LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Dude T-Osterone's Avatar
    Member #
    18492
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wii and Remote Desktopping

    To people who own a Wii.

    Has anyone attempte to or managed to use thier Opera browser to access remote Linux machines or Windows machines? I've done a quick search in google but all the hits have been useless.

    I don't own a Wii as yet and it would be good to know what the limitations are.

    I live away from home during the week and wouldn't mind being able to administer my Ubuntu Linux machine using a Wii.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    WiiChat Member GreenEnvy's Avatar
    Member #
    11618
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    94
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Well it will depend on what the interface you want to use is.
    If it's a standard html webpage, which would most likely mean you are not getting a remote "desktop" but a config page, it should be no problem.
    If you are thinking something like VNC or Windows built in "remote desktop", then I doubt it would work as the browser would need a plugin.

  4. #3
    Dude T-Osterone's Avatar
    Member #
    18492
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Browser Based Remote Desktop

    Yup I'm pretty sure clients such as FreeNX and VNC would not install. I was thinking of going down the web browser route with LogMeIn or GoToMyPc type sites. I've looked at WorkSpot that uses JavaScript. Not sure if JRE comes with the Opera install

  5. #4
    i dream of xenu Mark OTVII's Avatar
    Member #
    16783
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    68
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5988-6040-4514-3565
    You can always turn your PC into a webserver and write a front-end page to access whatever you want, music/movies/etc., and just navigate to that page from your Wii.

  6. #5
    Dude T-Osterone's Avatar
    Member #
    18492
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Applications

    I was thinking more down the lines of managing my torrents, running instant messanger, playing divx's, burning dvd's (with assistance from a gopher), running the CLI, programming and any thing else a Linux machine can do.

  7. #6
    i dream of xenu Mark OTVII's Avatar
    Member #
    16783
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    68
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5988-6040-4514-3565
    Then check out www.wiili.org if that's what you're interested in.

  8. #7
    No.1 Smurf Wii_Smurf's Avatar
    Member #
    6200
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Manchester
    Posts
    3,952
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    You can control your PC Desktop if your PC is on with LogMeIn

    I use it to close windows on my brother lol ALOT of fun when he doesn't know whats going on!



    No Longer Have A Wii


  9. #8
    Dude T-Osterone's Avatar
    Member #
    18492
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wiili

    What they're working on is interesting but doesn't address remotely managing a machine using the out of box setup. I take it no-ones attempted this. Fine I understand there are alternative ways to achieve some of what I've described, but a good yes or no answer would do, to the question of: Using Opera on Wii for Remote Desktop working.

    Wii_Smurf you've used LogMeIn on your Wii? What else have you managed to do?
    Last edited by T-Osterone; 03-05-2007 at 10:12 AM.

  10. #9
    i dream of xenu Mark OTVII's Avatar
    Member #
    16783
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    68
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5988-6040-4514-3565
    Quote Originally Posted by T-Osterone
    Fine I understand there are alternative ways to achieve some of what I've described, but a good yes or no answer would do, to the question of: Using Opera on Wii for Remote Desktop working.
    With something like this, I don't see how anyone could possibly expect a clear-cut "yes" or "no" answer at the moment. If the answer is no,

    Here's a question addressed to anyone/everyone: What have you done to make such a setup possible so far?

  11. #10
    Dude T-Osterone's Avatar
    Member #
    18492
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Mark OTV, yes I agree with you. I would just like to have this open for exploration. It would be good to hear what wiiers have done and what is possible. Rather than this be dismissed outright.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

rdp client for wii
,
rdp on wii
,
rdp wii
,
rdp wii u
,
remote desktop connection to wii
,

remote desktop for wii

,

remote desktop on wii

,

remote desktop wii

,
what is ssid
,

wii rdp

,

wii remote desktop

,
wii u remote desktop
Click on a term to search for related topics.