It also won't work with my brother's PSP. With all three systems I get an error message back saying that no IP address was assigned by the network. I have DHCP enabled, so I don't know why this is happening.

    Does anyone have experience with this router (or with something like the DI-624, since I assume they work very similarly) who can help me out?


    What follows is all router-related, rather than strictly Wii-related, so I'm not sure if anyone will be able to help me with this on here:
    _______________________________________________
    I'm not sure my settings are even being put into practice by the router. It certainly saves them - they all appear correctly, as I have defined them, every time I open up the control panel, even after turning off. However, even when I have changed the SSID and activated WEP encription, the access point appears on both my DS and Wii as being unlocked and named 'default'. For the Wii, I have also attempted to activate WPA, but this only resulted in an error code telling me that I entered the wrong WPA key (I checked, and I entered it all correctly.)

    Furthermore, upon changing some settings, including those involving DHCP, the router resets and the computer asks me to "wait 200 seconds," or whatever the exact period of time is. However, once it's finished, it enters into a loop wherein it basically resets itself every 20 seconds. I then have to unplug it and plug it in again, manually reset, plug connections into my old wired router and then back into the wireless router before it starts working again, and even then half the time the computer tells me that the network adapter has a poor connection and cannot connect to the internet, as a result of not being assigned an IP address.

    Oh, also, when I manually reset the router, all of my settings remain intact. It's meant to restore it to factory settings.

    It's all very worrying. Oh, and my two computers are connected to the router by ethernet cable, not wirelessly.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    WiiChat Member Corpus's Avatar
    Member #
    12233
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    36
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1625-0339-0761-7791
    bump >.>

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member JoeTheZombie's Avatar
    Member #
    5278
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    123
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Have you attempted a connection with all security options turned off?

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member Corpus's Avatar
    Member #
    12233
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    36
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1625-0339-0761-7791
    Yep. I've tried connecting with factory settings, turning on MAC filtering and adding the Wii's MAC address to the list, and entering the IP, subnet, gateway and DNS manually. Oh, I've also tried changing the channel from 6 to 11, and setting SuperG (well, the connection type, I think that's what it's called -- I'm on my wired router at the minute) both to 'off' and to 'without Turbo', which is something the Nintendo site recommended.

    I suppose I might have to set a static IP in the DHCP settings, but really I shouldn't have to, since DHCP is enabled and covers *.*.*.100 to *.*.*.199. Also, I'm pretty sure I tried to do that earlier today and it was one of the things that causes the router to do its restarting routine which culminates in the router going back into its loop of self-resetting every 20 seconds which renders it totally useless until I play around with it enough for it to decide to work properly.

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member JoeTheZombie's Avatar
    Member #
    5278
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    123
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Flat out, a router should not get stuck into a reset cycle. I return the unit if possible, as it's very likely the unit is damaged.

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member Corpus's Avatar
    Member #
    12233
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    36
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1625-0339-0761-7791
    Yeah, I've been worried that I would have to do that

    If only google worked when you want it to. Before I bought this thing I read a guy explaining how he got it to work with the Wii, but I never thought to favourite the page..

    Anyone have any ideas whatsoever?

    EDIT: Okay, I just came across these settings. Is there anything in here that I should change?

    Last edited by Corpus; 01-05-2007 at 02:10 PM.

  8. #7
    Junior Member slorge's Avatar
    Member #
    14557
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Avoid the DI-624M

    Avoid the DI-624M as if it were carrying multiple leathal doses of Anthrax and had a bad case of Herpes Simplex 10.
    I would rather recommend using old telephone books as hotdog condiments than recommend this router.

    See my blog at http://slorge.blogspot.com/2007/01/d...e-defined.html
    for my router story with pictures of the non-stop popups that come pre-embedded in the hardware. I've been a network technician and PC support engineer for over 10 years, so I know it's not my machines.

    I don't own a Wii, though I'd like to. But I can't even get half of my PC systems to work correctly on this p.o.s. (that's not shinola, kids) Aside from the continuous "built in" popups, the thing has lousy wireless range. I'm acutally posting my reviews of this router everywhere I can because D-link support basically said "Live with it" and "we'll notify our engineers that a firmware upgrade is needed". Like that's ever gonna happen.
    Last edited by slorge; 01-24-2007 at 09:58 PM. Reason: addition of detail

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Share Friend Codes Here
    By Michaelk in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-17-2010, 10:26 PM
  2. I just added alot of you to my wii!!!
    By Aesop0827 in forum Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-10-2007, 12:27 PM
  3. 4th piece of the triforce??
    By ZeLdA4LiFe in forum Legend of Zelda
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 10-03-2006, 03:41 AM

Search tags for this page

activating wpa wii
,
configure wii with dlink
,
could not link wii with dlink di-624
,
d-link d1-624 m pin # for wii
,
di-624 wii can't connect
,
di624 wii
,

dlink 624 wii

,
dlink di-624 connecting wii to interent
,
dlink di-624 doesn't work with wii
,
nintendo ds with d'link 624
,
wii can't connect to di-624
,
wii network adapter dlink
Click on a term to search for related topics.