LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Junior Member timsonr's Avatar
    Member #
    14261
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Harrogate
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0691-0723-3113-2456

    Unable to Connect Wii to Belkin Wireless router

    Please help. I hav had mt Wii for a week now and cannot get it to connect to my wireless router.

    I have read in these forums on the compatibility page that my router (a Belkin F5D7231uk4) should work if set up manually but I have tried everything and still no connection. Please can anyone tell me how to connect my Wii through this modem or the person who rated it as working could advise.

    So far I have tried...

    1. Different wireless channel.
    2. Static IP addresses
    3. Encyption/No encryption
    4. Adding the Wii Statis IP address into the DMZ settings of the router.

    The only thing I do not know is if the router can be set to mixed mode. As the router is the DNS and DHCP server I only have a primary DNS IP address so cannot add a secondary to the Wii as some have suggested.

    Any Help appreciated

    Rob.

  2. #2
    my skillz is so ill renandabomb's Avatar
    Member #
    12943
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    sj ca
    Posts
    13
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7404-7967-9855-3657
    on my wireless connection, i just searched for an access point and asked me wii to auto detect any settings. that is your best bet if you cannot do it manually. use a wireless channel that doesnt get interference. i think such as 11? sorry.

  3. #3
    WiiChat Member Nic Car Bel's Avatar
    Member #
    9854
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    82
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6511-1991-9046-9626
    i have a belkin FSD7230-4. all i did was hook the modem thru it and it worked.

  4. #4
    WiiChat Member Cayra's Avatar
    Member #
    10286
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I have a Belkin and the Wii finds it fine in automatic setup

    However I can't get it to connect with any security... I'm using MAC now and it's still not happy...

    Your Wii won't even find the wireless router..??. mind always finds it... just won't connect... how far away are you from the router?

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member theripper44's Avatar
    Member #
    13333
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    24
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6566-1774-2264-3177
    yeah i have a belkin wireless reutor on my wii, and one of the first things i did with my wii was to search for a conection, it found it, and conected straight up, but then incapactated my wii for a few hours with the updates which was very annoying

    i jsut searched on the wii and it worked, but it was the only wireless bit of hardware at the time so that might have affected it
    got my wii at christmas and have now got - zelda, wii sports, wii play, madden 07, nfs carbon, rayman, 2 wiimotes, numchuck, classic controller, 1000 points and mariokart 64

  6. #6
    Junior Member timsonr's Avatar
    Member #
    14261
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Harrogate
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0691-0723-3113-2456

    Thanks

    Thanks guys, I have had some feedback from Belkin which I will try this weekend. My Wii can see the router SSID but will not connect to it either with or without encryption.

    I have hooked an OLD Actiontec router up now and that works fine with my Wii and with 128bit WEP encryption so there is obvioulsy some strange setup required to get my Wii working through the Belkin.

    Rob
    Speak Soon

    Rob

  7. #7
    Junior Member Regenz0rz's Avatar
    Member #
    15371
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hey, I was having the same issue with my Belkin router. It recognized it on the Wii but I could not connect. I was going through my options and I realized I have not tried to update the firmware on my router. I have had it for over 1 year or so. I updated the firmware and it worked! Connected right away! Hopefully this works for you. Good Luck!

    (In order to update the firmware access your router settings: my static default ip was 192.168.2.1. Once in the settings there was an option listed "Firmware" and it asked if I wanted to check for updates. Downloaded the lastest firmware and installed.)

  8. #8
    WiiChat Member londonspod's Avatar
    Member #
    15130
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    37
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Personally, I would go with the Linksys WRT54G Wireless router. Much easier to work with and my Wii connected straight to it, even with security set-up. No firmware updates needed. Sounds like too much hassle!

  9. #9
    Junior Member timsonr's Avatar
    Member #
    14261
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Harrogate
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0691-0723-3113-2456

    Success after much playing

    Chaps, thanks for all the input but I have just tweaked more settings, no thanks to any feedback from Nintendo support or Belkin, and I have just connected my Wii to my Belkin F5D7231uk4 with latest firmware.

    I found that I had to turn the UPnP setting on under system settings and set the wireless mode to 54G LRS with protected and turbo modes off.

    I have just succesfully updated and now have the news channel.

    Hope this will help someone else. (will have to let Nintendo their recomended router page is wrong as well)



    Rob
    Speak Soon

    Rob

  10. #10
    Junior Member Regenz0rz's Avatar
    Member #
    15371
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Some of us are not made of money. If we already have a wireless router, there is no need to go out and buy a new one. Which it does work fine after I upgraded to the latest firmware (little or no effort). =-)

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless DSL Can't Connect Wii..Hardwired OK
    By jmarkitell in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-01-2008, 01:35 PM
  2. Internet Connection Sharing w/ USB Mobile Broadband and Wireless Router
    By Adam Jaques (jay-kweez) in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-2007, 08:13 AM
  3. how do i connect modem to wireless router?
    By salad82 in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2007, 02:57 AM
  4. Can't connect using a LG LAM300R wireless router.
    By Wiin in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2006, 07:16 AM
  5. Wireless router setup/options. Help needed
    By Pelts in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-17-2006, 07:03 PM

Search tags for this page

belkin 750 and wii
,
belkin router settings for wii u
,

belkin router to wii

,

belkin router wont connect to wii

,
connect belkin router to wii
,
connect wii to belkin wireless router
,

connecting wii to belkin wireless router

,

how do i connect my wii to my belkin router

,

how to connect wii to belkin wireless router

,
my wii wont get wifi on my belkin router
,

wii belkin router

,
wii wont connect to belkin router
Click on a term to search for related topics.