LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member rezaxp's Avatar
    Member #
    13195
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Can I Connect With...

    Can I Connect With ADSL instead of wireless ???

    F1...F1...F1...F1...F1...F1...

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    ↑ Awesome ↑ Silent-Sniper's Avatar
    Member #
    3557
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Warrington - UK
    Posts
    887
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Do not do cliff hanger thread titles.

    Trading my Wii again! Come on home 360!
    Games: Metroid Prime 3, Super Paper Mario, Ghost Squad, Link's Crossbow Training + Wii Zapper, Geometry Wars, Battalion Wars 2


  4. #3
    Wii Nerd gamechaser001's Avatar
    Member #
    7118
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    432
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2291-3059-0957-1397
    Quote Originally Posted by Silent-Sniper
    Do not do cliff hanger thread titles.
    Does it matter if he labeled it as a cliff hanger or not? The point is he needs information, so we give him the information he needs

    Do you mean is it possible to use a wire instead of going wireless (ethernet)? Yes, you need a converter to convert from USB to ethernet, but it is possible, my question is though, why not just go wireless? It's easier, no wires to feed no wall plates, no, well, wire, no need to feed or connect anything, everything is done except for the software end of things, so you can spend more time playing the wii then trying to set it up


    No spamming referral links - Further attempts at advertising will not be tolerated. kthx

    If you know anything about LEDs please put input, click on the link beliw, I can really use the help
    http://www.wiichat.com/nintendo-wii-...tml#post149729

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member rezaxp's Avatar
    Member #
    13195
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I have ADSL & I can't use wireless (becuase of its expense)

  6. #5
    Not Banned Arcadium's Avatar
    Member #
    435
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Colombia
    Posts
    2,269
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6980-3796-3948-8393
    Mine only cost 40 dollars, which in USA, that must be 20 dollars...

    Name: Juan
    FC: 4253 0727 5993


    No Asking For Rep

  7. #6
    Banned sgllocal's Avatar
    Member #
    12442
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    61
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    yes id like to know this aswell. i dont have wireless but have aol as mentioned above.

    could anyone point me in the right direction on what i actually need. converter etc. just so i can make sure i get the right things lol.

    can anyone help?

    is there anything else needed other than a converter? plse note tht im in the uk.

  8. #7
    Wii Nerd gamechaser001's Avatar
    Member #
    7118
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    432
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2291-3059-0957-1397
    Quote Originally Posted by rezaxp
    I have ADSL & I can't use wireless (becuase of its expense)
    I don't mean to be rude here, but if you can't afford the expense of a router, box up that Wii and return it, because if you can't afford a router, then there is no way that you could of purchased a Wii for their price, unless you used money you don't have (loan), and if you did, just do the same thing for a router

    The reason Nintendo came out with he Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection dongle, and the possibility to wire it up using an ethernet cable was not for cost purposes, it was the purpose of security, some people don't trust a wireless router because anybody can log into it and your network, yes, you can set up WEP, but sometimes that is not secure enough, so either they keep with wireless that only works for Wii and DS, or they can hook it up wired for added security

    If somebody that owns a Wii that can't afford a wireless router has no business buying a Wii to begin with, because that person needs to take that time to get a job to earn money for such things, not sit around playing games

    And what can't you afford, the installation or the router? If the installation, You install it yourself


    No spamming referral links - Further attempts at advertising will not be tolerated. kthx

    If you know anything about LEDs please put input, click on the link beliw, I can really use the help
    http://www.wiichat.com/nintendo-wii-...tml#post149729

  9. #8
    Wii Nerd gamechaser001's Avatar
    Member #
    7118
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    432
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2291-3059-0957-1397
    Quote Originally Posted by sgllocal
    yes id like to know this aswell. i dont have wireless but have aol as mentioned above.

    could anyone point me in the right direction on what i actually need. converter etc. just so i can make sure i get the right things lol.

    can anyone help?

    is there anything else needed other than a converter? plse note tht im in the uk.
    First, uninstall AOL, and attempt to quit their service (AOL sucks), if you need to use dial-up, use netzero or peoplePC, or ask your phone company and see if they offer dial up software

    Second, there are 2 ways you can go, either a wireless card set to broadcast instead of recieve (I am trying this myself, it is not easy), or the Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection dongle (best bet)

    Third, once you have the hard computer stuff out of the way, next comes the setup on the Wii, select wireless as your connection, if you are using a wireless card, set it up as if you are connecting the Wii to a wireless router (the wireless card will serve as a wireless router of set correctly, under broadcast), if you are using the Nintendo thing, set the corrosponding settings to let your Wii online, though you might want to think about getting DSL,Satellite internet, or cable internet (all are broadband), because I think I heard somewhere that the Wii only works on a broadband connection


    No spamming referral links - Further attempts at advertising will not be tolerated. kthx

    If you know anything about LEDs please put input, click on the link beliw, I can really use the help
    http://www.wiichat.com/nintendo-wii-...tml#post149729

  10. #9
    WiiChat Member rezaxp's Avatar
    Member #
    13195
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    THANX...

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. How do I connect my at&t connect card to the wii?
    By druboy1 in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 08:08 PM
  2. Internet works, server works, can't connect to players...
    By Pinko in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-18-2007, 04:39 PM
  3. Can't connect Errror 52020
    By PureGold in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2007, 09:53 AM
  4. Another 'My Will Won't Connect to the Internet' Problem
    By PureChaosX in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-30-2007, 12:31 PM
  5. Why cant i connect to Wii connect 24
    By Ferg in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-19-2007, 10:13 PM